We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best little hotel in middle of the Shopping!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Tlaquepaque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This place is so awesome. The staff are very helpful, competent, friendly. This hotel is a mini community where all the guest talk and have a good time. You really feel at home.
The architecture and art in this place is really neat. The rooms are comfortable and extremely clean. We traveled with my in-laws and they fell in love with it. The restaurant has a professional chef. Our dinner was incredible and fairly priced compared to some of the surrounding places.
We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Francisco R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (887)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 887 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

I cannot imagine a more pleasant stay than our recent trip to Tlaquepaque. Quinta Don Jose hotel is really much more like a bed and breakfast than a hotel. The intimate surroundings, personal services, all sitting in the middle of the colonial city of Tlaquepaque combine to make a very unique and pleasant visit. The driver that picks you up a the airport may also be the guy who mixes your drink. The lady that serves your breakfast may also clean your room. It is amazing how the staff becomes part of your family for the short time you are there. Hats off to everyone at QDJ for a job well done.

Room Tip: all of the rooms are great, each with their own charm, but if you can get one by the pool it is well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cindy_j105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Quinta Don Jose (QDJ) for three nights in late August. The hotel is quaint and clean. The staff are pleasant and helpful. The hotel is centrally located in Tlaquepaque and on a bus line directly to downtown Guadalajara. We stayed in the main hotel. The one bedroom villa, which we had originally booked, was on a corner and the bedroom window was right on a main street. We also like the beauty of the hotel and wanted to be more connected to it. Though the villa was large and nice otherwise.

The grounds were beautiful and we walked around the pool and fountain area, though we did not spend much time by the pool. There are many nooks in the hotel to read or visit.

I did write a separate review for Tlaquepasta, but I should mention here that it is one of the best parts of QDJ. We will definitely stay there next time we are in town.

Room Tip: Villas, though "only 50 steps away" feel removed from the inn. For us, this was a negative...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Surfwood1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This hotel has a very friendly and helpful staff. They even printed up a map for directions for us. Great location that is close to all the shops. It has nice pool and surrounding gardens. We had dinner in the restaurant and it was very good. There is a complimentary breakfast of fruit, sweet breads, juice and coffee. It is very comfortable and safe. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Walter0014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here for two nights. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Took a tour with Salvador to tequila for day, hit was great, but make sure you ask for the price of the tours in the distilleries before you do them. Charlie's margaritas were also particularly good.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

As usual our stay is @ QDJ. I love this place. I was joining friends for the Enarte show. This time we stayed in the big suite out by the pool. The master bedroom is wonderful and had what I referred to as "the best shower" in all of Mexico - beautiful tile work and most importantly temperature controlled water. Furniture in the living area isn't the most comfortable and upstairs guests weren't pleased. But we had a kitchen and dined at Pollo Pepe a couple of times. We dined @ TlaquePasta one evening and they ran out of fish entrees so I tired the pasta - it was just ok. Wouldn't order that again. We did swim and the water was cold but refreshing. Moved to room 7 and slept like a log there on my last evening. Best part was when the gals in the kitchen saved us some of their delicious banana bread for breakfast! Love QDJ!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorinneG487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed at Quinta Don Jose for 5 nights in late July. I was in town for a tradeshow in Guadalajara (15 minutes away)and my co-worker was with me. The 2 bedroom (Room #7) was a good choice for us. It gave us a common shower/toilet area which was located in the hall between either bedroom. Each room had it's own TV, window, double bed and A/C. The lighting was a bit dark and I wish there was a place in the back bedroom to apply make-up and layout my cosmetics, curling iron etc. Next time I will bring a lighted make-up mirror.

The complimentary breakfast used to be a small buffet style that included eggs, chillaquilles, fruit etc. It has been modified to coffee , a fruit plate and a pastry which was perfectly fine. There were full breakfasts available to order and most were around 70 pesos. We ordered full breakfasts on 2 days and were pleased with our meals. The morning breakfast is staffed by 3 lovely and friendly women.

The addition of the restaurant TlaquePasta is wonderful. We ate there on 3 separate occasions and each time was a delight. I will review this separately. The complimentary van pick up at the airport was appreciated. The $20 fee for being dropped back to the airport was unexpected. I would have had my co-worker drive me if I knew there was a fee. Complementary shuttle implies both ways. Things like this and being charged $2.00 for a bucket of ice are small things that cause aggravation to guests. Guests expect to be able to get ice at most hotels and my hope is that one of the hotels future additions will be an ice machine.

It was really lovely to come home from work at the end of the day and sit by the pool in a chaise lounge and listen to the fountains and the birds and the beautiful music while enjoying a cold drink. The bar has a big selection of drinks and many flavors of margaritias. Every employee of the hotel and restaurant truly goes out of their way for guests. It is nice to see the pride that is taken in this property and the continuous improvements they make each year. I look forward t my next visit.

Room Tip: There is a big variety of rooms to choose from. My favorite is the pool side suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank likethewind27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tlaquepaque
0.5 mi away
La Villa del Ensueno Hotel
La Villa del Ensueno Hotel
#2 of 10 in Tlaquepaque
270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Armonia
Casa Armonia
#4 of 10 in Tlaquepaque
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rosa Morada Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel El Tapatio & Resort
Hotel El Tapatio & Resort
#8 of 10 in Tlaquepaque
221 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Real Maestranza
Hotel Real Maestranza
#1 of 130 in Guadalajara
131 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Posada Virreyes
Hotel Posada Virreyes
#9 of 10 in Tlaquepaque
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle Reforma # 139 | Guadalajara Metropolitan Area, Tlaquepaque 45500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Tlaquepaque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tlaquepaque
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tlaquepaque
#2 Business Hotel in Tlaquepaque
Price Range: $105 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether on business or vacation, "QDJ" offers you a beautiful setting and unique personal service! We're located in Tlaquepaque, Mexico's Arts & Crafts Capital, which is in the greater Guadalajara Metro. QDJ puts you only steps away from superb shopping, exquisite galleries, and inviting restaurants. Also, Guadalajara's Historical Downtown is only a 15 minute drive from QDJ.Our rooms offer private baths, air-conditioning, cable TV & phone. We also have an intimate bar, tiled pool, complimentary airport/bus station Greeting Service (3 night min), free Wi-Fi, and much more. Enjoy a delicious dinner at TlaquePasta, our top-rated Gourmet Restaurant with a Mexican and Italian menu! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Quinta Don Jose Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing