We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful stay”
Review of Casa Armonia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Armonia
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Tlaquepaque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed at Casa for 3 nights. The hotel is beautiful, wonderfully decorated and authentic, with great attention to aesthetics and art. The lighting at various times of day brings out special effects in the decor, making it continually evolving as a piece of living art. The patio is relaxing, and the breakfast served each morning delicious and made with care by a cook who really wanted to ensure we were satisfied. Our room was beautiful, and authentic with beautiful wood furniture and tiled bathroom. If you need to feel like you're in a big city hotel in a small town, choose that! Casa is genuine, the staff is always available, and very friendly without being overwhelming. Our room was always clean, our belongings safe and untouched. The street noise is muffled by the windows and wooden shutters, and becomes a background soothing hum. The town center is a short walk away. Victor arranged for our room to be ready for a six am arrival, so that we could rest and fully enjoy our day in Tlaquepaque. He knew the town and Guadalajara, the bus routes, and provided us with a comfortable safe trip back to the airport. Internet is available and supports normal use, but it's not meant for sending large bundles of data at a time. I would definitely return here!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristiane214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Casa Armonia, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014
Google Translation

Gracias por sus amables comentarios, esperamos verlos proximamente en Tlaquepaque y en su Casa, SPA Casa Armonia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 91 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2014

Our stay at Casa Armonia was absolutely perfect. It is very clean and is located only 2 short blocks form the main plaza. The host, Victor was very accomodating, and provided transportation for us to the bus station for our trip to San Miguel de Allende. The entire staff was very friendly and kind and helpful to us. The breakfast is made to order and delicious and ample. The noise from the street is to be expected since this area is very densely populated, but it really didn't bother us. The room was beautiful, clean and quite spacious. The attention to detail in the rooms was evident. They are all beautifully and simply decorated with a real Mexican charm.

The patio poolside is quite lovely for relaxing as is the upstairs terrace. The jacuzzi was empty but is filled for you on request.

I had a massage during our stay, that was great and the price was very reasonable. Victor arranged the time for me at my request. You can also arrange a couples massage if you want to.
There is a great little street taco stand a block away at night. It is very clean and they make delicious tacos for a cheap price. It was much better than the dinner I had at one of the plaza restaurants for a lot more money.

There was some construction going on to provide another pool, but since it was a bit chilly we didn't use the pool or jacuzzi.
We would definitely stay there again when we visit Tlaquepaque.

Room Tip: We had the room named "pasion" downstairs. There was no view, but there was a tub and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Casa Armonia, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014
Google Translation

Gracias Karen por su recomendacion, con gusto pasare los excelente comentarios a todo nuestro equipo, esperamos que en su proxima visita vea los cambios que estamos realizando en este momento en el hotel.

Saludos desde Tlaquepaque Jalisco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Casa Armonia was clean, the room was very spacious, and compared to other traditional small hotels I've stayed at in Mexico, good value for the money. Yes there is street noise, if you intend to stay in a hotel in an inevitably densely populated urban area then that if normal. The street is not hugely busy, although the 647 bus route passes down the one way street. This is an advantage since hoping on the bus in front of the hotel gets you to downtown Guadaljara at the cathedral I about 25 minutes for 6 pesos.

Casa Armonia is less than a five minute stroll from El Parian and it's restaurants and mariachi. In another minute or two you are at Independencia Ave the main pedestrian shopping street in Tlaquepaque.



When we arrived in Guadalajara my bag did not. Victor the owner was very helpful in calling the airline baggage office trying to pin down an arrival time for my bag. On the second day he was going to drive me to the airport to do some face to face, but we learned that the bag was on the truck for delivery and would arrive by noon, it did. Victor also provided us complimentary transportation in a shuttle van to the bus terminal for our trip on to San Miguel de Allende.

We were loaned travel guides to the city, and lots of advice on bus routes, shopping , sights and local market days.

Breakfast was plentiful, cereal, fresh juice, fresh fruit, seasonal fruit and yoghurt, eggs accompanied by Molcajete salsa, bean and melted cheese molletes, and toast with jam for our son. Definitely no complaints.

Allinotte all a pleasant stay, the weather was a tad cool for swimming but the patio was great for relaxing with a book or drink after a day's walking. I did notice that the hot tub was empty.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank JamesOB523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

My wife and I spent the last two days of a month in Mexico at Casa Armonia. We stayed in many hotels from the most basic to five-star resorts. As you would expect, in the cheap hotels and even the medium-priced ones, very little attention was paid to the rooms. They were clean and the beds were made, but that was about it. The expensive ones were slick and sterile but lacked character (and some of them reminded us of cruise ships - yuck). Casa Armonia is one of the rare hotels where they pay a great deal of attention to the atmosphere and character of the rooms, as well as the courtyard and balcony. It's the sort of place where you notice something different each time you look. The rooms had antiques, art and craftwork and fixtures all from various regions of Mexico. It's really a perfect fit for the Tlaquepaque area. There is traffic noise but it's tolerable on the second floor, and after all, Guadalajara is a big, noisy city. I don't think you would have much luck escaping the noise except in a sealed-off high-rise. All in all we had a great time there. The hotel is just two blocks from the artisan areas and restaurants. The staff was wonderful. A special thanks to Ruth, our very gracious hostess.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Thought the same as some others after reading the reviews but I think they most put them on theirselves because it was nothing like we thought for the $$$$.
Cons: Swimming pool was really scummy, jacuzzi was not filled.
Very, very noisy at night so bring ear plugs, traffic most of the night with buses starting
around 7:00 a.m.
Had a really upset stomach after being served breakfast and later!!!
Faucet was leaking for the three days we stayed and never fixed, faucet caps kept falling
off into the drain and stopping up the water.
If you have a car it will be a pain because it only holds three and you always have to
move so people can come and go or leave your keys.
Pros: The staff was really nice and friendly.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the road so no choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jona c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We chose this place based on reviews and the website boasting spa services, jacuzzi and romance. It was a one night deal for us as we were en route to the coast. We selected the Amor room because the reservationist told me it was their most romantic room. So, expecting (for our $100 USD) a quaint and cozy experience, this is what we got instead.

First off, the staff was very friendly and I dare say that was the best part of the stay. The property and rooms were clean and mostly in order.

The romantic room was missing the overhead light in the bedroom area, thus, leaving a beautiful dangling exposed wire to get us in the spirit.

The jacuzzi was nothing more than a square tub, and had to be filled with a warm water hose. No method of heating it up, so that was a bust. Not to mention, 2 people had pulled cars into the hallway and not only blocking our door access, but blocking the jacuzzi. Romantic getaway getting less romantic by the second.

It is quite noisy from traffic until things calm down around 9-10 pm, so if you want quiet, look elsewhere.

Breakfast was very underwhelming and certainly not on par with what I would expect from a b&b boasting such great services and extras. We had bad coffee, greasy eggs, a bowl of fruit, and some very sad looking bacon. Definitely not a good presentation of breakfast.

We will not be staying here again but wish the staff well, because they all were quite lovely.

Room Tip: Perhaps the rooms upstairs would be a little quieter and out of the action from below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mexicobigcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Casa Armonia, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013
Google Translation

Gracias por su comentario, estamos trabajando cada día en mejorar nuestro servicio y dándo el adecuado mantenimiento al hotel para la comodidad de nuestros huéspedes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We were staying overnight on route to Chiapas and the owner picked us up at the bus station and drove us to the airport the next morning for a reasonable fee. We were upgraded to a larger room as the hotel was empty which was a nice gesture. The room was comfortable but no reading lights which is often a complaint I have. Also no reduction in rate for not having any breakfast because of our early flight. Would have been nice if we had been offered a sandwich or roll to go as there was nothing open early at the airport. We love Tlaguepaque so this was a great location for spending an afternoon walking around.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tlaquepaque
0.5 mi away
La Villa del Ensueno Hotel
La Villa del Ensueno Hotel
#2 of 10 in Tlaquepaque
257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Rosa Morada Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel El Tapatio & Resort
Hotel El Tapatio & Resort
#9 of 10 in Tlaquepaque
205 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Posada Virreyes
Hotel Posada Virreyes
#8 of 10 in Tlaquepaque
21 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Armonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Armonia

Address: Reforma 43 | Tlaquepaque Centro, Tlaquepaque 45500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Tlaquepaque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Tlaquepaque
Price Range: $66 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Armonia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Armonia is a house build in XIX Century. ReDisigened as a hotel. We Stared operation in 2008. We have 9 rooms in 3 categories. Standard. Suite and Superior. All of them docarated with a mexican flavor. You will find all the services you need to make you feel at home. Complementary Breakfast served in our terrace daily from 8am to 11am. Casa Armonia the Harmony of Details ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Casa Armonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing