We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Almenara Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sotogrande
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2012

"Your Golf Travel" booked this Hotel/Golf for us, end of February. Can't fault anything about the place to be honest. I see other reviews bemoaning the fact that the rooms are not part of the main Hotel; we thought it was quite nice not being in the main building. The rooms; as mentioned in another review; are small suites doted around the complex. The suites are amazing, huge beds, huge bathrooms & very nicely appointed. Very close to the accommodations is a state if the art Spa, swimming pool, gym, Jacuzzi, sauna...& so on. Like most things in life, whatever floats your boat? If you're going there to play golf you'll love it. Beautiful 27 hole golf course, great spa, & wonderful food at a reasonable price. Staff were brilliant, have a blether with Santiago the bar man....man does he keep & 5 Star watering hole!! One thing you must do if staying at this Hotel....have breakfast! I have never seen anything like it! Spain is Spain, especially in Andalucia. They are fiercely patriotic & love it if you can speak even a few words of Spanish even if it's bad.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Golfdog3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (703)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 703 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2012

4 of us went for a treat to this 4 star spa today. We paid 35euros each for a day pass to use the spa pool, sauna and steam room. Included in the price were towels, slippers and dressing gown. The reception team who were expecting us were as chilly as a the rest of the facilities. At this point I must say that we were their only guests! We stayed less than an hour, because:

The changing room was cold, the sinks had no tissues, soap or indeed any of the things normally standard in top of the range spas (and this one is very expensive for even the Costa Del Sol). The shower cubicles were not clean and the showers did not work particularly well, this was the second hint that all was not well.

The spa pool; over 50% of the areas either were broken or only partly working. The water was far too cold and worse of all the place is filthy! One of us cut our foot on the debris on the bottom of the main spa pool, so many tiles were off and they were in the pool, the whirling made it impossible to see the danger. The reception staff were not interested in our problems and reluctantly offered us free tickets for a return visit, it seems that they are used to complaints. We refused the tickets as we would not return, but it got worse as they had no accident book and pointed lamely to the main hotel saying that we had to go there to report the accident. We gave up and went to have a drink and snack on the terrace. The food was very nice, and presented well - but again pricey. The drinks were also expensive. However again the experience was spoiled by poor service from disinterested /bored staff. The service was slow beyond belief and we were made to feel that we were somehow disturbing the staff.

In the summer this place may be better, as the area is quite beautiful but overall this is at best a faded and neglected hotel that has trimmed maintenance to maximise profit.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chunkymicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

This is not really a hotel. It is more a holiday park. The 'rooms' are in fact mini-houses on the terrain of the facility. There is no connection between the reception, restaurant, breakfast room and your own room. So, having breakfast means a small walk in the morning. Having a drink at night ditto.
It is expensive. In fact: far too expensive given the quality of the services (food, room service, rooms themselves etc) offered and the fact that it is a holiday park. There are better hotels, real hotels that is, in the surroundings of Sotogrande and cheaper ones.
One plus: we were sick when we stayed there. The breakfast room staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ralphdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We booked a golf package for a week through a travel agency. When checking in we got a welcome drink, nice.

Room was a good size and very peaceful with a nice wiew to the garden. Two big and good beds with 3 pillows each. The bathroom was also quite big with a bath tube. Basic amenities such as shampoo and shower gel plus some extra like a brush, tooth brush set, a sponge etc were replaced every day! I missed a bodylotion instead of these. There was basic mini bar, but f.ex. no wine or cognac to choose.

Cleaning was ok, but very much depending on who did it. Some days we had a turn down service, some not. Some days we got fresh towels without asking, some not. I would like to have a carpet or a towel next to the bed because the floor was always cold and a little sandy even if we tried to avoid walking in with golf shoes. Bad vacum cleaner?

Restaurant was big and too bright, most of the time crowded but we always got a table. Buffet was very good and as usual in buffet the cold food was tasty (spanish tapas, salads etc.), warm meals not so much. We could also choose á la carte. We found good and 2 excellent wines on the list! Service was also quite variable, some were really friendly, some had hard time even trying to smile. They hardly spoke english, so discussing of the meals or wines was difficult with one exception; a guy who knew the wines and his english was fine.

The restaurant had a dress code "smart casual" but still some swedish guys came in with shorts and flip flops! I lost my appetite when they came to sit at the next table waving their bare, stinky toes when we were dining. We complained the reception and they promised to keep control of smart casual, but the next day the guys were there again dressed for a camping place... And some even ate with their caps on!

Our tee times were booked and confirmed couple of months ahead and they checked our voucher on the first day, but still one day they had moved our morning time to the afternoon where we had other plans. We didn't accept that and they then told us to go one of the courses and just try to fit in some lot! All golfers know that this doesn't work very well and makes others have to wait. Courses were nice and well taken care of, not too demanding for an average golfer.

The spa was good, but be prepared to have a shower cap and 1 € coin with you, this you cannot read anywhere before entering the spa! No swimming without a shower cap -I went back to my froom to get one. But they didn't bother to tell me that I also need a coin to get a locker, so back to my room again... There was a turkish and a finnish sauna. Though I don't know where the "finnish" came, beacause there was no sauna stove! Water bucket yes, but where to throw water when there is no stove? My husband had a sports massage and he found it very good.

The Sotogrande area is totally dead during the off season. No other local restaurants by walking distance. So if you don't do golfing, don't go there. To Gibraltar is some 30-40 minutes drive plus a long waiting time to get into the city (can be even some hours!). We went there on Sunday when everything was closed and the traffic was not so bad.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simone_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We were a group of 5 male golfing enthusiasts, we chose Hotel Almenara after recommendation and an unbeatable offer og 7 nights B&B with 7 rounds of golf for 500 Euros per person. The accommodation consisted of a Bungalow with fantastic terrace views over Sotogrande, it was situated 50 meters from the Hotel Reception and 150 meters from the pro shop, the rooms are well furnished and there is even a "turn down" service of beds during early evening.
The evening meal consisted of a Buffet, and like other reviewers the standard was at best average, service is 100% inconsistent and its not because they are short staffed, its just unorganised, the staff seem more interested in preparing for something in the future than whats actual.
Breakfast however was a pleasure, enormous well balanced Buffet to suit all tastes, attentative personel, right from the maitre d` who unlike the evening Head Waiter has control over his personel, up to the many waitresses who no sooner than your plate is empty its then whisked away by the organised breakfast staff.
The courses are a challenge for most with there infamous narrow fairways, picturesque they are, but do not expect to go down in handicap !! or you will be disapointed.
If you are booked to Tee off at 8 a.m. be careful ! ironically the pro shop does not open before 8.a.m. so work that one out.
Unlike La Cala and La manga there are no Tea/Coffee/Water/ Snak Buggies doing the rounds, so tank up before you go out.
The Terrace Lunch Restaurant is very expensive with club sandwiches and Burgers costing 17 euros and a croissant a massive 5 euros, it is well overpriced and again very average in quality.
Summary: the facilities and furnishings of this hotel are of a very high standard, the food and service apart from Breakfast are not.
Surely the owners must read some of these comments and take them on board.....

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markbeetson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We have stayed here before and returned because the setting is magnificent and golf excellent. Spain has hit hard times because the tariff this time was a fraction of previously. We thought from the website that it was 100e for bed and breakfast but were told when we arrived "golf free"!! The rooms are set away from the main building, like semi detached villas and are of high standard. Breakfast is of high quality and overall service is excellent. 3 nine hole golf courses, mix and match as you like, in very good order and interesting.
Things to do; visit Castellar, spectacular medieval fortress town on an escarpment. Things not to do; visit Gibraltar, unless you like fish and chips, jewellery and other tacky shops.

Our last hotel "La plantacion del Sur" (Tenerife - see my review)) was supposed to be 5 star and was very expensive - not a patch on this place.

Can highly recommend the Almenara for golfers but apart from Spa not a lot of interest for others.

Standard in main restaurant declined from last visit but acceptable.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drgeoff99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Having read the reviews on trip advisor we opted not to eat in the hotel at all except for breakfast - if its continental breakfast you want then it is absolutely fine cooked breakfast was tepid. They really do need to look at the food situation a cheese sandwich is 13 euros!!
The golf course and the spa facilities are fantastic. You do need a car at this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golfwestsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sotogrande
2.3 mi away
NH Sotogrande
NH Sotogrande
#2 of 5 in Sotogrande
429 reviews
4.6 mi away
Club Maritimo de Sotogrande
8.8 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 6 in Gibraltar
2,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Las Camelias
Las Camelias
#5 of 5 in Sotogrande
30 reviews
9.6 mi away
Caleta Hotel
Caleta Hotel
#3 of 6 in Gibraltar
1,097 reviews
10 mi away
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
#2 of 6 in Gibraltar
2,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Almenara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Almenara Resort

Address: Avenida Almenara s/n, 11310 Sotogrande, San Roque, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > San Roque > Sotogrande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sotogrande
Price Range: $101 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Almenara Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As an established, high-end destination, on the cusp of the Costa del Sol, Sotogrande provides the perfect setting for a bespoke hotel. Located at the heart of its famous golf course and next to renowned Valderrama or La Reserva Golf, the Almenara Hotel with 145 rooms and suites set around the main building all with commanding views of the greens, the gardens or the Mediterranean, the hotel is a golfer's dream. The hotel includes the Elysium spa, a sanctuary of rest and relaxation offering innovative treatments and a wide variety of wellness and beauty therapies. Hotel guests can enjoy the fine cuisine offered in two on-site restaurants. Other facilities include the Pentagrama´s Bar and Pool Bar, a Golf Academy, the beachside Racquet Centre, the beach club and four meeting rooms with a capacity of up to 800 people. This variety creates the sense of wellbeing that the Almenara Hotel is known for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Almenara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Almenara Hotel Sotogrande
Nh Hotel Sotogrande
Almenara Golf Hotel
Almenara Nh Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing