We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My New Favorite Place”
Review of PuraTapa

PuraTapa
Ranked #1 of 58 Restaurants in Sotogrande
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $29
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Sabinillas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My New Favorite Place”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We have been driving by this place the last year or so and never went in. Today, we took two friends over there and we were so very pleased. First, the service was excellent, young Sarah was at the table in a blink and got drink orders in an instant. Then she helped us translate the menu, which is written on the wall to aid our selection. The food came out quickly in fair-sized portions, was perfectly prepared, and artfully presented. It is not run-of-the-mill tapas, but shows a lot of creativity, combining Spanish, Asian and other European cuisines. My choices were divine and I tried a taste of everyone else's. Every bite was a delight! Since it is only a mile from my house, I will be going over there two or three times a week. One suggestion: they should have the menu also available in English to help the Brits and Americans who don't speak Spanish to understand what they are ordering! Good wine, good food, great service worth the money. As Arlnold said, "I'll be back!"

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    162
    46
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Cala de Mijas, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Out of this world tapas. Simply the best.”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Quite simply, this is the best tapas bar around. Not your traditional Spanish tapas bar but a mix of Asian and Spanish fusion.

The staff are exceptional, the presentation is wonderful and the experience is simply the best.

Needless to say I am now a regular.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank beanbaguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torreguadiaro
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Excellent food, great presentation and by far the best place to eat around Sotogrande. A must eat place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Better than the reviews...This is the best modern Tapas I have had!”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Ive been coming to the area for 20 years +, I can say this is the most adventurous, and well cooked Tapas I have tasted, worth a trip, service wonderful , portions a tad on the small side, but the flavour more than makes up for this, absolutely fantastic ;0)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reevey09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just excellent”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Delicious tapas, many times combining spanish with asian cousine. All dishes are very creative - chefs do an excellent job. It is one of a kind. Service is also perfect.

We visit Pura Tapa at least once every week.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PuraTapa also viewed

Sotogrande, San Roque
Sotogrande, San Roque
 
Sotogrande, San Roque
Torreguadiaro, Costa de la Luz
 

Been to PuraTapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing