We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and comfortable but let down by restaurant”
Review of The Richard Onslow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Richard Onslow
Ranked #1 of 2 Cranleigh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly and comfortable but let down by restaurant”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We were given a warm welcome and the the friendliness of the staff continued throughout out stay. Our room was spacious and comfortable and offered all the facilities we required.
What let our experience down so much was the restaurant - evening dinner and breakfast. The bread served at dinner had to be sent back and the pasta served as a main course was near cold. At breakfast a simple option of granola, yogurt with red berries was not available and an English Breakfast that was ordered was bought to the table before the previous course was finished. And to add to these frustrations the waiting staff were not attentive.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnD200000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Onslow, Manager at The Richard Onslow, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Hi John
I am sorry about the shortcomings you encountered during your recent visit to The Onslow. I feel I need to investigate these in more details. Please can you e mail ben.fisher@peachpubs.com so I can look into in more detail
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    84
    37
    19
    6
See reviews for
59
101
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed on a Monday night so the place was fairly quiet. We received a warm welcome from friendly and attentive staff. Nice comfy bar area with good service. Room was spacious and clean with a nice large bathroom. It was gourmet burger night in the restaurant and we both tried the specials which were very tasty.

Full English Breakfast was served nice and hot and was just like home cooked with excellent poached eggs. The portions were not huge but ample for us and anyone with a normal appetite. For the extra hungry there was ample cereal and pastries/ toast to fill up on.

A very nice pub with rooms in a nice village with some lovely shops. Especially the very deceptive store a few doors along. We would definitely like to return and definitely recommend this establishment to others. After checking out the hotel called to say I he'd left my toilet bag. We were too far away to return and they immediately offered to post it to me at no charge for which I was very grateful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANdyandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Onslow, Manager at The Richard Onslow, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Hi Andy,

Thank you for your kind words and we are happy that you enjoyed our weekly Gourmet Burger night and our breakfast as well, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Onslow again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Staff exceptional room spotless nothing is a problem to the staff food and bar excellent have stayed before and it's as good this year would highly recommend will use again without any question very large bed and fresh supply bottled water every day

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank M3evodakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Onslow, Manager at The Richard Onslow, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thanks for the kind review, the I have let the staff know your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Stayed in room number 1 which is down a narrow corridor and steep steps. The hotel is a half timbered structure and on entering the room there are than a couple of steps up to the bedroom however the top of the door is only at chest height so remember to duck.
The bedroom had an docking station/radio and kettle. The corner of the room was framed in glass and behind the wattle and dorb is exposed. (Visitors from the new world love this kind of thing). The bathroom was almost as large as the bedroom and had a separate shower and roll top bath.
In the centre of Cranleigh this is a great place to stay which is full of character. The pub servers real beer and great food with attentive staff. The only minor negative is that it is very difficult to find a parking space.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pkpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Onslow, Manager at The Richard Onslow, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of The Richard Onslow and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay, we do have very limited parking, if you are staying again and have trouble finding a space then please let us know so that we can find one for you

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

*sigh* I'm reluctant to say anything good or bad about it, because it's simply not my type of place, I've never liked these "almost hotels". What can I say, If you have a sense of humor, stay in room 7! Especially if you are a couple. You'll remember it for a long time!

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank FlyingSaucepan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Onslow, Manager at The Richard Onslow, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Hi

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to The Onslow. We would prefer to think of ourselves as a Gastropub with rooms as opposed to a "nearly hotel" or even a hotel. Room 7 is our smallest room, which is why offer reduced rates from the rest of the pub

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I have stayed here twice. It is a large pub/restaurant with rooms in both the main building and an annex. Both the rooms I have had were large and well decorated. The overall standard is good and the staff are pleasant. I will continue to stay here. The breakfast was good. We also ate a light lunch outside which was very pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert_hsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Onslow, Manager at The Richard Onslow, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Hi Robert,

Many thanks for your kind words regarding your recent stay at The Onslow, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2014

A pleasant & busy pub with helpful staff, where I would stay again. However it was let down by a number of quirks. The rooms were clean and tidy but have been designed more for appearance than guest comfort (see below). Cannot comment on the food as the breakfast of scrambled eggs on burnt toast without even a scrape of butter served on our first morning deterred us from further investigation.

We stayed in room 6 was at the top of the pub and relatively quiet - even on a Saturday night. The bedroom was an odd combination of undersized beds and an oversized armchair squeezed into a corner. The beds were tiny, more reminiscent of a plank or coffin - woe betide anyone of a larger frame or build. The discomfort only heightened by the meanest of duvets that only fitted where they touched.

The bathroom was a large pleasant room with a nice shower; oddly for the size of room the only storage for toiletries was provided by a small shelf. A large unfrosted window let lots of light in but rather bizarrely had no curtain. Thus, although the view of the window was obscured by the roof, it left you feeling rather exposed and on a sunny morning generated an effect similar to snow blindness when entering from a darkened bedroom.

A friend stayed in room 2 which was a large pleasant room (oddly without an armchair). It was only noisy on Saturday night and then wasn't unbearable - only to be expected when staying in a pub.

Room Tip: Room six is a nice quiet room but do yourself a favour - avoid the twin beds unless you are blessed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globalartichoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Onslow, Manager at The Richard Onslow, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Hi
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of us online. I apologise for the shortcomings with breakfast and have spoken with our Breakfast Chef about these.
We have tried to make each individual room as comfortable as possible for our guests and many of our rooms we can twin up if needed (standard practice for many Bed & Breakfasts) Unfortunately due to the age of the building and planning restrictions making changes to windows etc. can be very difficult.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranleigh
4.4 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
4.4 mi away
Gatton Manor
Gatton Manor
#4 of 8 in Dorking
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
5.9 mi away
Premier Inn Godalming Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#6 of 11 in Guildford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
6.0 mi away
Godalming Hotel
Godalming Hotel
#3 of 4 in Godalming
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
6.6 mi away
Manor House Hotel & Spa
Manor House Hotel & Spa
#11 of 11 in Guildford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richard Onslow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richard Onslow

Property: The Richard Onslow
Address: 113-117 High Street, Cranleigh GU6 8AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Cranleigh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cranleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have ten lovely en suite bedrooms with all the little comforts you’d find at home. Each one’s newly refurbished, and simply but stylishly decorated in keeping with the pub’s age, making the most of original fireplaces, ancient beams & low doorways. Some rooms overlook the hustle and bustle of the high street, others have a view over our sunny patio hidden away at the back of the pub. We have doubles with king-size beds, twins and family rooms. There’s even a box room if you just want somewhere cosy to hole up for the night, plus a fully accessible double room on the ground floor. All of them have really comfy beds, great linen, power showers and lovely toiletries, as well as mod cons like flat-screen TV with Freeview, free WiFi and tea & coffee-making equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Richard Onslow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Richard Onslow Cranleigh, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing