We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location and comfortable stay!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of CASA MAGNOLIA

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Sotogrande, San Roque, Costa de la Luz, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
LP519
Western Cape, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location and comfortable stay!”
Reviewed April 24, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at Casa Magnolia. Lots of space for 7 of us, lovely pool which was well utilised, and well equipped with dishwasher/washing machine etc.
Stunning to have orange trees in the garden, we enjoyed plenty fresh orange juice!
Thanks for the welcome pack, it really makes a difference to have dishwasher tablets and washing powder available, as well as tea/coffee etc.

Negative points would be the barbeque is a bit rusty and dilapidated and in need of replacement, perhaps a few more glasses would be good, and teaspoons, the DVD didn't work too well, also a bit tired and our bed (downstairs with canopy) was uncomfortable, too soft and sagged in the middle. All easy enough to fix and earn 5 stars.

We would stay there again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 24, 2017
Thanks for your feedback. We take on board your notes and will get the team in Spain to restock. Glasses and teaspoons etc.BBQ is already on order. Thanks for bringing the mattress to our attention.
Many thanks
Terrie and Sharon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great, comfortable and cozy”
Reviewed October 16, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Magnolia House is a great place to spend a few days with friends or family. Well equipped and spacious. I would strongly recommend it to anyone who wants to spend some days with friends or family in the area. Well located to visit Gibraltar and the Cadiz Mountains (which are gorgeous), go to the beach or just relax in the house.
The landlord made everything very easy for us and responded to all of our questions immediately.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness and good taste in the decoration of the house.
Liked least: The wifi did not cover the entire house, which is understandable given its size.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2016
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the villa to your liking. We are pleased to hear our management team were helpful during your stay. Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2016
Thank you . We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and pleased to hear the Villa suited your group.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JeremyDLu...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Photos do not do it justice, highly recommended.”
Reviewed September 14, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

You have all heard the saying "a picture paints a thousand words" well not in this case, looking at the photos provided we thought "well this looks like a nice villa" turns out it was more than just a nice villa, it is a beautiful property and very comfortable, the photos do not do it justice.

The garden area is really nice and the pool is small but sufficient for people of the none Olympian swimmer type variety.

The bedrooms are nice and the beds (the ones we slept in) very comfortable. The double on the ground floor opens up onto the pool area which is great for apprehending pool soaked children and getting them into the bath.

Most of the bedrooms have their own en-suite bathrooms which is fantastic and they are also very nice.

The kitchen comes well equipped with very nice appliances, and the welcome pack we received was very substantial and good quality.

The air conditioning is very good and most of the rooms have their own individually controlled units.

Many extras are also included like a pretty huge collection of films, books and random toys for the kids.

If I had to nitpick..... A couple tiles missing in the pool, no handle to open one of the showers.... Bah, silly stuff not worth mentioning, oh and a parrot landed on the chimney and started shouting down at us which gave my daughter quite a fright... But that is not the owners problem and I really shouldn't write it here....

Would I recommend it? Yes, go book it now!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2016
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Villa.
We have contacted the management company to sort the missing tiles and the handle in the shower. Thanks for bringing these points to our attention.
We can only apologise about the parrot but thankfully he wasn't attached to any pirate as this would have been scary!
Thanks again
Terrie and Sharon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M
Gibraltar
2 reviews
“Delivered exactly as promised”
Reviewed September 6, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The old school spanish villa was exactly as described and was perfectly set up to cater for families with lots of young children.

The one or two little niggles were sorted as as fast as humanly possible.

Can't fault it at all and will be back for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The extra fridge
Liked least: The hard beds unfortunately did not suit a guest that had arrived with a spinal injury
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2016
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and pleased that our management team were on hand to sort your problem quickly.
Many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great villa - ideal for all ages”
Reviewed August 29, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The villa is superb - even nicer than the photos suggest. It is really spacious and well equipped - we weren't short of anything - the owners make it feel as a home from home. The bedrooms and bathrooms are spacious, the kitchen has everything you need, the lounge and dining room is comfortable and the outdoor terrace is the hub of everything. There are several sun terraces which allows you to spread out and find sunshine or shade at any time of the day. Lots of games/toys/books provided which added to our fun and entertainment. Thanks to the owners for their fantastic service before, during and after the holiday - would definitely recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the villa
Liked least: the location was a bit far out from the port
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2015
Many Thanks for your kind comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the villa suited you and your families needs. We are pleased you enjoyed the games etc which we feel add to family holidays.
Thank you for choosing Casa Magnolia for your families holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fat_Goldf...
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ignore the photos - it's a lovely place, and excellent value”
Reviewed August 16, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The photos don't do it justice! It's a lovely, large villa, situated in a quiet part of Sotogrande. Access to the villa is restricted by tall electric gates so it feels very secure, and overall it has been well-maintained with a quality feel.

The owners were quick to answer queries, and the pre-holiday information thorough and invaluable. Some basic provisions had been laid in for us, so our first impressions were pretty positive.

Despite being located in a residential area, the villa is very private and well-sheltered by mature trees and shrubs - possibly not suitable for very small children to run around freely in the gardens, as the pool is not fenced around, but the pool itself is a good size and was kept nicely clean. We gave it a quick skim for leaves/bugs each day with the handy net provided, and found it very inviting in the heat. The gardens were also well-maintained, with four mature lemon trees that were laden with almost-ripe fruit - we felt quite envious of guests visiting a few weeks after us, who would enjoy a delicious harvest.

The villa offers two large en-suite bedrooms with walk-in wardrobes/dressing rooms (the master bedroom is enormous) and two further double rooms, although the fourth (which was also en-suite) might be a bit compact for a couple (it made for a comfortable single). The beds were all declared comfortable, although the double in the smallest room had wobbly legs, which took a bit of getting used to. A linen-change after the first week was a welcome touch.

The sitting room was large and the generous corner sofa very comfortable - the occasional chairs a bit less so, but not unpleasant. Unfortunately, the TV went on the blink while we were there, and although a maintenance guy came within 48 hours, he wasn't particularly helpful - he said it would have to be taken away for repairs, but that his car was too small! We left the day after so don't know whether he ever came back...

The kitchen was pretty well equipped with everything you might reasonably expect to find, including a nifty little orange juicer that we put to daily use, and a lovely full-sized induction hob. Although the fridge was a decent size, I can see why others commented - everything had to be stored in it, as fruit and bread went off overnight in the extremes of the heatwave we experienced when there (even the locals told us it was exceptional), and that meant it got pretty full at times. The drinks cooler suggested by others would be a nice idea, but like the owners, I'm not sure where it could go. Ideally, if the kitchen was being re-designed, a big American-style fridge with ice-maker would be the best solution, but we just learned to shop a bit more frequently. I think having the fridge inside a kitchen cabinet isn't a great idea, as there is nowhere for the heat being pumped out to go - we found that after a few days, a pretty unpleasant smell had built up, so we tried to leave the cabinet door ajar as much as possible.

Some heatproof mats might be a good idea - I had to improvise with tea-towels when putting a hot dish on the glass table in the dining room (unless they're just very well hidden in a cupboard somewhere!).

We ate outside most evenings, and the terrace was lovely - the BBQ is a whopper, but it had clearly been extensively used, as both the charcoal and cooking grills had warped - take care when placing the cooking grill as it can tilt when loaded! I was disappointed to find that it hadn't been cleaned - the rest of the villa was immaculate - but I gave it a good scrub (before and after) and it served us well.

Overall, our criticisms were slight, barely enough to take the rating to 4 rather than 5 (wish there was a half-blob option!). The air-con was patchy, working very well in a couple of bedrooms, fairly well in the other, with help from ceiling fans, but really not very well at all in the large sitting/dining room, where there is no ceiling fan. On a few evenings when the heat got unbearable, we had to head for our bedrooms early to get any relief. We also found that bathroom doors had to be kept closed for best results, but that meant that they smelled quite unpleasant at times. The kitchen had no cooling at all, so cooking was either a very, very sweaty experience, or, with open windows (which made little difference on the very hot, windless days), just added numerous annoyingly persistent flies to the mix. Some mesh screens for the windows would probably be a good idea...also, the kitchen, like the bathrooms, tended to smell quite unpleasant when the doors and windows had been closed for a few hours.

Overall, though, the cooling systems might be adequate in 'normal' temperatures, so we may just have been unlucky.

As a location, it's not bad - Cadiz and Jerez are a bit of a drive, Gibraltar in easy reach, and there are plenty other charming places. El Castillo de Castellar is worth the 30-40 min drive into the hills, just for the views. The local supermarket is a decent size, and easy to find.

So - despite these minor quibbles, we really did enjoy our stay, and may very well pay another visit in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size and layout of the property, including the pool.
Liked least: The patchy air-conditioning and unpleasant smells.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to write a detailed review of the Villa. It is shame that you visited in extreme heat even for the area and time of year. Under normal ( hot ) circumstances the Villa is well equipped to deal with the heat. The air conditioning provided along with the fans we supply and the window shutters works well and is regularly serviced.
We do have a management company on hand 24/7 and any issues reported to them should be and according to guests have been dealt with promptly . Issues like the BBq should have been reported and would have been replaced for you had they have known. There is an integral fridge freezer being put in the kitchen and the other fridge is going in th hallway or outside for the excess drinks etc.
Once again thank you for bringing issues to our attention as we are reliant on our guests to let us know if anything is not right so that we can put it right. Thanks for your visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing