We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok place to stay”
Review of Malapascua Legend

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Malapascua Legend
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Malapascua Island
aust
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Ok place to stay”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Ok but needs some improvement in a few areas; consistency with the rooms. We all paid the same but it varied and the little things make an experience! As per previous comments we tried to eat in the restaurant and on our first night the BBQ was fantastic but the other times the food service was slow and there was a general shortage of items, water, ice, chips! We decided to eat elsewhere! It just didn't hit the mark but at the same time it's still an ok option

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vgriswald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    59
    39
    19
    15
See reviews for
32
57
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cerritos, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

A highly anticipated visit to Malapascua Island for the diving, turned out to be a bit of a disappointment. Maybe it was the recent typhoon but the corals were second or third rate and marine life sparse. The dive operation I went out with, Fun and Sun was friendly, helpful and had first rate rental gear. Their boat dives were well organized and went off smoothly. The Malapascua Legend, where my girl friend and I stayed was quite enjoyable. Right on the beach, the restaurant/bar featured simple but tasty meals, a great view of sand and sea and super friendly staff. We felt lucky the hotel's multiple wings were sparsely populated tho. When full things could get a bit 'big city' tense. A couple of pluses - they set tables up on the beach for dinner AND there was hot water in the showers.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ouli_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I'm disappointed by some of the previous reviews, which make no allowance whatsoever for the true scale of devastation that the typhoon caused to Malapascua Island. We stayed at the Legend resort in January and found the room clean and well-appointed, the staff courteous and the assistant manager an absolute star who couldn't go out of his way enough to help us (even organising an emergency private boat off the island when our flight was changed at short notice). True, the restaurant isn't enormously atmospheric and the food not that exciting (bar the breakfast which was lovely and the evening barbecue which we didn't try but were tempted by), but we were blown away by how the people of Malapascua have bounced back after the typhoon, and we had a very comfortable (hot water and air con working fine, bedroom clean) stay at the Legend resort (organised by Fun and Sun Dive). We particularly loved the super talented guy who sang every night and played guitar - better than any X Factor contestant. Get that guy signed!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bege81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfredo L, Manager at Malapascua Legend, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thanks for your feedback ma'am. It is really of great help to us. Thanks so much. Looking forward to see you again soon.


All the best,
Malapascua Legend Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We booked there just last New Year's (end of December to early January) complete with my whole clan (about 27 of us in total). Here's the skinny:

PROS
1. Rooms are excellent - large and spacious rooms with a large closet, dresser, lots of chairs, with powerful aircon units, flatsceen TVs, some rooms have refrigerators, and hot running water. There's even a balcony/veranda area where you can hang out and have an unobstructed view of the guest-only pool. Also, housekeeping is excellent! Can request for extra towels, and they clean your room everyday / by request. Even sweep the sand out of your room!
2. Pool is wonderful! Large enough to be able to do laps, kiddie pool on the side.
3. Free breakfast
4. They accept credit cards. Final Price for our stay was actually quite decent--if only their CONS weren't that many...


CONS:
1. FOOD IS TERRIBLE - I ordered a cheese burger for P240 / 5 USD and it was AWFUL. About the same quality as one of those buy 1 take 1 burgers on the side of the road in Manila--and even THOSE have better quality. The beef salpicao was terrible--it tasted nothing like beef salpicao and the beef itself was tough. Their breakfast meals were just nasty -- bacon was too much like jerky and not crispy at all, longganisa was too small, all their juices in free breakfast were the powdered instant kind. Basically, I heard nothing good from anyone about their food.
Also, it was raining/drizzling most days we were there, and they ran from the kitchen to the dining area with their plates uncovered from the rain. So all that extra spicyness came from the sand and the rain. Prices are resort prices, so be prepared for small/meager portions at higher prices.
2. No Wifi - granted the island was still recovering from the recent super storm that hit the Philippines, they did say that the resort had free Wifi. It didn't.
3. Flies, Flies everywhere. I mean it. I don't know if it's an Island thing, but the flies infestation was just INSANE. The dining are was TERRIBLE. And most of the time, the flies got into our rooms.
4. Stray Dogs - I don't mind dogs, especially the ones here since they were quite friendly. The problem is, the dogs pooped EVERYWHERE--on the beach, by the poolside, etc. And the funny thing was, I saw the pool caretaker just casually COVER the dog poop with sand. That's it. Nevermind that it's STILL THERE, and HIDDEN from view. NEXT TO THE POOL.
5. Paying via Credit Card is a PAIN - First, no American Express. Only VISA and MASTERCARD. Second, they are reliant on Satellite connectivity. So sometimes, it will take a LONG while for you to be able to get a connection and get approval for your payment. My advice? Bring cash. OR pay for everything via card in advance, so you can avoid the rush/hassle/headache of having to wait for it when you're all set to go/the boat is waiting for you to leave.
6. There WAS a jacuzzi but unfortunately, it wasn't working when we were there.


Overall, this whole Island is not really for beach outings like what my family was expecting--this place is really built as a diver's paradise. You won't be spending much time in your room, rather out in the sea, on a boat heading to a dive spot, etc. The beach itself is rocky / full of seaweed and not a great place for kids to play in. All our kids spent the entire time in the pool instead.

Room Tip: Get a room on the first floor. Easier to access, clean, and get to from the main dining area / swimm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IncognitoGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Malapascua Island hotels

Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
192 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We were at a next door resort and decided we would try to go for diner in another one.
The style and decoration style is totally tacky.
The menu is absolutely not inspiring.
My fellow followers were lucky we were there on an barbecue evening.
I didn't feel like barbecue and not being inspired by any other dish, I settled for a burger, thinking you can't reasonably get a burger wrong.
Well I had 6 fries on my plate, cold bun, cold slice of cheese stuffed in it and a burned totally horrible looking steak in it.
I ended up going back for diner to our original resort.
Service is slow and not particularly pleasant either.
Would absolutely not recommend.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexandraM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The Budget rooms were clean inside, but really worth the price. My bed had a rip in the mattress, and the very room small. Bathrooms had no hot water, and what did come out had very little pressure.

Breakfast was very adverage, and had no options for vegeterians, other than dried toast- ended up going next door to Ocean Vida to eat most days.

I'm not sure if they were struggling after the typhoon, but I feel that a bit more effort should be put in to charge those prices.

Room Tip: Book online, you'll sometimes get a small discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeeJay90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed at the budget section of the resort. For the amount of people they employ the place should be a LOT cleaner, there is no excuse for staff just hanging around a table in the restaurant if you charge rates that are fairly high for the Philippines. Food in the restaurant is of average quality, if you want great food for a slightly higher price but in massive portions you better pop over to Ocean Vida two doors down.
Bed was good, showers have no pressure whatsoever and aircon is really, really noisy.
Overall not the worst place I have stayed in, and they are making great efforts to restore the resort to its former glory after extensive typhoon damage, but they risk going the Boracay way and getting too expensive for what they offer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitanlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malapascua Island
0.4 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
401 reviews
0.3 mi away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#5 of 13 in Malapascua Island
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Malapascua Island
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cocobana Beach Resort
Cocobana Beach Resort
#7 of 13 in Malapascua Island
101 reviews
8.7 mi away
Kandaya Resort
Kandaya Resort
#1 of 1 in Daanbantayan
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malapascua Legend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malapascua Legend

Property: Malapascua Legend
Address: Bounty Beach | Daan Bantayan, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Malapascua Island
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Malapascua Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Malapascua Legend 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malapascua Island is situated two and a half hours away by car and four hours away by bus from the city of Cebu. A barangay of the town of Daanbantayan, Malapascua Island takes pride in its world class diving spots and pristine white sand beaches. It is widely referred by locals as the "Boracay of Cebu." As a diving destination, Malapascua Island has become known for its beautiful coral gardens and excellent local dive spots, as well as further out sites like Gato Island, Monad Shoal, and Kemod Shoal. Monad Shoal is an underwater plateau where thresher sharks and manta rays can be seen on a regular basis. The town's name is derived from two Spanish words, "mal" and "pascua", which translated in English means, "bad" and "Easter" or bad Christmas. According to locals, the Spaniards named the island that way after they arrived there on a stormy Christmas. Malapascua Island is a promise of a great dive and a relaxing beach experience, making it a popular travel destination for local and foreign tourists alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Malapascua Legend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malapascua Legend Hotel Malapascua Island
Malapascua Legend Malapascua Island, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing