We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Filipino Food”
Review of Magellan's

Magellan's
Cuisines: International
Restaurant details
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Filipino Food”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

If you're craving for Filipino food and you're in Malapascua, I suggest you go here. Food is good, the restaurant is tastefully decorated, the service is great.

We even had a good chat with the owner's parents who are also vacationing there. Really nice couple. They made sure that our food is done to our liking, and they gave us a couple of pointers for our stay in Malapascua.

Only downside is that it is a bit expensive. But I'm not going to rant about it because I understand that purchase & transport to Malapascua of quality ingredients for their dishes is quite challenging.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank divainthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    7
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Avoid”
Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Food was terrible - ordered off their BBQ as recommended by the waitress. Took absolutely forever to arrive and when it did was a small portion and the BBQ pork was like eating an old boot.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GStk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Don't know about the food but I guarantee service is bad”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

It might not be fair to rate this restaurant but i just need to share my experience.

On arrival in the island, we immediately went around and we were excited to see Magellan's. We went to the bar to ask for the drinks list and 2 waitresses were just chatting their time away. They didn't seem to hear me. When I asked again, she seemed to give me a weird look and pointed to the menu which was defnitely not within my reach as it was in a counter INSIDE the bar!!! What did they expect me to do, jump over and get it!

Anyway, she eventually handed it out to me after seeing the rage in my face....we didn't feel like ordering anymore so we left.

On the way back, not realizing it was the same bar, we were so excited to see candle lit tables set out by the beach so we took a table just in time when foreigner guest was shouting out to a waitress demanding that she serve him a Coke. Another waitress came in and both waitresses were now arguing in loud voices on what to do with the order --- i think something to do with a rum coke and the guest simply had a different request on how to mix it !

When the waitress was handing out the drink list to us without even a greeting and without even looking at our direction, that's when we realized it was the same bar! We immediately took off!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tambalyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“First meal in Malapascua”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I was excited for some great seafood after the long day of traveling. I ordered the spicy prawns. Prawns were plentiful, but spicy was lacking. Turned out to be an average meal for expensive prices when compared with the rest of the island.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Snorkl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice grilled fish on the beach”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We had a lovely dinner here, the food was great. The best staff in Malapascua so far.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank underfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magellan's also viewed

Malapascua Island, Cebu Island
 
Malapascua Island, Cebu Island
 
Malapascua Island, Cebu Island
 

Been to Magellan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing