We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE MANAGEMENT AND CARELESS RECEPTIONIST'S ( MY NAME IS KAREN NAVA)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel El Tapatio & Resort
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Tlaquepaque
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Upon check in the manager named Cecilia Rodriguez gave us a hard time with the rate she gave us over the phone. The insisted we miss heard but we didn’t because we called 3 times even the day before arrival to confirm total and our reservation being guaranteed. She gave us one rate and once we checked in she changed the rate much higher and she kept insisting that we miss heard but we clearly didn’t. The most obvious thing was that all the calls we made she knew who we were because of the # of calls made. We paid the $ for the 2 nights stayed in July 5-7 2011. the front desk guy name at check in was Jorge he was very rude and upon check out we went to drop of the keys and we decided to get our receipt and we approached Jaime the front desk person he was very beyond rude and mean we asked for a receipt and he rolled his eyes and we asked if everything was paid for and if everything was at 0 and he simply said i don’t know everything should be fine no? And i asked well u should know that, i work in a hotel and when we check out we give the guest a receipt and tell them that there good to go and have a 0 balance. But Jaime wasn’t helpful at all so i asked him to sign the receipt if he said that it was paid in full and he gave me a stupid remark and said “well, the hotel isn’t mine and i don’t have to sign anything!". I felt like certain races received better service than we did. But the 3 guys that helped with luggage even told us that they always do that and that we weren’t the first people to have that problem. They were much more helpful then the front desk was you felt more comfortable asking those questions. I am not sure what their names were but they were beyond helpful. The hotel was amazing that i have no complaint it was only the receptionist who were very mean.

Room Tip: Plan well transportation because it’s up in a hill and it’s pretty long for a walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HugoSilva1960, Gerente at Hotel El Tapatio & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2011

We really apologize for the inconveniences caused during your stay at our hotel, it's disappointing hear don't have completed the satisfaction of our guests, due to misinformation and poor attitud from some of our members at Front Desk
I assure you have made de neccesary actions to improve the attention and service given by our staff.
Thank you for let us know your comments, we are very interested and committed in improve the quality of our sevices

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 215 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2011

Convenient to the Airport, Tlalajepaque, Tonala'. It is 40 years old and has some age/maintenance issues but very charming with large rooms and great views. Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

I loved our stay and the staff was very accomodating. I read the other reviews before traveling and got a bit nervous. But I was pleasantly surprised! The room was super spacious and clean. Yes, the furniture is a bit dated but kept in good condition. The shower temp and pressure were fine. It is Mexico so they have Mexican mattresses which are much firmer than US ones but I like it. The AC worked perfectly I had no bug problem. Yes, the pool was under repair but other than that all the other amenities were open a little shop where I bought Mexican Vogue and Elle and some yummy salty snacks one bar and two restuarants. It is on a hill overlooking the surrounding towns and the road up and down was cobblestone so it was a bit bumpy but it was relaxing being away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Guadalajara. However next time because my yearly trip is for work and I travel to historic Tlaquepaque each day I will stay closer it in one of the B&B's.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanessa2381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Breakfast was amazing - mexican cuisine. View of the city was truly amazing morning and night. Pool waiter was less than friendly but the rest of the staff was wonderful.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
Thank Katerpiller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Once was enough. We did a couple of day visit to Guadalajara and needed a "central" location which this certainly was. The reception staff were very helpfull BUT the building and rooms are in desperate need of a MAJOR upgrade. The bath still had the original aluminum shower doors which were totally pitted , off the tracks and full of silicon and mold with numerous tiles missing. The room was basiclly well laid out but man did it need a renovation. The pool was shut down ( it looked like for months) for repairs and we were not aware of any gym or other facilities. We only needed the Hotel for a short stay and the price was fair. At most we would rate this as a 3 star even by Mexican standards. If you are looking for a cheap hotel just outside of the downtown area and don't mind age go for it. I would suggest that yu really negotiate the room rate however...

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bothearlyretirement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2009

Apparently this used to be one of the best hotels in Guadalajara, many years ago. Since then, international hotel groups have moved in with international standards, while the 'El Tapatio' had decayed into shabbiness and dirt. Our room was awful, old installations and furniture just give the impression of uncleanliness, especially in the bathroom. A swimming pool with dirt marks around the edges and many tiles missing. A play area for kids with old and dangerous equipment. Then the restaurant...they gave us a bill for half of what we actually consumed, and demanded the rest anyway....gee, wonder what was going on there!! Needless to say we demanded a complete bill, and did not leave a tip as the service was shocking. We had to wait in our room half an hour for the manager to come and open the room safe for us. We eventually had to go and get him from reception. Thankfully we were only there for one night.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesNol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2008

LOCATION: The hotel is located outside the city, close to the airport. I was worried we'd spend a lot of money on taxi's but the hotel offers a shuttle service, upon reserservation, to either downtown, Tonala, Tlaquepaque or the airport. We'd just take a bus back to the hotel for 5 pesos and cross the pedestrian bridge to the hotel.

ROOM: At first we stayed in the same standard room (#777) that another of the people that wrote a review stayed in. The room smelled bad, the bedspread/furniture/carpet was very worn and the tub still didn't drain properly (ha ha ha). However we then moved to a deluxe room and it was much better. The room was clean, comfortable and located in front of the pool.

POOL: Very big but cold and had a lot of debris in it from the trees. Missing floor tiles.

BREAKFAST: Complimentary breakfast was good but I recommend upgrading to the buffet. I loved the mexican hot chocolate.

ROOM SERVICE: Took forever to arrive. On weekends when their staff is busy hosting events, then don't come at all.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GDL2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tlaquepaque hotels
2.2 mi away
La Villa del Ensueno Hotel
La Villa del Ensueno Hotel
#2 of 10 in Tlaquepaque
263 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Posada Virreyes
Hotel Posada Virreyes
#8 of 10 in Tlaquepaque
22 reviews
2 mi away
City Express Junior Guadalajara Periferico Sur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel
2 mi away
Rosa Morada Hotel Bed & Breakfast
1.9 mi away
Casa Armonia
Casa Armonia
#6 of 10 in Tlaquepaque
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Tapatio & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Tapatio & Resort

Address: Carretera Chapala Km.6.5 | Blvd Aeropuerto 4275, Tlaquepaque 45588, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Tlaquepaque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Tlaquepaque
Price Range: $51 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Tapatio & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel El Tapatio & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Tapatio Tlaquepaque
Hotel El Tapatio And Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing