We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming and quiet boutique hotel in Tlaquepaque!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Villa del Ensueno Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Tlaquepaque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I'm from Europe, Belgium! For people travelling to Guadalaraja, I really recommend not only a visit, but a stay in Tlaquepaque for 2 or 3 days! From the centre or the airport of Guadalaraja, Tlaquepaque and Villa del Ensueno is just a 15 or 20 minute taxi drive. At Easter, I stayed for the 2nd time in Tlaquepaque, Villa del Ensueno! The rooms are so nice, so brightly decorated in a truly Mexican style, with "azulejos" in the bathroom. Free WIFI. Two nice swimming pool, but a bit cold. The hotel should cover them for the night. Breakfast is good ... especially the coffee in a nice ceramic cup! The hotel management is constantly improving the facilities of the hotel, soon offering a restaurant. Now, el Liverpool has opened and is close to the hotel. The centre is easy to reach, 5 min walk. So many nice places to eat, so many arts shops, .... not handicraft, but ART ... and I recommend to visit the Ceramic centre dowtown, and of course Rodo Padilla ceramica! The young lady at the reception is really helpful. If you need a taxi, just ask reception and they will call you one. Reliable. Parking for your car. Some rooms have a terrasse with sun umbrella and chairs. My husband and I like the room just above reception, with bath! The street where the hotel is located is a bit weird ... but don't pay attention to it, Villa del Ensueno is really worth a visit, a stay! Good value for money!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leticia2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 265 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2012

My wife & I stayed here with our two boys (4 & 15) the night of 4/7 before we drove to Puerto Vallarta. We stayed in room 3 which I'm assuming is in the original building. We enjoyed it so much we stayed again on 4/14 before our flight out. The second night they gave us a jr suite (room 21). I'm assuming that was partly due to the wedding reception they were hosting. Other than being difficult to find (not many street signs in Tlaquepaque) I couldn't have been more pleased. The chilaquile's rojo was the best I've ever had and I've had many. Our boys enjoyed the pool and the management was very helpful with our many questions. The breakfast alone makes this hotel a slam dunk. Throw in the atmosphere with spanish tile, safe parking, and a lovely room and you won't regret staying here. It's about a 10 minute walk to the center of town. The shops there had much better bargains than even the small towns around PV. Do your shopping here. They said the wedding was between a French and Mexican bride/groom that researched and booked them on the internet without ever seeing it in advance. I'm not sure I trust reviewers like me quite that much.

Room Tip: Book the building across the street if you like to sleep in. It's a bit noisier near the check i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We checked rprevious reviews on Trip Advisor before we made reservations and took the advice of one review to ask for the New Building, and a deluxe room. When we arrived we were told all 3 of the deluxe suites were taken. We were also put in the old building and were told it had been remodeled therefore they considered it the new building. The old builing is 15 years old and the new building 8 years old. We insisted on seeing the new building but they would not show us any rooms. We asked how full they were and we were told 50%. We were never offered a welcome cocktail as advertised, and had to ask for it! The pools were not heated, another falsehood. We were with another couple and were suppose to stay 3 days but checked out after the first. The rooms were ok and the breakfast was nice. We looked into the other rooms in the new building at 9:00am and they were all empty, there was also no one else at breakfast. The next day we found a lovely place in Tlaquepaque for the same price. It was quiet and beautiful, 2 blocks from shopping. Hotel Quinta Don Jose B&B. The owners are gracious, the restaurant and bar was lovely. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Insist on New building not old remodeled one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jilllianjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

On our recent trip to Guadalajara we spent the bulk of our time in Centro Historico Guadalajara and only planned one day in Tlaquepaque. We moved to La Villa del Ensueno on the day we toured Tlaquepaque. If we had it to do over we would have allocated 2 days at La Villa del Ensueno and also toured Tonala. This is a delightful boutique hotel with cute rooms, very quite, a friendly staff, within walking distance of shopping, restaurants, and tourist activities in Tlaquepaque. The price of our room included a complimentary afternoon cocktail and a full, hot breakfast. A great find!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OregonLilac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

good location, very quite and not far from the city centre. excellent personal service.

Room Tip: for the best view of the city choose the room above the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

We stayed at La Villa Del Ensueno for 8 nights while on a business trip in Nov/Dec 2011. From start to finish the staff was great. They helped us out with calling cabs, ordering pizza to be delivered, getting some boxes to our consolidator and helping us order breakfast on the first few days as we did not know much Spanish. Most of the day staff spoke English and even the boys who work at night were a pleasant surprise at how good their English was as well. The rooms are very clean and great water pressure. They have bottled water in the rooms for you. The walk to Tlaquepaque shopping area took about 10 minutes and we were not scared at all. Taxis to Tonala were about 80 to 130 pesos. We found out after a few days that you need to negotiate the price before you get into the taxi. 80 to 90 Pesos is all we paid after that. Very glad we did not stay downtown as it was very noisy there. Will for sure be staying here again on our next trip to Guadalajara but are hoping they will have softer mattresses on the beds as they are more than extra firm. Thanks to Jose, Vinchenz, Carlos, and all the other staff for making this a great first trip to Mexico for us.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We stayed here for the Pan American Games in Guadalajara because it was close to the velodrome where a friend was competing. It was delightful. The lovely bilingual staff helped us with Spanish, the breakfasts were outstanding with a helpful and upbeat server. We had various friends stay with us and the staff had absolutely no problem with setting up a cot or making up an extra bed. You wouldn't know how beautiful it is inside (the tiles in the bathrooms alone are worth seeing) from the front door and the street. But once inside, it's just lovely. Beware the pool, however, unless you are part polar bear.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tlaquepaque
0.5 mi away
Quinta Don Jose Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hotel El Tapatio & Resort
Hotel El Tapatio & Resort
#9 of 10 in Tlaquepaque
220 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Armonia
Casa Armonia
#5 of 10 in Tlaquepaque
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rosa Morada Hotel Bed & Breakfast
1.3 mi away
Hotel Posada Virreyes
Hotel Posada Virreyes
#8 of 10 in Tlaquepaque
23 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa del Ensueno Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa del Ensueno Hotel

Address: Florida 305 | San Pedro, Tlaquepaque 45500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Tlaquepaque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Tlaquepaque
Price Range: $66 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Villa del Ensueno Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa del Ensueno is a cozy establishment, decorated in the purest Mexican style and nestled in the heart of San Pedro Tlaquepaque. Only 30 minutes from Guadalajara's International Airport, Tlaquepaque town is one of the most famous art and handicraft destinations in all of Mexico. Our bi-lingual personnel are always on hand, ready to assist you by recommending restaurants, shops, or galleries. They can arrange special shopping tours within and beyond the city, as well as provide additional tourist services for the area. Your stay at La Villa del Ensueño includes an afternoon welcome cocktail at our bar. In the mornings you will enjoy a delicious full breakfast a la cart. For business or pleasure La Villa del Ensueño brings a great experience. Our rooms have a mexican traditional decoration. We also have 2 pools and an outdoor jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Villa del Ensueno Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing