We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal”
Review of The Richard Onslow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Richard Onslow
Ranked #1 of 2 Cranleigh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Been here a few times over the last couple of years and the food has been consistently good. It certainly isn't the cheapest place I have reviewed but the adage that get what you pay for is true here. Service was prompt without being oppressive. My only critisism is that when full the noise seems to be amplified inside and you can't hear yourself think! Our last outing here was on a Tuesday and so this was not an issue. As my brother would say, "I would be happy to drive there"!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    84
    38
    20
    6
See reviews for
60
101
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is our local pub and we have been there a great deal.

Service is extremely patchy. In fact we walked out recently for this reason.

A slightly grubby appearance, with smokers and the odd brown paper bag drinker hanging about the tables outside the restaurant on the street, is off-putting.

Sunday lunches can be good as long as the staff are in attentive mood. If they are not you can end up frustrated at trying to get their attention.

John, who owns and runs it is complacent and unaware that his palce as not as good as he thinks it is.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Well equipped room and lovely decoration of the accomodation.Everything clean and comfortable and 2 excellent nights of sleep in a large comfortable bed.Although only a small thing the biscuits with you tea making facilities is still a nice touch forgotten by so many places now.My only suggestion to the owner would be to get a larger TV for room 5 as from the bed at the back of the room the tv which is above the fire place is too small but i would still recommend this place to anyone visiting the area.

Room Tip: No problems with Room 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gardy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed here for one night when attending a wedding. Really appreciated getting early check-in so we could get ready. The room (2) was designed to a great standard, really loved the tartan carpet in the hallway and curtains in the room. Didn't hear a thing from the bar downstairs or the people sitting outside. Had to wait over 30 mins for a cooked breakfast seemed a bit strange when it wasn't very busy so not sure how long you would wait for a regular bar/restaurant meal. Lovely window boxes which sadly got caught in the window when we closed it-sorry.

Room Tip: If you have hay fever, the rooms at the rear don't have the lovely window boxes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madmac77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This is a great character B&B for a romantic weekend. It is also a busy village pub, so you are in the thick of Cranleigh nightlife :-) I loved our room, I think it was number 1, it was in an old annexe with lots of character, a massive bathroom, with a beam across the door that was at about chest height which made me laugh. It was noisy from the pub downstairs, but then, that didn't matter because we were down there the whole evening as well! The window is really small, some people may find this claustrophobic, and the heating in the bathroom was not exactly tropical. The restaurant is very nice, and breakfast very good. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Wifi was crap, but hey, you are not there to work. Cranleigh is nice, but average age of inhabitants must be around 70. We had lovely walks in the surrounding countryside, the landscape is stunning.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redcar2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, Manager at The Richard Onslow, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Redcar2606

Thanks very much for your kind review. We are all really pleased that you had a great stay. We also have rooms in our annex which are very quiet in the evenings for your next stay. Looking forwar dto seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The very cordial and efficient welcome we received set the tone for our stay. All the staff were friendly. Even the poor woman who had to cope on her own, for a while, in the very busy restaurant serving Sunday breakfasts managed to remain calm and helpful.
Although this is a pub it is surprisingly quiet upstairs where the 10 bedrooms are (at least it was during the three nights of my stay). The rooms are furnished to a very high spec in contemporary colours and patterns. Our room (5) had a sofa and very cosy armchair.
Shower room was a good size (if I have a small niggle it would be the size of the shower cubicle. It could have been almost twice the size given the amount of space available)
Breakfasts were excellent with a wide choice of, mostly, locally sourced produce.
The hotel that we normally use, when we visit family in this region, was full. Therefore I had to find somewhere else to stay. I am so pleased that this happened as I would not have discovered this delightful place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldtravellers4549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, Manager at The Richard Onslow, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear guest

Thanks so much for your kind feedback and we are also very pleased that you found us. We're delighted you enjoyed the room and the restaurant and we're looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed here with my wife to go to a wedding. The room and breakfast were both excellent and at a more than reasonable price.
Also of note was the excellent service we received, both upon early check in (so we could get changed) and the next morning when there were no taxis for 1.5 hours. The manager organised for one of the members of staff to drive us the 9 miles to where I had left the car at the wedding venue the night before. A lovely lady who refused any contribution for petrol (thanks again) drove us and was genuinely happy to help.
You really can not fault service like that.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marv234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, Manager at The Richard Onslow, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thanks very much for your kind feedback. We are really pleased we could reunite you with your car in the morning. We all hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranleigh
4.4 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
443 reviews
6.3 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
95 reviews
4.4 mi away
Gatton Manor
Gatton Manor
#4 of 8 in Dorking
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
570 reviews
8.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#3 of 11 in Guildford
692 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hurtwood Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richard Onslow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richard Onslow

Property: The Richard Onslow
Address: 113-117 High Street, Cranleigh GU6 8AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Cranleigh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cranleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have ten lovely en suite bedrooms with all the little comforts you’d find at home. Each one’s newly refurbished, and simply but stylishly decorated in keeping with the pub’s age, making the most of original fireplaces, ancient beams & low doorways. Some rooms overlook the hustle and bustle of the high street, others have a view over our sunny patio hidden away at the back of the pub. We have doubles with king-size beds, twins and family rooms. There’s even a box room if you just want somewhere cosy to hole up for the night, plus a fully accessible double room on the ground floor. All of them have really comfy beds, great linen, power showers and lovely toiletries, as well as mod cons like flat-screen TV with Freeview, free WiFi and tea & coffee-making equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Richard Onslow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Richard Onslow Cranleigh, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing