We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nowhere near as good as Pura Tapas”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of La Verandah

La Verandah
Ranked #6 of 63 Restaurants in Sotogrande
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids, Romantic, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nowhere near as good as Pura Tapas”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We visited Pura Tapas earlier this week and had a truly exceptional meal and evening and all at remarkably good value. We followed advice on Trip Adviser and followed up with a visit to La Verandah. Nowhere near the same quality or ambience and certainly not better value; a big disappointment.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    59
    16
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“On our must visit list”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

On a recent trip visited this restaurant twice, on the first occasion just for beer/wine and some tapas. These were truly top class and ensured that we were back again and this time dined from the full menu. The food carried on the excellence suggested by the tapas and while we both opted for seafood the menu offers something for everyone so dont be put off if you are not a lover of fish. This is now definitely on our list of must visit restaurants each time we come to the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pitch9_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“good fish and tapas restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I have been going here for about four years and we always visit here at least twice per holiday. I am only reviewing now because i think the owner is so nice he deserves to be popular. The fish of any description are good, and above all fresh.It is not particularly cheap but fish of good quality is never cheap. The Tapas tables outside seem to be more and more popular everytime we go and seem always full, a good sign.The outside of the restaurant does not look too elegant but look past this and go in, you will not be disapointed! Add a bottle of house white at eleven euros and it really is heaven.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank christopher e e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Its so good ,so popular,- book to avoid disappointment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We ate there 3 times in March and April, after being unable to get a seat the first time when. we casually wandered in.
Initially we had a full meal. I had a beautiful lenguado (sole) and Eileen had a roasted monkfish with herbs and a great sauce.Fish was fresh caught that day and just melted in the mouth.
Portions here are huge don't be afraid to order a single plate and share.
After that amazing meal we went back twice with friends just for early evening tapas near the bar,two or thee tapas each and all shared.Great meal inc wine for 12 euros each.
Jose and Rafi are great hosts ,smiling and very attentive despite the hectic nature of the restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
155 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great tapas and main meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

La Verandah is a biggish L shaped restaurant on the edge of Torreguadiaro. They have a restaurant part for A La Carte,which is excellent. For me,though,the tapas are the winners.There are tables outside and in the bar for tapas.The tapas menu is varied and the tapas are BIG.Most cost around €2.50 ..we had chicken tajine,lamb tajine,morcilla with quails egg,king prawns wrapped in filo,salads and found that 2 (3 if you are greedy!!) tapas are very satisfying.It is better value than Pura Tapa down the road,but doesn't quite have the finesse that Pura Tapa does,but then the tapas are half the price and very very good. Recommended.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SteffiSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Verandah also viewed

Sotogrande, Costa de la Luz
Guadiaro, Sotogrande
 
Sotogrande, Costa de la Luz
Sotogrande, Costa de la Luz
 

Been to La Verandah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing