We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant golf style resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Almenara Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sotogrande
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Lovely accommodation which is created almost as a small bungalow for each room. Standards of cleanliness were very high and the grounds are kept immaculately. I was on the half board arrangement as I was working nearby and there is nothing else within walking distance. Service in the restaurant varied enormously. There were too many tables for the size of the room and it was terribly overcrowded as the hotel was busy with many retired golfers. Breakfast and dinner were both buffet style. Staff (with one exception of an excellent young man) were slow to clear and turnaround tables. The food was nothing special and quite unmentionable although there was a lot of choice. However, nothing was well seasoned or exciting. I guess hungry golfers after a day on the course could be satisfied but I like to enjoy food better than I could cook myself and that certainly wasn't the case! There was a very limited and unexciting room service menu. Mention should be made that reception staff were very welcoming and efficient.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley Philippa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (712)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 712 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

LONG REVIEW BUT YOU MUST READ FOR YOUR OWN PROTECTION........
I stayed at the hotel from Monday 25th Feb until Friday 1st March. Found the hotel a good drive from Malaga Airport. Upon checking inn at 1pm we found our room. Room was a bit tired but ok for what is essentially a Golf resort.Went out to play on a course at 3pm after having some lunch on the terrace. Service was slow & Food poor. My wife went to the spar which is overpriced at €18 a day just to use the swimming pool and sauna !!! Hence there is nobody in it.
I had left my wallet in the room by accident and when i returned there was €400 missing !!!!!!!!
To cut a long story short the hotel is in the middle of nowhere, with very tight security so the only access to my room was the staff. I reported the theft to the hotel who had an unhelpful assistant Manager Sara Reina. who basically accused me of steeling my own money !!

They would not call the police,but did managed to find out that a Maid had attempted to bring some bath robes at 3.20 ,said she never came into the room but shut the door & left as we weren't there. Has that ever happened to you ?? when a maid has knocked the door and not come in just to bring robes,towel etc etc. NEVER in my lifetime NEVER. I have been in hundreds of hotels and had maids clean the room while i am in them,as i am sure you have. My room was subsequently not cleaned for 2 days spooky i know but true.
The upshot of it all was it ruined our stay. It was the topic of conversation all week. I did report the theft to the Local police who were aware of thefts from the hotel on MANY occasions but because nobody bothered to report it they are powerless to stop it.
The hotels customer service is a joke, Back in the UK as well as Spain,i accept it was my fault for leaving my wallet but they did not even want to investigate how it happened. €400 is not a massive amount of money , and i accept i was never getting it back ,but if you stupidly choose to stay there BE WARNED,if you do have any difficulties the hotel management don't care a bit. The Manager would not speak to me and they are happy to talk over you in Spanish. You are left to fend for yourself.
The golf courses were poor compared to many places i have played in spain (9 Handicap) Tees poor fairways a disgrace but greens were fast but Bumpy.

Has anybody else ever had things stolen from this hotel ?

I never did get the bath robes.................How strange

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank VibeDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I've just returned from Almenara, 2nd visit & it just gets better. As I said in my first review, this is a Golf Resort....if you don't golf, stick to the beach resorts. We stayed here for 3 nights, ate at the Hotel every night & played golf on fantastic courses. As before the staff were fantasic, friendly & helpful. We found the food even better this trip, plenty of choices with different selections each night. The breakfast buffet is just out of this world, can't say anymore.The Golf Staff are charming, very helpfull & do all they can to make your day a memorable one. I could go on burbling about Almenara but it would be pointless... so The Spa is spotless, all the usuall stuff to chill out after golf. Our room was as new every day, towels etc. Restaurant, bars, golf, great location, peacfull & relaxing. We're planning a week there next year!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Golfdog3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Just spent 3 nights here and 3 rounds of golf. The hotel is gorgeous, spotless and the staff friendly and helpful. Food was great, but not a huge variety, and no restaurants nearby, so your stuck here for the food really. Car hire is recommended as the hotel is not close to any shops, sights, restaurants etc,15 minute drive to the harbour/beach.

Buffet breakfast and dinner was fine, usual salads, fresh fruits, cheese, cold meats, soup, and 2 or 3 hot options - reccommend the fish! The food at the golf club restaurant is good quality and ideal for a snack after your round!

The pool area is lovely and a real sun trap, we were sunbathing even in January! The rooms were gorgeous, large bathroom two comfy queen size beds and a veranda. A bit of a squeeze in a queen size bed for two, though you can move them together.The spa and indoor pool looked lovely but does cost extra and we didn't really have time to use it. The outdoor pool is not heated, though I did have a 3 second dip!

As adversised, the golf is on site, and the courses are picturesque and in lovely condition. There are 3 loops of 9 holes, with Los Pinos being far superior - so I advise that you include this course in each round. We hired a buggy the first day, with was a bit of a waste of time as you have to keep to the paths and can'ttake them on the fairway at all. There are trolleys for hire which I did the second two rounds which was much better. The greens were like lightening, undulating and the pin positions were very tricky on each hole, so it was very difficult to score even for low handicappers! This did get a little frustrating! Courses were not busy, so there was no waiting or being pushed.

All in all lovely hotel and ideal for couples or groupson a golf break. We went on from here to Hotel Gran Elba, Estepona and then Gadalmina, Marbella - both of which were very different! see later reviews!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beccy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here while at a wedding in SOTO. Never been to this side of the resort before as we are usually beside the beach area. The entrance and lobby area are nice with a smart bar. The pool area is also good with a nice spa and gym to use.

Its right on a golf course so a golfers paradise - not much else to do if you are not a golfer as the beach is a good drive away on the other side of the motorway.

The rooms were so so and they need an upgrade along with the bathrooms- would of been very luxurious when initially designed.

All in all a very good hotel in an area with not many options on Hotels.

Definitely better than the NH Sotogrande.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RBrenno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

A good integration into the landscape, good housing, good roads, located right next to the golf course.
A good gym and a spa reasonable. Indoor and outdoor pools.
Great breakfast service.
It is close to excellent golf courses: Valderrama, Sotogrande Real, San Roque.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonio54C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The hotel area is excellent- (I was not a golf tourist), amazing pool area with plenty of sunbeds. Breakfast buffée is great and service is flawless!

The room is nice but more 3,5- 4 star than 5-star. Definitely clean, spacious enough and offers all basic comforts you would expect but the 5-star features are lacking. Restaurant menu is definitely not 5-star and the food is actually quite bad. The hotel is far off from any center so nothing else is available which keeps the options down as well... The environment is very scenic and beautiful in every way!

I'm sure this hotel was excellent 10 years ago but needs to step up a bit in order to be 5-star...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 109Stina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sotogrande
2.3 mi away
NH Sotogrande
NH Sotogrande
#2 of 5 in Sotogrande
429 reviews
4.6 mi away
Club Maritimo de Sotogrande
8.8 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 6 in Gibraltar
2,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 mi away
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
#2 of 6 in Gibraltar
2,028 reviews
6.5 mi away
Las Camelias
Las Camelias
#5 of 5 in Sotogrande
30 reviews
7.5 mi away
NH Campo de Gibraltar
NH Campo de Gibraltar
#1 of 4 in Los Barrios
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Almenara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Almenara Resort

Address: Avenida Almenara s/n, 11310 Sotogrande, San Roque, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > San Roque > Sotogrande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sotogrande
Price Range: $98 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Almenara Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As an established, high-end destination, on the cusp of the Costa del Sol, Sotogrande provides the perfect setting for a bespoke hotel. Located at the heart of its famous golf course and next to renowned Valderrama or La Reserva Golf, the Almenara Hotel with 145 rooms and suites set around the main building all with commanding views of the greens, the gardens or the Mediterranean, the hotel is a golfer's dream. The hotel includes the Elysium spa, a sanctuary of rest and relaxation offering innovative treatments and a wide variety of wellness and beauty therapies. Hotel guests can enjoy the fine cuisine offered in two on-site restaurants. Other facilities include the Pentagrama´s Bar and Pool Bar, a Golf Academy, the beachside Racquet Centre, the beach club and four meeting rooms with a capacity of up to 800 people. This variety creates the sense of wellbeing that the Almenara Hotel is known for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, NHHotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Almenara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Almenara Hotel Sotogrande
Nh Hotel Sotogrande
Almenara Golf Hotel
Almenara Nh Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing