We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cocobana Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Malapascua Island
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Unfortunatelly, we never made it to Cocobana beach resort. We booked room via phone and we arranged airport pick-up from Mactan airport to Maya. Everything was going nicely. Then driver asked us if we want to use their private bangka for 1000 PHP and proceed directly to Malapascua or we want to use regular bangka for 50 PHP/pax. According to the driver, maybe we would need to wait for an hour until regular bangka is full and will start journey to Malapascua. As we were very tired (woke up at 2 AM), we decided to take private bangka and that's when fun started.
Due to low tide, only way to reach bangka is by small boats.
Once we climbed onboard bangka, Captain went down without any word of explanation. We were waiting for about 10 minutes and then we started asking other sailor what's going on. He didn't speak English and he couldn't help us. So we continued waiting, and at the end we were waiting for 45 minutes before the Captain came back.
In the meantime 3 regular bangkas left towards Malapascua.
We decided not to continue our trip with this bangka and we wanted to go off and use regular bangka, but Captain was demanding money for the fuel and in one moment he was even saying to another guy:"Give me my gun!". Meanwhile, i was talking to the girl from the reception, but she was also saying that I need to pay and come to Cocobana.
So, at the end we paid 800 PHP to the Captain, we went on another bangka, came to Malapascua and found nice and cheap accommodation at Purple Snapper resort and we never came to Cocobana.
We were passing by every day, but we've never entered to Cocobana. It looks ok, probably service, cleanliness and everything else is not too bad. However, I wouldn't recommend this to anyone due to the fact that their Captain is threatening to the people and treating people badly.
Now, we can't wait to go back to Malapascua, but luckily we don't need to deal with Cocobana at all.
Malapascua island is paradise, especially for divers and there is lot of nice people and we are happy that that first impression didn't ruin our experience of Malapascua.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank MladenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 104 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2010

Booked a beachfront super deluxe room (3000p). The room is very large – 19’x19’ not including the large bathroom and patio. The room comes with AC, a fridge, table and chairs, desk/makeup table, 21” satellite TV, 2 queen sized beds and sofa (the newer units only have double beds and no sofa). The bathroom has excellent hot water in the sink and shower, though the shower is not enclosed. As elsewhere on the island the water has a high salt content.

The restaurant food is just average. Breakfast is not included and brewed coffee is extra.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank driftdiver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We took the rooms without seaview but the rooms are clean and big. Overall the rooms are quite good except its a bit dim even with the lights on.
The water pressure was not strong and sometime there are no water when you turn on the tap or shower.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diver7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

I have traveled extensively in the Philippines and my stay at Cocobana was one of the worst experiences I have had while in PI. Regarding the advertised amenities: the shower had no pressure, the water had no hot, the AC had no cold air, and the staff had no warmth. In fact, they were down right rude every time we approached them, which was surprising as we stayed during low season and were practically the only people at the "resort". To top it off, they charged us twice for our banca ride from Cebu and would not let us leave the premises until we paid for the ride a second time... if you like uncomfortable accomodations, lousy service, bad attitudes and being extorted, then this may be the place for you.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
2  Thank cuzinpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2010

There were 8 of us so We got two of their most expensive rooms. Considering that they have the priciest rates in the whole island, we expected to be pampered and served according to our money's worth.

Things started to go downhill after we settled in.

1. It took almost an hour for room service to deliver our food. And we were famished after the looong trip.

2. They charged P10 for half a glass of ice. And what a tiny, tiny glass. (Ice is free on the island's other resorts and restos.)

3. And to think the drinks they served were not even COLD.

4. Their hot water is P5 per cup.

5. When we requested room service for breakfast the next day, we were told that they were too busy and that we should just go down to their restaurant and eat there.

6. Complimentary late check out was a no-no. We need to pay an additional P200 per room per excess hour.

7. Well, we only had an excess of 30mins. Problem solved! Just pay P100 per room.

8. To cap off all these pleasantries, a giant centipede, the length of a spoon, was crawling all over the bathroom.

9. They weren't even apologetic about it. Maybe a huge centipede is a common staple in every room there. Yikes.

The rest of Malapascua is paradise filled with courteous, gracious people. (especially the Maldito, Mabuhay and Sunsplash people) It's too bad that a piece of hell is protruding along the shore of the island, deceptively called CocoBana.

Would I recommend this resort to anybody? Well only to someone I really, really, really hate.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank taratats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

Hi, we stayed in the room B close the front of the beach. The view from the terrace was great, but unfortunately the hotel is oldest on the islands and seems to attract travellers too much (because of LonelyPlanet etc). The was continuous flow of westeners going from pier to this resort.

The standard room price was around 3200pesos, which didn't include breakfest even it was mentioned in the refered guidebook. So the low season price due that will anyway be close to the high season rate where as I guess normally breakfest will be included. Service was ok and the facilities as well, but the most annoying thing in this hotel are all kinds of hawkers who are keeping their camp in the front of the hotel. So in case you want to have some privacy on this really nice island I propose you head to some other resorts more on eastern side of the island.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2009

We stayed in a Super-Deluxe room for three nights (P2800; £41 a night). The rooms are very large and clean, and the best thing about our room was the view that we had from the balcony – ask to be on the first floor to make sure you get the view. The service is pretty good and the food is OK. Compared to other places we stayed at in the Philippines, this place is pretty expensive, but the view is worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fieldsendchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malapascua Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
547 reviews
0.1 mi away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#4 of 13 in Malapascua Island
244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Malapascua Island
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malapascua Legend
Malapascua Legend
#10 of 13 in Malapascua Island
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hippocampus Beach Resort
Hippocampus Beach Resort
#6 of 13 in Malapascua Island
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocobana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobana Beach Resort

Address: Bounty Beach | Barangay Logon, Daan-Bantayan, PI-6013, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Malapascua Island
Price Range: $41 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cocobana Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 348
Also Known As:
Bounty Beach Cocobana Hotel Malapascua Island
Cocobana Beach Resort Malapascua Island, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing