We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding value and a nice private beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Sand Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malapascua Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Sand Bungalows
Kalundborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding value and a nice private beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

White Sands is probably the best place we stayed during our 4 months in Asia. Quiet and laid back with an informative and very friendly staff. The spacious bungalows are like something we hoped to find but never saw anywhere else on our entire trip. Big balcony, good beds and even an extra room on the first floor. Clean and nice everywhere. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Kasper K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    19
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
25
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
366 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

There are only 3 bungalows at this place, right on the beach. They are quite simple, fan-cooled. Good size, cold water shower (but the water is hardly freezing and being a beach spot this wasn't a problem for us). Thank god for the (provided) mosquito net as you'd get quite a few bites otherwise. You get some noise from people walking past on the beach and your neighbours (if they're noisy).

Overall, I'd recommend it and would stay there again

(be aware, however, that there is considerable damage to the trees etc from the typhoon in Nov 2013, an issue all over the island - so it's not as 'scenic' as it was once)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank travla67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sakegawa-mura, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Loved my room at White Sand Bungalows. Perfectly clean and well maintained. The staff were present and helpful. Ideal location close to the main beach, good dive centers, and good restaurants. Great experience overall!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank whirlable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

If you are looking for a whiff of the pre-resort Malascua atmosphere, this is the place to go. The host family is very friendly and helpful, the location is beautiful and relatively quiet, and the bungalows are spacious and charming. The children loved it. Good value for money.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
13 Thank annabak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

White Sand was the absolute highlight of our entire stay in The Philippines! We have stayed in many different places over the years but never found anything like these bungalows. Spacious, native, charming with loads of character in a splendid garden and right on the beach. Our two kids just loved the cosy attic that provided us with an extra room upstairs. The big surprise was the big bathroom, it was like walking into a 4-star hotel bathroom! The location is perfect - only a few minutes walk from the tourist traps but in a quiet little cove with sun chairs and hammocks. Exactly the way it is supposed to be but so many times never is. The food was among the best we had in the country and definitively among the cheapest. After a few days we ended up having two meals there daily. The friendly staff was always helpful and very informative. White Sand Bungalows is the kind of place you will never forget in a good way. Our kids are still comparing other places with White Sand, it created a whole new standard with our family.

Room Tip: Maybe you should go for the bungalow called no 9. It has a different kind of window in the attic. Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

If you want to feel like you are in the philippines and not in a hotel which could be anywhere this is the place to stay! The bungalows are absolutely beautiful but very basic - the shower broke so it was buckets of water for us! With regards to cleanliness the bedding was clean and the floor was clean but had old stains, i assume that is just because of the wood used. there are mosquito nets in the rooms but if you are someone that gets bitten make sure you have insect repellent, I've never been bitten so much as on malapascua! The view from our bungalow was lovely and you get some spectacular sunsets. The boat from Maya drops you at this beach which is very handy! The price was very good at php1100 per night for three people. We only ate breakfast here but that was nice and reasonably priced. Location wise its great, just a few minutes to the nearest shops (including dive shops) and a 5-15min walk to the other beach resort with lots of restuarants and dive shops. All in all a great place to stay on malapascua.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank love_to_travel689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jönköping, Jönköpings Län, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

A perfect location for relaxing, the resort is located on the beach but on the opposite side to bounty beach which means that it is quiet and you get most of the beach to yourself. relax in a hammock or on sun beds... order drinks and shakes that are served on the beach.
Bounty beach with all the big resorts and restaurants is just a 2 minutes walk away.
The staff is friendly and the food is good and cheap. The best restaurant on malapascua is the neighbor,(Angelina - an Italian restaurant)
We highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Patrik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malapascua Island
69.2 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
69.2 mi away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
69.3 mi away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#5 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
70.2 mi away
Thresher Cove Dive Resort
Thresher Cove Dive Resort
#1 of 15 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
69.4 mi away
Malapascua Budget Inn
Malapascua Budget Inn
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sand Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sand Bungalows

Property: White Sand Bungalows
Address: Logon, 6013, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Malapascua Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Sand Bungalows is one of Malapascua's pioneer beach resorts. Still family run by local islanders under European supervision we strive to maintain the original laid back ambience of innocent palm fringed paradise. For the comfort of families and groups of friends all bungalows have a 12 square meters attic. There are a total of 40 sq. m. floor space in each of our bungalows. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Sand Bungalows Malapascua Island, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing