We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice village pub meal”
Review of The Richard Onslow

The Richard Onslow
Reserve with OpenTable
The Richard Onslow is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 30 Restaurants in Cranleigh
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We wanted to quick meal after work on a Monday night and chose here. It's burger night on Mondays so we all chose beef with choice of toppings. There was also a choice of lamb or pork. Pleasant stmisphere, decent pub grub - would eat there again. Friendly staff

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank boaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Onslow, Manager at The Richard Onslow, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Many thanks for your recent visit and we are happy that you enjoyed our Gourmet Burger night. Please pop in again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 212 of 289 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2014

Food average, setting very nice especially in winter when open fire lit. Great choice of local ales, dogs allowed etc.
Customer service not brilliant some rather surly staff, one or two welcoming though.

Thank graham754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Onslow, Manager at The Richard Onslow, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Hi Graham,
Thank you for your recent visit to The Onslow, can you please e mail ben.fisher@peachpubs.com with more details about the average food? We aim for the highest standards of food, drink and service and don’t like serving average
Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stopped here (without reservations) and enjoyed a wonderful roast lunch from the specials board. Our waiter Ben was wonderful and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal and our surroundings.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Vanessa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Onslow, Manager at The Richard Onslow, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Hi Vanessa

Thank you for leaving such a positive review about your lunch at The Onslow, please pop back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

just enjoyed beautifully cooked roast beef lunch, and interesting and awesomely delicious dessert - I had coconut and lime and pineapple and custard and fritters thingy - fab! family were fully and kindly catered for too - great staff, timing, and ambience. Cranleigh still does some things well!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Onslow, Manager at The Richard Onslow, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Hi Sue

thanks for the kind review and we happy that you had an enjoyable lunch at The Onslow, I have passed your comments regarding our Custard Fritters with marinated pineapple and homemade lime and coconut sauce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Lively pub with excellent food and helpful staff
Tends to be noisy as the restaurant is connected to a lively bar and there's not much sound deadening in the resataurant

Thank janeself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Onslow, Manager at The Richard Onslow, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Hi Jane,
Thanks for your kind review, we are currently in the process of refurbishing the restaurant which among other aims, will help alleviate the noise from our popular bar
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Richard Onslow also viewed

 
Cranleigh, Surrey
 
Shamley Green, Guildford
 

Been to The Richard Onslow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing