We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When can I come again?”
Review of Casa de Las Flores

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa de Las Flores
Ranked #1 of 8 Tlaquepaque B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“When can I come again?”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

This is our third time at Casa de las Flores and it is as charming as ever. The other reviews and the photographs really tell the story; I think you can get an excellent sense of the place and the marvelous hosts. What I'd like to add here is that, besides feeling pampered and well taken care of, you will feel very safe and very comfortable in Tlaquepaque. We've noticed less tourists this time. There is not a hint of discord, only kind and generous people on the street, in the stores, and everywhere you turn.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    10
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
42
140
24
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, Calif.
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed here 6 years ago and always wanted to go back but we wondered if it would still be the best B&B we ever stayed at anywhere? Casa de las Flores turned out to be even better than we remembered! It's just the perfect place to stay. We loved everything about it. The friendly hosts Stan and Jose and their staff couldn't have done more to make us feel welcome, and the breakfasts are legendary. A special treat every evening was a home-made dessert made by Stan, one of the owners. There was a different and delectable dessert each night, except Sundays, and the guests would gather around in anticipation.

The artwork and pottery that Stan has collected are reasons alone to stay here. They are amazing, and of museum quality, and we feel very fortunate to have experienced it, like being privileged guests at a special and private art gallery.

A word about Tlaquepaque -- it felt very safe to walk about this charming town. We never had any trouble there. People are friendly and helpful, and we took a great many photographs. We traveled there by bus from Puerto Vallarta, a trip of around 5 1/2 hours via luxury bus (ETN line), a very easy and super comfortable trip.

Our dream is to return again soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego,Ca
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We just finished spending six days at Casa de las Flores and while I seldom write reviews, this wonderful place demands that accolades be shared. My wife and I have visited this establishment before and were last there five years ago, a hiatus that was too long.

Stan and Jose have created an art project that you reside within. Located in a small neighborhood four blocks from from the heart of magnificent Tlaquepaque is this inn which envelopes you with warmth. The rooms are large, dramatic and are filled with folkloric art from artists Stan mentors. The gardens beckon you to sit and relax as you drink wonderful concoctions from the picturesque bar. The food includes gourmet meals, creations Stan produces. Remember, he was a chef at famed Chez Panese in Berkeley, California. Evenings in front of the huge fireplace with a few of the other guests and Stan and Jose are stimulating and can even include a complementary dessert to close the day.

The staff will help you plan your outings and can arrange personal drivers who will even take you into the homes of artists who are emerging into prominence. If you would rather take local buses, as do my wife and I, you will be furnished with bus numbers and appropriate information necessary to plan any trip.

From maps, to food, to advice, this B&B has it all. Our first time there was approximately twelve years ago and the purpose was to explore the area. Now we go primarily to see the friends we have made at Casa de las Flores. We have stayed at other nice places around the world but none is better than this place. We encourage you to try it for yourselves.

John and Joyce Spicer

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johndr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shady Cove, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

If you have ever wanted to go to Guadalajara, Mexico--wait no more---the perfect B&B awaits you in Tlaquepaque. Casa de las Flores is the place to stay. Owners Stan and Jose helped to make our first trip to the area most enjoyable, with a personal driver, visits to artists studio/homes, recommendations for wonderful places to eat, and what to see. All 7 rooms are suites, everything you need is there & you feel as though you are in your own casita(small home). Stan's Breakfasts and desserts are delicious, Jose's gardens are an oasis for the eyes.
All staff very friendly & attentive to your needs. Location perfect for other destinations, Guadalajara, Tonala, Tequila & Lake Chapala. We always felt very safe in all these places! We will make this an annual trip for sure, Thanks to Stan and Jose at Casa de las Flores!

Room Tip: All 7 rooms very comfy, beds perfect, lots of room inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, Ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

This wonderful Inn is conveniently located in Tlaquepaque, walking distance to all the shops and restaurants, a great place to headquarter for visits to Guadalajara, Tonala, Lake Chapala, etc. The extensive folk art collection creates an ambiance unlike any other. Hosts Stan and Jose provided lots of travel planning tips and impressive insights into the Mexican culture and the folk art in the area. The breakfasts were delicious and the deserts sinful. Not a crumb was left!
The entire Tlaquepaque, Guadalajara area felt very safe. People were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Many spoke English and offered assistance.
We will definitely return and urge others not to miss this Jewel of art, gardens, flowers and friendship.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retrieverfishin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

As you step through the fairly non descript door, it is a bit like Alice arriving in wonderland. Stan & Jose have created something very unique and special. With the area being renowned for artists, they have embraced the theme and have the most spectacular collection, displayed in a quirky style. As you walk in, there is a small gallery, leading onto a comfortable lounge, breakfast room, bar and terrace - which overlooks a beautiful walled garden (complete with humming birds). The rooms overlook the garden and are spacious, well laid out and with everything you need for a comfortable stay. Attention to detail is everywhere - including the service and hospitality. Stan prides himself on breakfast and every morning is a real show - both in presentation and taste. Along with the relaxed bar in the evening, they also have a complimentary desert (home made and delicious). You are a short walk from the art galleries, great restaurants and mariachi singers in the square, that make Tlaquepaque such a great destination (and very safe - contrary to media reports). You are provided with maps of the area, as well as downtown Guadalajara (a short bus, or taxi ride away) - no stone is left unturned by these great hosts. A true pleasure to experience - if you enjoy travel, then don't miss out and rush to Casa de las Flores.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globaladventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
174 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

This is my second time at this wonderful B&B, having stayed at nearly all the others in Tlaquepaque. It is by far my favorite. I go on an annual "girl's" outing each year from our little beach village, spending 2-3 nights in Tlaquepaque. This is where we will stay from now on. The rooms are lovely, beds extremely comfortable, delightful hosts, and beautiful garden. Stan's breakfasts are truly memorable...such delicious gormet food and all included in your room rate! Good coffee is important to me and each morning by 7:30 it is ready and waiting. Complementary dessert is also served at night. Just a short walk and you can spend the day walking around Tlaquepaque, shopping at lovely boutiques, and having lunch or a snack at an outside (or inside) table. Wonderful restaurants all within walking distance.

Six of us ladies stayed here this time and we tended to go in different directions. Stan and the staff are all very helpful in making recommendations on where to look for items. He helped two friends plan their continuing trip on to different areas of Mexico. Louis, a driver, is available to take a group around.

It is a small B&B with only about 6 or 7 rooms, but all are quite large and lovely.

Room Tip: We prefer the deluxe rooms, especially the one downstairs looking out on the garden, but all are nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nic60760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tlaquepaque
0.2 mi away
Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
La Villa del Ensueno Hotel
La Villa del Ensueno Hotel
#2 of 11 in Tlaquepaque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rosa Morada Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Armonia
Casa Armonia
#7 of 11 in Tlaquepaque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Posada Virreyes
Hotel Posada Virreyes
#10 of 11 in Tlaquepaque
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Las Flores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Las Flores

Property: Casa de Las Flores
Address: Calle Santos Degollado # 175, Tlaquepaque 45520, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Tlaquepaque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Tlaquepaque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Casa de Las Flores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Las Flores Hotel Tlaquepaque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing