We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time to Test the Waters”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Tlaquepaque
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
447 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Time to Test the Waters”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

While we had dined in their restaurant a number of times, we had never stayed here. While the hotel is slightly more expensive than our normal budget, we decided to stay here on our last night in Mexico this last trip.

The hotel was heavily booked and we chose one of their offsite villas (#4). Located across the street and down a ways, it certainly was no hardship. This villa is an upstairs two bedroom unit with one bedroom with a king and another with two twins. Quite large with a sitting area, dining area and a good size kitchen. The unit was well kept and exceptionally clean.

While the king size bed was very comfortable, the road noise from the street in front was quite noticeable at times. Other than this minor complaint, we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: If we were to stay at Quinta Don Jose again, we would choose one of the rooms adjacent to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    100
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
154
257
29
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

As a returning traveler, the QDJ never disappoints. The staff and owners are always very accomodating and go above and beyond when needed! As a business traveler, I call it my oasis--a respite from the hustle and bustle...it's almost like coming home! Having the restaurant/bar in-house is so very handy for those evenings that I don't want to go out again! Forget the chains--stay at the Quinta Don Jose--keep up the great work Estela, Arturo and staff!

Room Tip: I prefer the poolside rooms at the back of the property..#15 is my favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FcvtptradingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I've stayed at QDJ off and on for ten years now, and there have been some wonderful cosmetic changes over the years but the heart and soul of this amazing place is the fantastic staff and the incredible atmosphere. Rooms are always immaculate, the food is delicious and the helpful, happy staff are second to none. It truly is a real treat to end a great vacation with a stay at this magical place. Kudos to everyone at QDJ, and thank you, I will be back!

Sr. Villeneuve

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveV4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Excellent little hotel. Impeccable service,gorgeous grounds,Staff's attitude is fantastic..second to none. Great location for walking and shopping etc. We had a fantastic romantic Birthday dinner all set up behind the waterfall, serenaded and a rose presented even. We will be back

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 889Carolh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I have been a long term guest and the accomodations, staff ,and experience are excellent and keep getting better! bar is very intimate..though you can still make a party...the ladies at breakfast are most accomodating and the quality of all their food is excellent. Nice hot showers! Thanks You! John

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 582john582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Quinta is a good hotel but a GREAT place to stay. You can't find a better place to relax and unwind after a hard day in Mexico. It's quaint and relaxing. The grounds are immaculate and the staff is 2nd to none.

The rooms are unique and simple. Each one is different. You are staying in the heart of Tlaquepaque with restaurants, shopping and every amenity just minutes away. They have a super fun, little bar and restaurant which brings in lots of locals.

I highly recommend Quinta if you are trying to get the "old Mexico" feel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Had a delightful, 3 night stay at Quinta San Jose, the first night in a standard room on second floor, but fronting Avenida Reforma. Quite noisy with traffic early morning, so we upgraded to a king bed room on same floor, but this one having sealed double glazed windows. Much quieter. The Quinta is just a couple of blocks from Avenida Independencia, a traffic free walking zone, with numerous excellent restaurants, stores, artisan workshops etc. The grounds at the hotel are very well maintained and the rear garden is like an oasis in the city. Fine pool and surrounding patio for peaceful relaxation.

Room Tip: One of the suites, adjacent the pool area at rear is probably the quietest, and if having a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tlaquepaque
0.5 mi away
La Villa del Ensueno Hotel
La Villa del Ensueno Hotel
#2 of 11 in Tlaquepaque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Armonia
Casa Armonia
#7 of 11 in Tlaquepaque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rosa Morada Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
3.5 mi away
NH Collection Guadalajara Centro Historico
1.9 mi away
Hotel El Tapatio & Resort
Hotel El Tapatio & Resort
#8 of 11 in Tlaquepaque
3.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel

Property: Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle Reforma # 139 | Guadalajara Metropolitan Area, Tlaquepaque 45500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Tlaquepaque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tlaquepaque
#2 Business Hotel in Tlaquepaque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether on business or vacation, "QDJ" offers you a beautiful setting and unique personal service! We're located in Tlaquepaque, Mexico's Arts & Crafts Capital, which is in the greater Guadalajara Metro. QDJ puts you only steps away from superb shopping, exquisite galleries, and inviting restaurants. Also, Guadalajara's Historical Downtown is only a 15 minute drive from QDJ.Our rooms offer private baths, air-conditioning, cable TV & phone. We also have an intimate bar, tiled pool, complimentary airport/bus station Greeting Service (3 night min), free Wi-Fi, and much more. Enjoy a delicious dinner at TlaquePasta, our top-rated Gourmet Restaurant with a Mexican and Italian menu! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Quinta Don Jose Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing