We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cocobana Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Mangrove Oriental Resort(Malapascua Island)
$44
$33
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$70
$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Slam's Garden Resort(Malapascua Island)(Great Value!)
$29
$22
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Tepanee Beach Resort(Malapascua Island)
$68
$66
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
$65
$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Hippocampus Beach Resort(Malapascua Island)
$63
$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Celtis Resort(Malapascua Island)(Great Value!)
$31
$25
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Malapascua Legend(Malapascua Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveler rating
13
54
34
5
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
54
34
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice beachfrontseconds walkair conreception areaging gingsuper deluxe roomsinternet connectionper nightenjoyed my staybeach chairsgarden viewdouble bedgreat place to staythree nightswater pressuresmall islandother places
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 114 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Cocobana is a nice little hotel with a wide range or rooms to suit all budgets. We had a partial view fan room which was ok, the only thing was it was right next to the hotel next door's kitchen so at 6.30am we could hear them thrashing pots and pans.

The restaurant has had an overhaul, it has a great view from the 2nd floor. Pity the food isn't any good. We had 1 breakfast and 1 lunch there but it wasn't good value or very nice food. For the best food on the island, go off the beach. La Isla Bonita has the best food in our opinion, we ate there most nights. If you want to splash out, go to Angelina's for the best Italian food...awesome. Don't bother treating to yourself to a happy hour cocktail at Sunsplash Resort - theres no alcohol in them, they're just a sugary brightly coloured concoction.

Malapascua has a beautiful beach and the water is fantastically clear. Definitely worth the 4 hour bus and 1 hour boat ride from Cebu

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raydi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Unfortunatelly, we never made it to Cocobana beach resort. We booked room via phone and we arranged airport pick-up from Mactan airport to Maya. Everything was going nicely. Then driver asked us if we want to use their private bangka for 1000 PHP and proceed directly to Malapascua or we want to use regular bangka for 50 PHP/pax. According to the driver, maybe we would need to wait for an hour until regular bangka is full and will start journey to Malapascua. As we were very tired (woke up at 2 AM), we decided to take private bangka and that's when fun started.
Due to low tide, only way to reach bangka is by small boats.
Once we climbed onboard bangka, Captain went down without any word of explanation. We were waiting for about 10 minutes and then we started asking other sailor what's going on. He didn't speak English and he couldn't help us. So we continued waiting, and at the end we were waiting for 45 minutes before the Captain came back.
In the meantime 3 regular bangkas left towards Malapascua.
We decided not to continue our trip with this bangka and we wanted to go off and use regular bangka, but Captain was demanding money for the fuel and in one moment he was even saying to another guy:"Give me my gun!". Meanwhile, i was talking to the girl from the reception, but she was also saying that I need to pay and come to Cocobana.
So, at the end we paid 800 PHP to the Captain, we went on another bangka, came to Malapascua and found nice and cheap accommodation at Purple Snapper resort and we never came to Cocobana.
We were passing by every day, but we've never entered to Cocobana. It looks ok, probably service, cleanliness and everything else is not too bad. However, I wouldn't recommend this to anyone due to the fact that their Captain is threatening to the people and treating people badly.
Now, we can't wait to go back to Malapascua, but luckily we don't need to deal with Cocobana at all.
Malapascua island is paradise, especially for divers and there is lot of nice people and we are happy that that first impression didn't ruin our experience of Malapascua.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank MladenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2010

Booked a beachfront super deluxe room (3000p). The room is very large – 19’x19’ not including the large bathroom and patio. The room comes with AC, a fridge, table and chairs, desk/makeup table, 21” satellite TV, 2 queen sized beds and sofa (the newer units only have double beds and no sofa). The bathroom has excellent hot water in the sink and shower, though the shower is not enclosed. As elsewhere on the island the water has a high salt content.

The restaurant food is just average. Breakfast is not included and brewed coffee is extra.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank driftdiver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We took the rooms without seaview but the rooms are clean and big. Overall the rooms are quite good except its a bit dim even with the lights on.
The water pressure was not strong and sometime there are no water when you turn on the tap or shower.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diver7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

I have traveled extensively in the Philippines and my stay at Cocobana was one of the worst experiences I have had while in PI. Regarding the advertised amenities: the shower had no pressure, the water had no hot, the AC had no cold air, and the staff had no warmth. In fact, they were down right rude every time we approached them, which was surprising as we stayed during low season and were practically the only people at the "resort". To top it off, they charged us twice for our banca ride from Cebu and would not let us leave the premises until we paid for the ride a second time... if you like uncomfortable accomodations, lousy service, bad attitudes and being extorted, then this may be the place for you.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
2  Thank cuzinpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews