We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find”
Review of Bakau Kiwi

Bakau Kiwi
Restaurant details
Doncaster
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just behind the local school, we came across this place on one of our walks around the island. Gemma is a lovely lively lady. She cooks with heart & passion and her portions are huge. This was the cheapest food we came across during our 12 days on the island and I have to say probably the best. We ate here several times. You do have to wait a long time to get your food as she cooks every thing from order, so if she has a few guests in be prepared to wait a while to be served.The Chicken curry is amazing & the spring rolls are the biggest I've ever seen!! You don' need a starter & a main here. Just a main will do!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CarterFamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    12
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salalah, Oman
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Best food on Malapascua!!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The food here is the best we ate in the whole of our 3 weeks in the Philippines. Excellent home-cooking. Loved the pumpkin/coconut soup and generally very happy to find wholesome vegetarian options (along of course with all the usual meat dishes you'd expect). Very cheap. Incredible value! Tastiest pancit canton we had. Everything there was fantastic! Can't rate highly enough. Also, the owner Gemma is just lovely and treated us like friends rather than customers! Only thing to beware of is that this is more or less a one-man band so you can sometimes wait a long time for your food (1hr plus). Best to order in advance or just be aware and take a book to read in the garden while you wait!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anokhi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent local food - great value - friendly local experience”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The owner of this tiny restaurant, Gemma, is a wonderful lady who really knows how to cook! She learnt some local and foreign recipes. The food is excellent value, much better quality than the tourist food out on the beach.

The restaurant has great character and it's a great way to experience the local life. Sometimes locals join for karaoke or gatherings.

Only reason I gave four stars is because the restaurant is not along the main beach - otherwise, it comes highly recommended.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Yeti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naklo, Bohinj, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bakau Kiwi”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Wery friendly owner and the best food ewer !!!!
I hope i go again soon !!!
We ordered one day before what we would like to eat and they prepare us deliciouse dinner.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FrenkKramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tianjin, China
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hidden gem”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The food at this place is definitely delicious. The only minus point is that you might need to wait a while for your food because the owner makes everything fresh. We ate there twice and both days different dishes, cheap and so tasty

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank EdwinPfeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bakau Kiwi also viewed

Malapascua Island, Cebu Island
 
Malapascua Island, Cebu Island
 

Been to Bakau Kiwi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing