We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location for a Golf Trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Almenara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Almenara
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sotogrande
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect Location for a Golf Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Travelled with two university chums and undertook considerable research before booking our annual golf trip (this year to Spain). We had played San Roque some years ago and were tempted to stay there on this trip. However, several reviews on this site put me off, and indeed a particularly helpful review steered me towards the Almenara. We were not disappointed! The rooms, set in bungalows a short walk from the main reception area, are spacious, with very high ceilings, excellent bathrooms and French windows leading onto a small adequate outdoor patio area. We booked on a B&B basis. The breakfast (buffet) was plentiful with vast selection of fruit, cereals, cold meats and cheese and hot food. Getting your coffee could be a problem though as it was self-service and whilst it was very good - there were often two or three people waiting to help themselves which was a little annoying - perhaps we should have asked for coffee to be brought to the table?
The Almenara has 3 x 9 hole golf courses and we enjoyed 3 different combinations on 3 days - excellent courses, both challenging and with variety of tee positions to suit your ability. We had thought of walking but would recommend taking a buggy as, for instance, the driving range (excellent with elevated tee positions offering magnificent views of the Med, Sotogrande and your shots!) was a 5 minute buggy-drive away from the Pro shop! Some of the bunkers on the courses left much to be desired (wet, little sand and surrounding areas often wet also) but then it was October......Overall, the golf was excellent, conditions superb - particularly the 19th hole that from the huge balcony affords a magnificent view over two of the courses and Sotogrande with the Med and Gibraltar as a backdrop.
We ate out except for the first night - plenty of good choices in Sotogrande. On the first night we enjoyed the buffet for 25 euros - perfectly acceptable and good value.
The highlight of the trip was our selected 'away' course at Finca Cortesin. Again, booked on a recommendation from a very well written review on these pages and magnificent. The review had said 'if you can only play one of the 4 big courses (Valderama. San Roque, La Reserva or Finca Cortesin) recommended the latter as best. We were certainly impressed with Finca and it's well worth the 'extra' cost - play and it and see................Took a trip up into the hills after playing Finca - again worth the 15 min drive to see Caseras. Puerto Sotogrande is a must visit whilst in the area - we enjoyed a relaxing late afternoon meal and drinks overlooking the harbour and Gibraltar.
In summary, if you're looking for an in-expensive but comfortable place to stay, with excellent golf on hand and (although not tried) excellent leisure facilities with a super pool then stay at the Almenara. Final tip; our flights were late out of Malaga on a Monday and we were able to get a late check-out (at 4.00pm) for a concession price of 20 euros per room which was very reasonable - just ask Rafa!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redleg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    231
    53
    30
    21
See reviews for
142
217
15
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We were staying at a Villa on the Sotogrande Alto estate and fancied a luxurious start to our stay by having our first meal at the hotel.
We started by going for a drink - we stood by the bar waiting for service. There was only one bar person on. He came back into the bar carrying a rack of glasses from a dishwasher. He put them on the bar and they crashed to the floor. This really upset him and instead of taking it in his stride excusing the delay or some other social contact he just got stroppy. He did not clear the glass and insisted on getting our order whilst crunching through the broken glasses.
We ordered two glasses of sparkling wine, a glass of red wine and a beer. The red wine was corked and when we pointed this out he got even more upset.

By this time all we wanted to do was get out of there. Needless we never returned!
It just goes to show that now matter how glitzy the surroundings are it is all about good customer service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gotski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Been a few years since i used to stay here on my annual golf trips to this area

These days i suggest to my clients seeking villas in Sotogrande to stay here gives them a feeling for being in Sotogrande Alto where most villas enjoy a view of golf or sea or both. The delux rooms are a little bit extra but worth the difference as they are south facing for best views.

Very convenient for those visiting to check out the international school as its a couple minutes away.

Most golf courses as well as beach and port are all within 10 minute drive

Francis Payne
Tailor Made estates SL

Room Tip: delux rooms face south for best views . East facing rooms look over Almenara golf course lake always...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francisspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Hotel Almenara is well worth a stay if you find a good deal and the location is convenient for you. For golfers they seem to be very equipped and the courses are well maintained. The setting and hotel itself is pleasant, but in need of some refurbishment. Our room was very nice, large and looked like it had had a more recent refurbishment. Unfortunately, as another reviewer mentioned the towels looked stained and threadbare, no free water in room.

There were a few disappointments for me, firstly I found the food to be very poor, there is a huge array available at the buffet breakfast which looks impressive, however, a lot of it didn't taste good or was stale, a case a quantity over quality! The poolside restaurant was very expensive, I ordered a club sandwich which was just horrible. The bar in the hotel lobby was also poor and the snacks not worth a try. After trying everything once we chose to eat outside of the hotel.

My other grumble is that the hotel charge a 18EUR daily rate to enter the gym! They brag that it is a 'Spa' with great facilities but if you fancy a run on the treadmill or even to stretch you have to pay, I've never heard of this in a hotel and I refused to pay.

We stayed there the week after kids returned to school so it was particularly quiet and I would say there was absolutely no atmosphere, maybe it is different in high season...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Golf course is terrible condition close half for winter even tho it was start sept and rest was neglected they don't rake sand or fix damage to greens done by ppl or animals don't stay here at all costs total rip off

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Very pretty hotel set in a beautiful location, set a little way back away from the main area in Sotogrande.
Helpful staff, no problems checking in or out.
Nice airy room, with a very high ceiling which helped the room stay cool without needing the aircon.
Bathroom was a good size, with a very powerful shower- excellent! Robes were ok, but the towels were surprisingly threadbare which was dissapointing.
The hotel is around a ten minute drive from the marina etc, and there is a shuttle bus that we used as well as taxis.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimInEgypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Hotel itself is quite nice. Staff is generally friendly & helpful, but be prepared to remember your Spanish as many do not speak English well, though they will nod and say 'OK' when you speak to them.

One thing that suprised me was absence of free water in rooms. Only two small bottles in the fridge at EUR4 each. And hotel restaurant refused to sell me a bigger 1L bottles to take away, offering only same 0.3L bottles instead.

The biggest disappointment, however, was lack of good night sleep: apparently the hotel authorised a party for some of its guests, featuring heavy drinking and kilowatt speakers with Eastern European music. When it continued after 2AM, I called the reception and asked when this debauch would stop. To my surprise, a receptionist said it would go for another hour, until 3AM. And it did :-(

It is sad that the hotel management decided to entertain a few guests at the expense of many others. I am unlikely to choose this hotel, and probably the hotel chain, again for my travels.

Room Tip: Hotel is far away from anything, and taxi to the city costs EUR18. Try to go with a beach shuttle in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zAlexz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sotogrande
2.1 mi away
NH Sotogrande
NH Sotogrande
#2 of 6 in Sotogrande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
4.5 mi away
Club Maritimo de Sotogrande
9.4 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
9.4 mi away
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
9.5 mi away
Caleta Hotel
Caleta Hotel
#4 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Almenara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Almenara

Property: Hotel Almenara
Address: Avenida Almenara s/n, 11310, Sotogrande, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Sotogrande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sotogrande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Almenara 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As an established, high-end destination, on the cusp of the Costa del Sol, Sotogrande provides the perfect setting for a bespoke hotel. Located at the heart of its famous golf course and next to renowned Valderrama or La Reserva Golf, the Almenara Hotel with 145 rooms and suites set around the main building all with commanding views of the greens, the gardens or the Mediterranean, the hotel is a golfer's dream. The hotel includes the Elysium spa, a sanctuary of rest and relaxation offering innovative treatments and a wide variety of wellness and beauty therapies. Hotel guests can enjoy the fine cuisine offered in two on-site restaurants. Other facilities include the piano bar, a Golf Academy, the beachside Racquet Centre, the beach club and four meeting rooms with a capacity of up to 800 people. This variety creates the sense of wellbeing that the Almenara Hotel is known for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Almenara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Almenara Hotel Sotogrande
Nh Hotel Sotogrande
Almenara Golf Hotel
Almenara Nh Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing