We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A better class of curry house”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Curry Inn 84

Curry Inn 84
Ranked #6 of 30 Restaurants in Cranleigh
Price range: $19 - $26
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Restaurant details:Good for:Romantic, Business, Special Occasion Dining, Entertaining clientsDining options: Lunch Spot, Dinner, Reservations, After-hoursNeighborhood: Guildford/CranleighDescription: "This elegant and sophisticated restaurant has been pleasing diners from Cranleigh and beyond for years. The transformed interior features olive, aubergine and burgundy soft furnishings and , which create a romantic and enchanting ambiance. We're not naming names, but, but you could star-spot politicos, media types and artists here. Or you could just enjoy the terrific food and smooth service. What's cooking? The gourmet Indian menu features favourites like Goan curry and lamb dishes cooked in the ""Jewel of gravies"", or spoil yourself with fresh king prawn in a tomato and brandy sauce served. Vegetarians will be very happy here with anew dishes to impress, as will those who enjoy an adventurous and exciting wine list! "owner Jubair Zaman has taken inspiration from his mother's kitchen in, providing a fantastic overview of the home cookery of that region too. Food quality is of the utmost importance but Curry inn84 is almost as well known for its ambience - relaxed and comfortable but still with look and feel throughout the entirely modern interior.Restaurant established 1984
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A better class of curry house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is one of 3 Indian restaurants in cranleigh and I think it's the best of the 3. We booked in as a group of 4 at 9.30 pm. The place was full but the atmosphere wasn't cramped. The service was ok but a little lax but the food was excellent. I can recommend the chum chum chicken with lemon rice.

Whilst I wouldn't put this restaurant in the category of fine Indian dining I would say its in a league of its own when it comes to the everyday curry house

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominic O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jubair Z, General Manager at Curry Inn 84, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest, we would like to thank you for your delightful review. We are really honoured by your praising comments regarding your experiance. We hope to serve you once again.

Kindly except our warmest regards from Curry Inn Cranleigh,
Jubair Zaman and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    49
    20
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We went to the Curry Inn 84 for the first time this week (We usually go to Rania which is also good). This was a weekday evening, when the menu is more elaborate than at weekends.

Decor and music is more typically Indian than Rania.

Food was excellent. Slightly different cuisine to normal Indian fare. Exceptionally friendly service. The waiter asked us what we thought (we had said we usually go to Rania). He did not knock the other restaurant at all (good - never knock the competition) and was genuinely interested in what we thought.

I am astounded that in several years living in this area, we have managed to overlook this gem. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jubair Z, General Manager at Curry Inn 84, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our utmost gratitude and appreciation for taking the time to write your delightful review. It was wonderful to read your comment. We are pleased that you enjoyed our food and our service. Thank you once again and we hope to be your host in the near future again.

Kindly accept our warmest regards from Curry Inn,
Jubair Zaman and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cranleigh surrey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“The best and fortunately my local!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is the best curry eat in or takeaway i know.
Excellent food and service
Murgh Malabar is the business
Vindaloo is awesome-- even more heat please Jubair-- I can take it!
Onion Bahgees and Chili cheese Nann rock!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TheBurgerReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jubair Z, General Manager at Curry Inn 84, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to forward you our high appreciation and thanks for your very positive feedback about your visit to Curry Inn. We our very honored by your praises and we are delighted that you enjoy our service. It will be our utmost pleasure to host you for any future visits again at our restaurant.

Kindly accept our warmest regards from Curry Inn,
Jubair Zaman and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“better indian food very close”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

I personally think Rania is a much better option than the curry inn. The food here is stuck in the 80's and needs to aspire to develope dishes like Rania has done. the service is ok if you are part of the 'in' crowd, but you could be overlooked if your face isn't familiar. Decor is good and clean. Overall an ok experience, and not overly expensive.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jubair Z, General Manager at Curry Inn 84, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review. All comments are important to us as they help to highlight specific issues of our service that need to improve. Should you visit Curry Inn in the future, we feel sure that you will find our services much improved.

Kindly accept our warmest regards from Curry Inn,
Jubair Zaman and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The very best restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We are very regular customers at the curry inn, going approx twice a month, why go anywhere else when the food and service is so good and risk not having such a good meal elsewhere. In all our time of going to the curry inn we have never had a bad meal or bad service, nothing is ever to much trouble for the very friendly welcoming staff, we cannot praise the curry inn high enough, but you must book especially fridays and saturdays. If you want a great meal go to the Curry Inn.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kevin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jubair Z, General Manager at Curry Inn 84, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Upon this opportunity we would like to cordially thank you for your very positive feedback about your recent visit at Curry Inn. We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and it was a delight to host you. We cannot express enough our utmost gratitude and appreciation for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. It would be a great pleasure to host you again.

Kind regards from Curry Inn,
Jubair Zaman and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curry Inn 84 also viewed

 

Been to Curry Inn 84? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing