We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Barn at Alfold

The Barn at Alfold
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Cranleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $46
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Contemporary, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Very Traditional Family run Restaurant in a 16th Century Oak Beamed Barn. Full of atmosphere and serving food with substance.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Sunday roast at The Barn in Alfold is amazing! The staff were SO helpful and attentive, but not too 'in-your-face'. We had a vegetarian in our group & they did everything they could to make sure we had enough 'extra' vegetables and potatoes. They even said that next time we visit, if we let them know in advance, they'll rustle something up! We're going back again next Sunday & are already looking forward to it! It's a lovely old country pub with chickens & a veggie patch in the car park/garden. The food was delicious and such good value!!
LOVE IT!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    45
    15
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Barn, Alford - excellent. Cannot rate it highly enough!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We went to The Barn on a cold evening and as soon as we entered the restaurant we were greeted by friendly staff and a lovely log fire. The food was amazing. All 4 of us tried different dishes and we were all so impressed with quality, quantity, taste and freshness. The staff were extremely nice and couldn't do enough for us - which is quite rare in this day and age. We also chatted to the Chef and she told us where she gets her ideas from and it was good to see a restaurant that likes to "mix it up a bit" offering different food choices and regular new additions to the menu.
We would defiantly return to this restaurant if we were ever in the area and I can thoroughly recommend it to everyone. It's just down the road from Dunsfold Aerodrome so handy for anyone visiting there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaffre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Tasty Well Cooked Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have been coming here for a good few years now and I can honestly say the food has always been of a very high quality and together with the sassy front of house lady makes the experience even better. I have not come across many establishments where the vegetables are included in the price, usually 5 vegetables plus a choice of potatoes ( sautee, new, lyonaise, chips etc) and you are asked if you would like more. Probably going again in a couple of weeks.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dtuggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudgwick, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great food & service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We have been coming to this resturant for a few years now. We celebrate all our family special occasions here but also pop in for a romantic lunch or dinner for two! It is by far the best restaurant in the area. The food is exceptional, all home cooked, fresh & always beautifully presented. The service is always very efficient & friendlly, the family can't do enough for you. The log fire is always appreciated in the winter & the children enjoy the outdoor play area & looking at the animals in the Winter,

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Crabs and Prawns”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Booked in advance for yesterday and the food was terrific. The 4 of us thoroughly enjoyed the excellent whole crabs (with prawns) that we had ordered in advance for our return visit to The Barn. This was once again very high quality food served in this friendly family atmosphere and charming "old world" surroundings. Thank you; we will be back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TONYM398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barn at Alfold also viewed

 
Cranleigh, Surrey
 
Cranleigh, Surrey
 

Been to The Barn at Alfold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing