We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent views, at a price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cocobana Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cocobana Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Malapascua Island
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent views, at a price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2009

We stayed in a Super-Deluxe room for three nights (P2800; £41 a night). The rooms are very large and clean, and the best thing about our room was the view that we had from the balcony – ask to be on the first floor to make sure you get the view. The service is pretty good and the food is OK. Compared to other places we stayed at in the Philippines, this place is pretty expensive, but the view is worth it.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fieldsendchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    44
    28
    5
    5
See reviews for
15
34
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2009

If you're going to Malapascua, this is one the best hotel to stay at, lovely room with some with ocean views, AC, Clean, it was a wonderful stay, and what made it more special was the welcoming of it's owner Freddy, what a great guy, it was like staying with relatives, very helpful

  • Liked — Beautiful rooms, Friendly
  • Disliked — no internet
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank yowmartin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2008

The COCOBANA has the largest area among the resorts in Bounty beach. I practically walked the whole Bounty beach and i have to say that based on the outside structure, Cocobana is the most acceptable and it's CLEAN. That's the most important criteria for me.

Just make it clear if your rate includes breakfast or not. Ours did not include breakfast when the resort confirmed to us, but when we looked at the brochure, it said "breakfast included".

The rates are also reasonable. The restaurant is also ok but please don't expect them to have everything in the menu. Contrary to our expectations, there were were no fish in most of the restaurants. That's the only island I know who does not serve fresh fish!!

We got a Super-Deluxe aircon room which had 2 queen size beds and we only paid P3200 for 3 people (around $70 U.S). It has also complied with the 20 meter setback from the beach area.

The hotel arranges land and boat transportation for a fee, BUT a practical way of going there is by Ceres bus (please check the schedules) going to Maya wharf in Daanbantayan. And then take a public pumpboat to Malapascua (P40.00) (around 30mins by boat). Cocobana is just walking distance from the dock point ... When you go home however, please make sure that there is a public boat going back to Maya wharf. They tell you that they have a boat every 30mins, but that's not true, the boat usually leaves when they have enough passengers,so they don't have an exact schedule.

The sand in Malapascua is really white and fine, similar to Boracay. We have found an area near Bantigue cove that's really sugary white but it's not yet developed and not yet very clean since a lot of fishermen live nearby ... But it has great potential.

  • Liked — value for money and location
  • Disliked — brackish water
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank aislinnag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
95 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2008

Cocobana Beach resort was our first real stop in the Philippines, except for one night near Cebu airport, and it was a very nice experience.

We were 2 families with totally 3 children, aged 3-6, who stayed in the newly built super-de-luxe villa at the Cocobana Beach Resort for 8 nights in the beginning of March 2008.

The villa has 2 stories and we had especially asked for the ground floor and it was great for the kids, who could run down to the beach in seconds.
The rooms are also equipped with tv, aircon. refrigerator and hot & cold water and very spacious, and we paid 2800 pesos per night incl. breakfast.

Cocobana is placed in the centre of Bounty Beach and they also have cheaper types of accomodation, like different kind of bungalows starting from 1200 pesos per night and another 2 story super-de-luxe villa which is not
facing the beach directly.

The food at Cocobana was good and reasonably cheap, but if you wish to have a cheaper meal, you can go to Ging-Ging, which is placed just behind Cocobana. The best food on the island might be served on a restaurant called Isla Bonita, also located behind Cocobana, but it took almost 1,5 hours to get the first course, and when you have 3 hungry small children, it's not really acceptable, so we only went there once.

The beaches are nice, but look out for the small corrals and the sea urchins (I stepped on one and I had to pee on my foot for a few days, and it actually helped).

The tourists on Malapascua, seem to be mostly divers and they all come to see the famous Thresher Shark, but it's OK just to enjoy the beaches, the sea and the sun, like we did.

It was our first trip to the Philuippines, but we have been many times to Thailand and in general, I think that the beaches are more or less the same, the food and the accommodation is somewhat more expensive in the Philippines, but the beer is much cheaper……….

  • Liked — The location directly on the beach and the villa we stayed in
  • Disliked — I don't have any complaints
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Bass63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
430 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2007

I have to start this review by saying that Malapascua is not a 5* Island, but a great destination for divers. The Cocobana Beach Resort is perfectly placed in the middle of Bounty Beach and consists of 23 cottages some on the sea front and some behind. The cottages vary from basic rooms with a fan to superior rooms with a/c and satellite tv and everything in between.

The rooms are basic but clean, and a decent size with nice balconies that you can spend time just sitting on and watching the world go by. However, as we were there for the diving, we didn't spend much time in our room.

The hotel has a small bar and restaurant based in the centre of the hotel on the beach. The food is OK and the beer is cold. It is however worth remembering that Malapascua is quite a small island and that there are a number of other eating options that are all within a couple of minutes walk.

Being centrally placed means that there are a number of dive centres within a couple of minutes walk, all providing great diving at Gato Island and of course on Monad Shoal where if you are lucky you may get to see the Thresher Shark.

There are plenty of other places to stay on Malapascua. Cocobana is not the best, and from what we saw is not the worst. Personally, I think $50 per night for a sea view a/c cottage with breakfast is good value. There is cheaper, and there is more expensive.

Overall, the Cocobana gave us a really nice room to stay in, with great ocean views. We were only minutes away from a variety of restaurants and dive centres. From what I saw, if I went back this is where I would stay again as it fits in my 'value for money' category.

  • Liked — Central location
  • Disliked — Nothing really!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheScubaDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malapascua Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#5 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hippocampus Beach Resort
Hippocampus Beach Resort
#6 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malapascua Legend
Malapascua Legend
#10 of 13 in Malapascua Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocobana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobana Beach Resort

Property: Cocobana Beach Resort
Address: Bounty Beach | Barangay Logon, Daan-Bantayan, PI-6013, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Malapascua Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cocobana Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 348
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Cocobana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bounty Beach Cocobana Hotel Malapascua Island
Cocobana Beach Resort Malapascua Island, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing