We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch by the Water”
Review of The Spinnaker - CLOSED

The Spinnaker
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
659 reviews
309 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
“Lunch by the Water”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stopped here for a cold beer and a spot of lunch. Well the beer did not disappoint with San Miguel at 2 Euros a pint! The food (pizza / Caesar salad) was good quality and reasonably priced. Add in the great view of the wate, comfy seating options with plenty of shade and it all adds up to a very pleasant lunch spot.

Highly recommended and looking forward to returning.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Baxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    18
    6
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sotogrande, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Favourite breakfast spot”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Poached eggs for E3! You cant beat that in Sotogrande. Plus they are prepared perfectly. Seats are so comfortable, you will want to sit here for hours. We walk our dog along the pier and have some breakfast. During the week you will get a table, but watch out in summer this place is crowded. The perfect place to relax in the afternoon, lots of shade and great beer.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank SerahO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manilva, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I went went there with my mum recently ehrn she cam to visit, the service and food were both good, but the best part for me was the location.
Set in the new part of Sotogrande, it was lovely sitting somewhere so peacefull without the traffic noise of the main port.
Nowhere better for a relaxing afternoon watching the world go by.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank julie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estepona
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazed”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Cant believe the reviews i am seeing.
I am a regular visitor to The Spinnaker and am amazed at some of the reviews,
The Spinnaker is by far the cheapest Bar in Sotogrande and the prices for food extremely competitive, perhaps the people who complained have never been to the Hairy Lemon or the Ke Bar in Sotogrande where prices are a far higher. Or they are used to spending time in Budget areas. Sotogrande is along way from kiss me quick hats and 1 euro a pint establishments.
The setting is beautiful and i can honestly say, that an afternoon or evening in Spinnakers is the perfect wayto relax.
The food has always been to a very high standard, on my visits and the staff always eager to please.
I appreciate that obviously sometimes things do go wrong in any establishment, but dont be put off, these, i am sure are unusual to say the least.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Lousy Experience, with fair compensation.”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I always try and refrain from writing reviews on the heat of the experience, but this episode deserves such treatment. Our party of 7 visited Spinnaker tonight for a booking at 9.00pm. Granted - due to our own lack of punctuality, we didn't order until 9.50pm; but a mid evening meal was what we had in mind anyway.

10.30pm, no sign of starters... Out of hungered frustration we encouraged a waitress to check the status of our order, and shortly after were provided with bread and olives to lessen our starvation. Perhaps it would have been an idea to have provided these just after ordering, especially as a bread plate is provided in the table layout, however, I'm sure this was an oversight on their part.

10.45pm, starters arrive, 50 minutes after initial order. Alas, the starters were a generous size and our waiter was incredibly apologetic about the wait, informing us our main courses would arrive shortly after clearing.

11:20pm, mains arrive, an hour and a half after initial order. In this scenario, you make the best of it don't you... Unless, only half the table's food arrives, one fish dish incinnerated to the point of fossilisation, another so raw it could still swim. My seafood risotto lacked seafood, the pork dish was so dry it could have self-combusted, and the remaining 3 dishes that never arrived - who knows?! The two inedible courses were sent back within minutes, and after another 10 minutes of waiting for the remaining dishes, we called it a night.

(we hit the Haagen-Das stall in the town centre - worth a visit, Tirimasu Ice-Cream was beautiful!)

I work in a restaurant back home as a duty manager of the front of house, so I really feel for waiting staff when they get the wrath of fury unleashed on them from a customer - and god love the girl who served us, because she was trying her very best to compensate for what can only be an inadequate kitchen staff or management and a shambolic experience at best.

However, in terms of compensation, the restaurant was very fair. Our drinks and food bill was given on the house, along with a voucher for 7 people to dine for free at a future date. We will try the place again, it's aspect on the harbour-front and ambience were delightful - if not the food itself.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spinnaker also viewed

 
Sotogrande, Costa de la Luz
Sotogrande, Costa de la Luz
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing