We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hippocampus Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Malapascua Legend(Malapascua Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Buena Vida Resort & Spa(Malapascua Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cocobana Beach Resort(Malapascua Island)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Celtis Resort(Malapascua Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Slam's Garden Resort(Malapascua Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Tepanee Beach Resort(Malapascua Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Mangrove Oriental Resort(Malapascua Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveler rating
89
55
27
14
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
55
27
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach resortdive shopthe ownernew chefawesome locationpork chopbeach frontsuperior roomrooms are cleanhot showera lovely staywarm hospitalitywelcome drinkshort stayspent nights herediving tripocean view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 194 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2012

we stayed here for 3d/2n...the room is clean and cozy...nothing fancy about the place but just right for relaxation.... the food is great although the service is quite slow... Malapascua is a must-see and must-visit place if you are looking for tranquility and closeness to nature.... what surprised us a lot is that we were able to see a 'baby' thresher shark along the shore of bantugue even though we didn't go diving!!!!..:) talk about luck!!!! hahaha!!!!! Also, during our stay, we seem to be the only locals there (besides the local villagers, of course)...Great stay in malapascua..:)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rona_len
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Malapascua is a little heaven if you like diving. It is not too busy, and there are quite a few restaurants. If you arrive from Maya you don't really expect to find nice Italian restaurants, smooth bars and great dive shops. We stayed in Hippocampus beach resort. The organisation was quite lame at the time we were there, but we heard the owner was in Germany at the time we were there. So the first two days we had to wait rather long for our food, the food was perfect though. Also the rest of the service was ok, but everything took long, we waited for the total bill of our stay for a few hours. This should be changed, also if the owner one should expect that this process is well done!

But all in all we had a great stay, room was good so was the food, the partner dive shop, Sea Quest, was really excellent. One of the best dive schools we ever dove with! Fantastic service, great guides and brand new equipment!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jan-WillemMalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

The rooms are nice and clean, but the German owner of this place has some mental problems. He almost freaked when we told him after one night that we would move to his neighbour (who had offered us a better deal), demanded a higher price than was agreed on and just continued muttering curses.

When a non-guest was sitting on one of the beach chairs, he went and asked if the guy would order any drink. As the other declined he just THREW HIM OFF THE CHAIR!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Living in busy HongKong we felt to need a break and traveled to Malapascua Island in the Philippines. The island is small, quiet without any traffic and has a very nice beach, just what we were looking for. We stayed at Hippocampus Resort in a deluxe room and that made our holiday almost perfect. The room had no TV (which we did not miss), but had everything else you would expect plus a fantastic location right on the beach and a very nice view from our balcony. Cleanliness is good, staff friendly and food excellent.
We had a couple of dives (which seems to be the main activity on the island) and were fortunate enough to encounter half a dozen of devil rays and even two thresher sharks circling around us for several minutes, great experience! Time ran all too fast, but we hope to return soon.
Laura and Richard, HongKong

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
3  Thank pandahk22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Arriving in Maya port already at night, we were happy to get a private boat transfer from Hippocampus, where we were booked. The staff welcomed us very lovely and kind. Our rooms were prepared, so that we just had to walk in and relax. We stayed in a superior room, with aircon, hot shower and fridge. The room is reasonably sized and it has a very nice veranda with roof, which can be used during the heat of the day and even a rain shower. Room and bath were clean and the bed very comfortable. There is a beautiful restaurant with an old calesa, a wonderful view and superb food. We also enjoyed very much the chill out corner and the cosy bar which has the shape of an old ship.
Just beside the resort there is a Sea Quest Dive Center, so we decided to make an openwater diving course. and it was really worth it. The underwater world around Malapascua is amazing. We even saw sharks in Gato, mantas and sharks again in Monad and a lot of smaller fish in Lighthouse and Chocolate island. Dive locations are anything from 5 min to 45 minutes by boat.
Hippocampus is located at the island´s most beautiful beach, the Bounty Beach. A number of trees and palm trees in front of the hotel provide much needed shadow and swimming/snorkeling just in front of the resort is very good at high tide. So this place is also suitable for non-divers!
Summary: fantastic stay, very recommendable!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank suela2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews