We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better!”
Review of Malapascua Legend

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Malapascua Legend
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Malapascua Island
Manila
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Could be better!”
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Stayed here Jan.2011 before the whole hotel was fully operated. Pool was still under construction. Can't tell anything bad about the room, the presidential room were we stayed except there was no hot water... yet! Bed was big and very comfortable as well as the room. A great view of the ocean thru the balcony. The room dont have a closet with safety vault for the staying guest, a decent toileries and maybe a complimentary coffee and water inside the room..

Food in the restaurant was terrible.

Things that really needs improvement... Training of their staffs. From the kitchen to the housekeeping. Most of them, they dont know what they're doing. BUT AGAIN, this was back January. I dont know now...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rollinginthedeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    59
    40
    19
    15
See reviews for
32
57
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

I stayed here in july 2011.ita a beautifully hotel with greta pool,spotless rooms right on the beach.I didnt eat there as the best restaurant on the island(the craic house)is only 5 mins walk away.The staff were very friendly and always willing to help out or have a chat..
One thing was when i tried to book online the price was i think 4000peso,but when i just turned up i haggled and got a room for 2,500.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nbjewellerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left it was WONDERFUL! We spent a long weekend in March and truly enjoyed the beach, diving, sand and atmosphere. The rooms were very clean and spacious with large hot showers in the bathroom. The beds were comfortable and the staff kept our room very clean.
If you are planning to going to find nightlife this island is not the place but if you are looking forward to just getting out in the sun for fun then this is the spot! Only negative would be the several children beggars on the beach. But if you ignore they will go away over time. The staff is helpful to get them to move on also. Great little gift shop with inexpensive prices too.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HayesFamilyJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norway
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We arrived Malapascua by bangka from Bantayan...and wow is this a beautiful island! We had a little look around at different resorts, and when the kids saw the pool at Legend...no need to look any further. We got a very nice big room with a big tiled bathroom and two big comfy beds, breakfast included for 2500 pesos(low season price). The pool is fantastic with lovely soft clear water. The beach is lovely with white sand and clear waters, best for svimming on high tide, on low tide our kids played with the sweet local kids looking for crabs and little fish.
The restaurant on Legend serve good food, nice pizza and good drinks. The staff is very sweet and helpful. The room is cleaned every day.
Malapascua is a wonderful island, people is fantastic and friendly. Logon village is nice, some little shops and nice to have a chat with the people there. There are massage ladies on the beach, we got nice massages and I got manicure and pedicure:)
I have to come back one day!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Articwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

This is a beautiful island and a nice place to stay. The rooms are the most luxurious on the island, as they have air con, cable TV and hot showers.. The staff are very friendly and very helpful. They do not yet have any childrens cots or baby chairs for the restaurant though so keep this in mind if you are travelling with young kids. The pool is beautiful, very warm and great for the kids to play in. The food is just OK.... not horrible, but not served with any finesse. Our tip would be go on down the beach to the restaurant at the Evolution dive centre, as they have a very delicious bistro style menu which changes every day. Negotiate with the manager for a good price and a room proce inclusive of food. We negotiated and ended up getting all our food and drink included in the proce of the room... this included alcoholic drinks and was a great saving.

A bit rough around the edges but overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

We originally stayed at White Sands cottages which if you are looking for a cottage is great. BUT the cottage was right next to a loud nightclub and we wanted some AC and a pool. We found Legends and because it was off season we got a good special price 2500 a night - including breakfast. Beautiful rooms, lovely bathroom (somewhat brakish water - small island), cable tv. The internet was down on the entire island - guess it was SmartBro and they didn't have Globe (but The Exotic down the beach did have it and it was great - The Exotic also had a great restaurant). The pool was key in our decision making and it was a great pool. Breakfast was ordinary, nice staff. Would stay here again for 2500 but not for 5000, 2500 is about our limit for what we like to spend on a room. Oh- the rooms were really soundproof which was important for the loud discos on the beach that you might end up near on the weekends. Rent a bike from the hotel to ride around the island.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rainbowmandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

A new resort that was just built, Very nice place, great staff, good food.
We really liked the atmosphere which was in high standard but still in the spirit of the Island.
Hot showers wern't instoled in the west building

Room Tip: The east wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zivshani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malapascua Island
0.4 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
534 reviews
0.3 mi away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#5 of 13 in Malapascua Island
235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Malapascua Island
103 reviews
8.7 mi away
Kandaya Resort
Kandaya Resort
#1 of 1 in Daanbantayan
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & ...
#4 of 13 in Malapascua Island
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malapascua Legend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malapascua Legend

Property: Malapascua Legend
Address: Bounty Beach | Daan Bantayan, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Malapascua Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Malapascua Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Malapascua Legend 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malapascua Island is situated two and a half hours away by car and four hours away by bus from the city of Cebu. A barangay of the town of Daanbantayan, Malapascua Island takes pride in its world class diving spots and pristine white sand beaches. It is widely referred by locals as the "Boracay of Cebu." As a diving destination, Malapascua Island has become known for its beautiful coral gardens and excellent local dive spots, as well as further out sites like Gato Island, Monad Shoal, and Kemod Shoal. Monad Shoal is an underwater plateau where thresher sharks and manta rays can be seen on a regular basis. The town's name is derived from two Spanish words, "mal" and "pascua", which translated in English means, "bad" and "Easter" or bad Christmas. According to locals, the Spaniards named the island that way after they arrived there on a stormy Christmas. Malapascua Island is a promise of a great dive and a relaxing beach experience, making it a popular travel destination for local and foreign tourists alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Malapascua Legend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malapascua Legend Hotel Malapascua Island
Malapascua Legend Malapascua Island, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing