We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bland”
Review of Curry Inn 84

Curry Inn 84
Ranked #6 of 30 Restaurants in Cranleigh
Price range: $21 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Restaurant details:Good for:Romantic, Business, Special Occasion Dining, Entertaining clientsDining options: Lunch Spot, Dinner, Reservations, After-hoursNeighborhood: Guildford/CranleighDescription: "This elegant and sophisticated restaurant has been pleasing diners from Cranleigh and beyond for years. The transformed interior features olive, aubergine and burgundy soft furnishings and , which create a romantic and enchanting ambiance. We're not naming names, but, but you could star-spot politicos, media types and artists here. Or you could just enjoy the terrific food and smooth service. What's cooking? The gourmet Indian menu features favourites like Goan curry and lamb dishes cooked in the ""Jewel of gravies"", or spoil yourself with fresh king prawn in a tomato and brandy sauce served. Vegetarians will be very happy here with anew dishes to impress, as will those who enjoy an adventurous and exciting wine list! "owner Jubair Zaman has taken inspiration from his mother's kitchen in, providing a fantastic overview of the home cookery of that region too. Food quality is of the utmost importance but Curry inn84 is almost as well known for its ambience - relaxed and comfortable but still with look and feel throughout the entirely modern interior.Restaurant established 1984
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Tried this on the back of the reviews I heard, everything I had was very bland, especially the seekh kebab. Service was ok, nothing to shout about but just ok. Nicely decorated inside but that unfortunately doesn't make up for the food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank MarkU9293JD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jubair Z, Manager at Curry Inn 84, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Guest thank you for your comments
Sorry for your experience at restaurant,
that you found our food very bland this is the first Time we had complaints of the entire male was bland we take pride of cooking dishes every single dishes are individually cooked with high standard The Sheekh kebab you mentioned is packed with flavours garam masala,ginger,coriander and spices and you found it very bland,
Well and truly sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal at our restaurant, if only you could of bought this to my attention during or after your meal I could of investigate the matter straightaway

We had served over 56 dinner that evening and guessed were happy.
Once again we you are sorry we failed in your case.

Team Curry inn84

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 162 of 198 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

Fantastic Indian food .The vegetarian dishes are particularly delicious . Try the baby aubergine and the Rajasthani Bindi .Lovely .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jubair Z, General Manager at Curry Inn 84, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent visit in our restaurant.
I am delighted that you had a very enjoyable visit and were happy with the service offered by our Staff. Your comments will be passed onto our team members as I am sure this will encourage them to keep up the hard work.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Curry Inn84 very soon.
General Manager :J Zaman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

After a delayed flight and a long trip, we arrived at the Curry Inn late on Sunday night.. The food and service was excellent. As said in other reviews.. by far the best Indian in Cranleigh

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank charlie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jubair Z, Manager at Curry Inn 84, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent visit in our restaurant.
I am delighted that you had a very enjoyable visit and were happy with the service offered by our Staff. Your comments will be passed onto our team members as I am sure this will encourage them to keep up the hard work.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Curry Inn84 very soon.
General Manager :J Zaman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have eaten here several times before and enjoy it every time. Booked for Saturday night which was advisable as it was very busy. Food was really good with some different items not usually seen on a menu at an Indian restaurant. Great service despite how busy it was. By far the best Indian restaurant in Cranleigh

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank leeherb18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jubair Z, General Manager at Curry Inn 84, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you with the utmost gratitude for taking your time to write such a wonderful review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit, and we would be delighted to host you again in the future.

Kindly accept our warmest regards from the Curry Inn,
Jubair Zaman and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Love the food here. We keep going back and have done for 13 years. They keep adding new things to the menu the tried and trusted dishes are of a consistant standard.

Curry Inn is the best of the 3 Indian Restaurants in Cranleigh.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Derekthesheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jubair Z, General Manager at Curry Inn 84, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to cordially thank you for taking the time to write such a delightful review. It has been a pleasure to serve you over the years and it will be an even greater pleasure to serve you again.

Kindly except our warmest regards from Curry Inn Cranleigh,
Jubair Zaman and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curry Inn 84 also viewed

 
 

Been to Curry Inn 84? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing