We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent staff - you will be well taken care of!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Villa del Ensueno Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Tlaquepaque
Certificate of Excellence
Creston
1 review
“Excellent staff - you will be well taken care of!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

If you get there at night, you may not be familiar with the narrow streets and the older buildings - but rest easy! You will not regret the booking. The rooms are very unique and feel free to see a couple before you choose. All the staff were very accommodating and very friendly. After a couple of days exploring you will find the neighborhood is very safe and the locals are very nice. The main square of Tlaquepaque is only a short walk away and the shops and restaraunts are great. We walked back and forth day or night and never felt unsafe. Two days into our trip my husband got very sick with a chest infection (that he brought from Canada). The manager (I wish I could spell his name) offered to take him to the hospital to see a doctor, waited with him, translated and then filled his prescriptions. Incredible- I am so thankful for him! The hotel's on-call cab driver, Quan, took me to the grocery store to stock "flu" neccessities, stayed with me to shop and translate and then took me home. Even though the hotel only serves breakfast, the waiter Emile heated up the soup and served in a nice warm bowl. Emile speaks very good English and is a great source to talk to about the customs and the area. And, the free breakfast they serve is by order, fresh and very good. Every morning stopping to talk and joke with the front desk staff was a memorable part of our trip. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Check out what they have available. There are many options to suit your taste.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VicenteGM, Manager at La Villa del Ensueno Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you!!! Muchas gracias!
we were very happy to have you guys with us, we are morem than happy to accomodate any of your needs while your stay. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    55
    12
    5
    0
See reviews for
50
82
12
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
185 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

I like to visit tlaquepaque at least once a year and usually stay in Guadalajara. This time I read the reviews on trip advisor and made a 5 night reservation at "villas del ensueno" with with family. We were pleasantly surprised. Rooms were very spacious, bathroom expansive and decor very traditional. All rooms have a patio/balcony. Pool was cold and so was jacuzzi. The hotel is well located lots of shops, restaurants and taxi availability at very reasonable rates. Breakfast options traditional and offered a great start for the day. Personnel all went out of there way to be helpful. In all a good experience and would stay again. Beds were okay, not great but clean and improved as we stayed on. Recommended for large groups and family. Very nice and enjoyed the location. Not far from airport or downtown area. Price was very reasonable for service.

Room Tip: Away from front desk . Back area over pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VicenteGM, Manager at La Villa del Ensueno Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, we do appreciate them.
we are taking in serious consideration all your recomendations, gracias once more!
this is your home away frm home anytime! looking forward to seeing you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

I traveled here with my fiance and his parents (my husband's family is from northern Mexico and I am from Washington, DC) in November 2012 and all four of us were just blown away by how beautiful this little boutique hotel was when we arrived. It was about $20 to take a taxi from the airport here the first night we arrived- you pay in advance at the airport and they assign you to a cab. We were in the new building across the street from the old building where the hot breakfast was served every morning (by the way, they were nice enough to send breakfast up to me with the rest of my party when I woke up a little later in the morning one day).

As mentioned, the hotel is beautiful due to its colonial-style architecture and the many different plants they have everywhere. Our junior suite was charming with its touches of talavera pottery tiles, the beds were perfectly comfortable, and the noise wasn't bad even though we were int he room closest to the lobby. If I had been sleeping in ear plugs might have been a good touch, but there certainly wasn't a high level of noise for a boutique hotel on a city street (a side street so not too much traffic).

I would note that we felt quite safe here- there is always someone at the front desk or nearby, they know the neighborhood very well, and the doors are locked in the evening with someone there to let you in. When we first saw our room and its sliding doors to the patio we were a little nervous, but there is a strong door and walls all around the Villa and pretty soon we felt that both ourselves and our stuff (including two new mac laptops) was secure. That said, there isn't a safe in the rooms- not sure why this is the case but it would be nice for the smaller valuables, especially cash. While by the end I was confident that nothing was going to go missing from our room, a safe should really be added for each room just in case.

The best thing about La Villa del Ensueño is probably the staff- they are unobtrusive yet pleasant and helpful. On the last night we were there no fewer than three of the staff went out of their way to help me seal a bottle of tequila for the journey home. I had purchased it for a friend as a gift and the seal had come up just a tiny bit, but if they hadn't helped me seal it with multiple materials it would not have made it back int he suitcase. It means a lot that the staff are responsible yet easygoing, and pleasant while letting you go about your business. Lovely hotel- would definitely stay again and recommend to fellow travelers!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunfl0werSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Last minute decision to go to Guadalajara on Friday, and we found this great boutique hotel on
the Internet. It did not disappoint! Can walk to the main plaza of Tlaquepaque .... The arts area, and everyone was so warm and welcoming! Special kudos go to the young man tending the pool bar, Amel. He gave us a rec for dinner, chatted about the special sights in the area, and even invited us to a special art showing that night at the charming hotel. When we arrived, he made certain we were introduced to some of the guests....while keeping an eye on his bartending duties. Very courteous young man. The a.m. breakfast in the patio area offered lots of options...,again, attentive and friendly! We will go back.
.

Room Tip: Our room was outside the pool patio area and also the breakfast area. If you want to sleep in, I wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oaxaca, Mexico
Level Contributor
285 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is a welcoming place. The art work, the quaint and spacious rooms, the building inself all work together to make this a lovely place to stay. Who ever reviewed that it was too far to the main plaza must not like a pleasant 6 block walk. Hardly, a hike! We really liked that it was quiet in the evening and the staff was most gracious and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank springstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Peñasco, Sonora, Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

The service is the best, warm friendly and very helpful staff. The ambiance is is charming and romantic. A real taste of Mexico and located walking distance from shops and restaurants. Each day a complete breakfast is served with outstanding choices. You couldn't ask for anything better.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Found by accident, the greatest find I can remember. Amazing service, incredible ambience, hidden gem. Breakfast is delicious as are the margaritas by the poolside. We've stayed three times with and without our children and its been an absolute pleasure each time. Its a short walk to the main plaza area of Tlaquepaque but totally doable. Free parking in the back. We will be back again and again - its our home away from home in Guadalajara.

Room Tip: There are two buildings - one on each side of the street. Each building has a pool so ask for a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valdomx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tlaquepaque
0.5 mi away
Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Casa Armonia
Casa Armonia
#6 of 11 in Tlaquepaque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rosa Morada Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Real de Chapala
Real de Chapala
#1 of 8 in Ajijic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
2.2 mi away
Hotel El Tapatio & Resort
Hotel El Tapatio & Resort
#8 of 11 in Tlaquepaque
3.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa del Ensueno Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa del Ensueno Hotel

Property: La Villa del Ensueno Hotel
Address: Florida 305 | San Pedro, Tlaquepaque 45500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Tlaquepaque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Tlaquepaque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Villa del Ensueno Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa del Ensueno is a cozy establishment, decorated in the purest Mexican style and nestled in the heart of San Pedro Tlaquepaque. Only 20 minutes from Guadalajara, Jalisco's International Airport, Tlaquepaque is one of the most famous art and handicraft destinations in all of Mexico.Our bi-lingual personnel are always on hand, ready to assist you by recommending restaurants, shops, or galleries. They can arrange special shopping tours within and beyond the city, as well as provide additional tourist services for the area.Your stay at La Villa del Ensueno includes an afternoon welcome cocktail at our bar "La del Estribo". In the mornings you will enjoy a delicious full breakfast complete with fruit and cereal bar, juice, coffee, yogurt, and sweet rolls. You may order eggs any style, or sample one of our Mexican specialties such as chilaquiles with green or red sauce, or molletes.During your stay, you will have unlimited Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the hotel. In case you elected not to bring your own computer, we will facilitate the use of one for the length of your visit. Local, unlimited phone calls are free and we also provide long distance service, FAX, and copies or prints in our business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your La Villa del Ensueno Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing