We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Purple Snapper Dive Resort
Roskilde
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed for one week with 2 younger kids everyone really enjoyed the stay. The hotel is not new but well-maintained. One of two options on Malapascua with swimming pool always a hit with kids. It is located 5 min from the beach - no problem.
For divers the dive shop is very professional with speaking different languages.
The owner Chuck is extremely friendly and helpful!
Excellent value for money also considering the great breakfast and restaurant.
Our best recommendation!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pernille S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    18
    16
    11
    5
See reviews for
9
28
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed at the Purple Snapper for 6 days while taking my dad on a tour of the Philippines (I've lived here 3 years here now). The dive staff were amazing. They knew the spots well, were super friendly, and took great care of us.

The resort itself was also quite nice. The food was excellent and the rooms--while not fancy--were clean and comfortable. The resort also had a pool, which was nice to relax in during down time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcg0nagr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed in the Purple Snapper shop with my girlfriend and we also went diving with them. The diving team is amazing. Geoff the instructor and Tony the manager are great professionals and great people. They are reliable, honest and fun too. Thanks to them we have great memories of our stay in Malapascua. We also had an health issue which with they dealt very professionally and personally. I have only kind words for them and 100% recommend them!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lezka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanjing, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Because of some reasons,we can't get to the island in the day time.The manager helped us to solve this problem.We are grateful for that.It's the first time for some of us to do DSD.The manager Tony and Harry are very patient,teaching us the skills in the swimming pool one day before we go out for DSD.It is really helpful for some of us to overcome the fearness of sea.From what we experienced,we thought it's a good place to learn OW.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHONGQING
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Instrctor Harry has attactive smile. Tony, the manager,is a kindness, sincere and careful person.They really like the friends we have known for many years, which make the journey fantastic.Very detailed instrucion and training,resbonseble person. Before we left to airport, they told us everything need to notice, really helped us a lot. Very sweet and thoughtful. Their price is only the everage price even lower than the everage price. Location is quite near the beach.
Hoping to come back here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LINGJING L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanjing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

The person and service of purple snapper diving resort is the most memorable thing for us three.

The manager Tony is really a reliable person who will try his best to fulfill everyone's different and difficult requirement. Because of some accident, we arrived MAYA 2hours later and he keeps waiting for us at the picking up place. Without he and his peoples' help, we couldn't land on the island at such a storm night at 11pm. They did verything to help us even untill so late.

About their Diving course, they are the most patient and kindlyness instructor i have met till now. Although we have attended discovery scuba diving in Austrilia& Malaysia& Bohol for sevral times, they still explained every key steps quite detailed and accompanied us to do exercise for nearly 3hours, after confirming every one of us 100% understood. The diving price is almost the lowest quotation we have got among the first 5 diving resort here.
All the diving equipment are scubpro and also quite new as well as excellent qulity. Nice swimming pool.

We have a really happy stay and enjoy the journy to Calagaman diving. Wish to back here very quickly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanjing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We 7 people spend 3 days in MALAPASCUA,and have a DSD in the Purple Snapper Dive Resort. Tony is very warmhearted,help us a lot !!!And the coaches are very earnest and patient. I dived 12M underwater and saw the disruption of deep ocean,it really make me excited.
It's amazing experience,and I'll come back to them.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mika W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malapascua Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#5 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Thresher Cove Dive Resort
Thresher Cove Dive Resort
#1 of 14 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hippocampus Beach Resort
Hippocampus Beach Resort
#6 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & ...
#4 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purple Snapper Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purple Snapper Dive Resort

Property: Purple Snapper Dive Resort
Address: Bounty Beach, 6013, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Malapascua Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Purple Snapper Dive Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Purple Snapper Dive Resort is emerging as one of the best places to stay in Malapascua. Located 100 meters from Bounty Beach, Malapascua’s primary shore, Purple Snapper Dive Resort offers travelers a good taste of local life and culture while in close proximity to the beach. Being one of Philippines’ top diving destination the resort is a good choice for those hit by the diving bug. We are never too far from many of Malapascua’s dive operators better yet, check out our newly opened dive shop. Stay with us and only be a dive away from seeing Malapascua’s majestic attraction-the thresher sharks. Pick any of our 25 native style rooms and be treated with true Filipino hospitality. Mabuhi! Welcome to paradise! Wecome to Malapascua! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Purple Snapper Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purple Snapper Dive Hotel Malapascua Island
Purple Snapper Dive Resort Malapascua Island, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing