We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“300 steps up and down, but worth it!”
Review of Tinago Falls

Tinago Falls
Ranked #1 of 23 things to do in Iligan
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“300 steps up and down, but worth it!”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

These falls are just beautiful. It is quite the climb/descend with the 300 steps, but it is doable if you're just careful and don't rush it.

You can actually swim here! So bring your swimming clothes. Beware though; swimming clothes here does NOT mean a bikini! I was almost going to wear mine until my Filippino friends told me not to. You just wear a t-shirt and shorts or something. So just bring an extra set of dry clothes.

Swimming here is highly recommended, it's fun and it's safe, the water is really nice and also you can do the floating wood thing that brings you all the way to the waterfall itself.

Make sure to get back BEFORE it starts getting dark, because darkness falls really quicly. We were getting out of the water at 16.00 and it was almost a bit too late.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank AnoukAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    31
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
195 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 526 helpful votes
“A very nice Fall”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

There is a stand that collect a donation to maintain the Falls. You just need to deposit some money into it.

There will be people offering you to be your guide but you actually do not need one. Just follow the path and you will see a flight of stairs that will lead you down.

The path going down is not an easy one, especially with a big haversack.

Some of the steps are quite steep and high. Some of them are so narrow that you have to balance yourself very well to make it down. There are also tree branches that falls down across the path.

The last 50m of the stairs are very slippery. So please be alert and the handrails of the stairs do not help because they are crawling with ants!

Finally I made my final descend and the majestic Tinago Falls is in front of me.

I was actually very impressed. It actually exceeded my expectation. I actually expect a medium size falls like Pagsanjan Falls but Tinago Falls is bigger than that. The water droplets from the Falls is flying in all directions making my camera and bag wet in no time.

It is very refreshing. I just stood there, listen to the roar of the falls. Visitors are having a good time and there is a broken bridge that leads to the other side of the falls.

It is a fall defiitely worth visiting.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank mousehunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

After taking a few hundred winding, steep steps down we finally made it and wow it was so beautiful. To some people going up the steps might be hard and will get you out of breathe. If you have older people with you I don't suggest them going down to see the falls or else you might end up carrying them with you! But it's definitely worth seeing. The entrance/tour guide fee is really up to you. Even though they started demanding certain amount of pesos. Also they might charge parking as well!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Karyl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Beauty at its finest”
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

This is one place in Iligan City that you must visit. It is truly remarkable and serene. The waterfall is worth coming to see. To get there is a quite easy. To get to the water fall itself requires a steep decent via a crude stairway that can be taxing to the body and at times dangerous. There are something like 300 steps downward and the trek back up can be exhausting. Yet the effort once at the fall is worth it.

Helpful?
3 Thank PetePM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taguig City, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“It suit its name~”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I love the course of the falls and the falls itself! I was like WOW WOW WOW while going down the stairs. The water is so clear and the places is shady- good for picnic. There's also a shallow place for people who do not know how to swim. One can jump from the top of the falls if you're brave enough.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank anne_rainne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tinago Falls also viewed

Iligan, Lanao del Norte Province
Bislig, Surigao del Sur Province
 
Iligan, Lanao del Norte Province
Iligan, Lanao del Norte Province
 

Been to Tinago Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing