We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay for your diving getaway!”
Review of Malapascua Legend

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Malapascua Legend
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Malapascua Island
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“A nice place to stay for your diving getaway!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Malapascua Legend Watersports and Resort is a great place for a 6D5N stay for divers. It amenities, though in need of upgrading, is sufficient enough for any diver.
First the bad things, well the room are just about adequately furnished, the showers are weakly powered and there are the occasional power outages.
Well, I didn't expect much and wasn't disappointed. The hotels and resorts on this island have to be self sufficient and everything else have to be imported from the main island of Cebu.
The good thing, the attentive staff, once you get to know them. Their friendliness and charm are in the world of their own. They come from the neighboring villages in the island and they can offer you gems of information on where to go to see and eat.
Legends is the only resort with a swimming pool, so it is a plus in my books. After each dive, the pool is a great place to soak, refresh and chill out with a ice cold drink, while waiting for our next dives.
If you are looking for 5 stars resorts like those on islands with full infrastructure of electric power, water supply, entertainment etc ... well Legends, and most of all other resorts on this island is not for you.
If you want affordable, friendly, down to earth resort that can meet your basic needs, and some, this is the place to park yourself while you focus on your real purpose on this island, scuba diving in the rich eco systems of Malapascua Island and the Visayan Sea.

Room Tip: Try their homemade pizza. The thin crust and generous toppings is a lovely break from a rice meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesTanSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    59
    39
    19
    15
See reviews for
32
57
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
172 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

So enjoyed our week at this resort and will definitely go back. Stayed in the standard bungalow rooms (there are 3) with aircon and breakfast.

It was clean, staff were friendly and helpful, the location is fantastic, breakfast (american) was delicious and the pool was amazing.

We spent many lazy hours enjoying the turquoise waters and white beach and the beautiful pool as well as a snorkeling trip booked through the hotel for a competitive rate. Even had a massage in our own airconditioned room from the ladies who sit near the entrance of the hotel for only P300 each.

Malapascua legend is living up to it's name!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelindsRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Big room (it has 2 double size beds), nice bathroom with more than enough toiletries (overflowing of shower gel), nice pool (it has a pool bar) great service! Because my flight was a bit early, I had to leave the hotel at 6am and they packed my free brekky for that day!
Beach front.
They change towels everyday.
They clean your room everyday.
They will give you anything that you need (seriously!).
I remember talking to the owner. He was very nice and humble. He was the one who arranged the early preparation of my packed brekky the day before. I wanted to thank him the morning I left but he wasn't up yet. Too bad!
If you feel like staying here, go! You'll love it here

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Binabanesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

stayed for 5 nights low season. private pool for guests was lovely. large rooms, good (but loud) aircon! bathroom massive, the size of some rooms we have stayed in. quite expensive for what you get but little availability elsewhere on the island (we had not pre-booked). quite quiet and a number of items on the menu not on due to low season on the whole of malapascua but plently of people willing to massage you! take cash, no atm. great fun....if you buy a snorkel shop around first so you dont get ripped off, 100 peso for the boat over from maya, and there shouldnt be a charge for baggage.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Legends Resort is the place to stay in Malapascua Island. It's serene, not crowded, uncommercialized and clean, unlike other islands. We were greeted with a welcome drink by attentive staff. Our luggages were taken care of by the staff as soon as we got off the boat. The spacious rooms were all ready for us, spic & span, and airy. The elegant and huge bathrooms had inlaid shells on the wall and clean and modern. We didn't have to lift a finger at this resort. The great thing about this resort is that we were able to take a crash course in scuba diving at their pool, the afternoon of our arrival. Then, we went scuba diving the following morning and additional 2 dives for the day. This was so convenient as the scuba shop was right in this resort. Our stay included breakfast with a variety to choose from. The kids had pancakes with yummy mango shake while I had rice with corned beef and fresh brewed coffee. The kids who couldn't go scuba got to swim in the pool and on the beach in front of the resort and kayaked too. The staff also arranged an island hopping tour where we stopped at various small islands and went snorkeling. The staff set out a table for our family to have a sunset dinner right on the sand, very cool. Malapascua Legends Resort is the best resort, in the Philippine islands.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OKWorldVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

If you are looking for a comfortable place to stay for a reasonable price, Legend is the place to be. Also the resort is the only one with a pool which is very nice when the weather does not allow you to enjoy the beach.

Friendly staff, stayed here for 3 nights with 3 other friends in one room. very cozy.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend you try the food from various resorts, the island is small, so try and look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Capsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I was with a large group that included non-divers. This turned out to be the right choice because it has a swimming pool. The kids loved it and alternated between the beach and pool. Great service. The resort arranged a boat tour around the island – we made a couple of stops to snorkel.

Spacious airconditioned rooms and bath (with hot water). I brought soap because of the review below, but the resort supplied shower gel, soap, shampoo and hair conditioner. We got a room on the ground floor across the pool. Hotel cleaning staff swept our porch more than twice a day, and provided beach towels too.

The staff was accommodating and flexible. At our request, they set up tables on the beach where we had a dinner of grilled tuna, noodles and chicken … and mango juice. We brought our own wine and they waived corkage. Food preparation took awhile, so best to order in advance.

Dive shop (Seaquest) is a few steps from the reception. Seaquest arranged a few dives, including Monad Shoal. We saw one thresher shark that day. The divemaster, Luwil, was safety-conscious and knowledgeable. He spotted a crown of thorns starfish and pointed out small marine creatures to us.

Certainly a cut above the rest.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ludeleo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malapascua Island
0.4 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
401 reviews
0.3 mi away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#5 of 13 in Malapascua Island
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Malapascua Island
113 reviews
8.7 mi away
Kandaya Resort
Kandaya Resort
#1 of 1 in Daanbantayan
110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & ...
#4 of 13 in Malapascua Island
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malapascua Legend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malapascua Legend

Property: Malapascua Legend
Address: Bounty Beach | Daan Bantayan, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Malapascua Island
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Malapascua Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Malapascua Legend 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malapascua Island is situated two and a half hours away by car and four hours away by bus from the city of Cebu. A barangay of the town of Daanbantayan, Malapascua Island takes pride in its world class diving spots and pristine white sand beaches. It is widely referred by locals as the "Boracay of Cebu." As a diving destination, Malapascua Island has become known for its beautiful coral gardens and excellent local dive spots, as well as further out sites like Gato Island, Monad Shoal, and Kemod Shoal. Monad Shoal is an underwater plateau where thresher sharks and manta rays can be seen on a regular basis. The town's name is derived from two Spanish words, "mal" and "pascua", which translated in English means, "bad" and "Easter" or bad Christmas. According to locals, the Spaniards named the island that way after they arrived there on a stormy Christmas. Malapascua Island is a promise of a great dive and a relaxing beach experience, making it a popular travel destination for local and foreign tourists alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Malapascua Legend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malapascua Legend Hotel Malapascua Island
Malapascua Legend Malapascua Island, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing