We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we're lucky we found this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Malapascua Island
Certificate of Excellence
Manila
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“we're lucky we found this place!”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

It was the week of the LPA visit to Metro Manila (Haikui) when I and a friend stayed here. Our 2 week-long search for a reasonably priced, nice resort & beach front was all worth it!
We ended up booking our accommodation at Ocean Vida Resort. It's a smooth 3-hour drive from Mactan airport to the port, and it's a perfect beach area that you'll see in all of Malapascua (we strolled along the beach one afternoon to check other resorts, some don't maintain their beach front, sand is coarse).

Waking up in Malapascua is a total experience---and I so love the early morning sunshine and the sight of the 2 huge motorized boats docked along the pristine shore every morning as if some VIP had arrived in the island. The Seaview balcony for 2 pax on the 2nd floor makes this perfect view. It has fridge, mini bar, comfy beds, and fixtures made with/ inspired by native materials (like a weaved rattan), h&c shower, toilet. At first, I was thinking if I can live without a TV since it's a place for divers (and I'm not one of them)--but I was there 4 straight days, and extended 1 day because the flood in Manila hasn't subsided. Wi-fi is free and very fast, easy to check the condition in Manila every now and then.

Overall what we love here are the hospitable staff and the owners themselves who are hands-on in terms of taking care of their customers, daily maintenance of the beach front & sand, weeding out wild grass, clean area, and rooms. During our entire week of stay we noticed, Ocean Vida never ran out of guest. It's not like peak season, but for sure new guests will occupy a vacated room, if there's any. Plus, it's not a party place (like Boracay) where you can just relax, lay on the sand, enjoy the sea breeze & sun, chill, and watch people =))

We enjoyed the daily free breakfast (bacon&ham, eggs, freshly baked breads, fresh fruit slices, cereals&muesli, honey, milk, coffee, juices)--for Filipinos who love rice, it's not offered on the buffet table, sorry =)

VERDICT: we'll surely be back here and recommend to friends. For one, we have yet to try diving here, go to Calanggaman (minus the current), and chill again at the beach bar (cocktails and shooters! wuhoo)!

Room Tip: the middle room on the 2nd floor seaview villa gives a better and wider view of the sea especially i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BoyAndLolit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    113
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
71
202
39
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Small, quiet dive resort right on the beach front in Malapascua Island.
Excellent value. Nice clean rooms with good facilities.
Food was good. Service excellent.
The dive facilities were fantastic. Equipment was all quite new.
All in all, a great set up.

Perfect getaway if you want a peaceful, quiet break with excellent diving. A really good alternative to the busier dive resorts in Thailand, Malaysia and Indonesia.

Best to contact the resort to organize transport from Cebu airport. It takes 3 hours by road and 20 minutes by boat.

Room Tip: Either garden view or sea view. Both clean and comfortable, but not luxury standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Will_ashcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

I stayed 2 weeks at Ocean Vida. It was the perfect holidays: clean, lovely furnitured rooms with AirCon and fan, friendly staff (also at sea explorers), cosy chillout zone at the beach bar: you can sit on bean bags and have a drink or even have a meal on the beach. The restaurant is upstairs but with seaview. If you ask the staff, they prepare a romantic table on the beach for you where can have your dinner. The food ranges from local filippine dishes, over thai to western dishes. They are all very delicious. ( i havenever had anything i could not enjoy). The breakfast is rich and there is even fresh bread every morning!
During the day you can either swim in the sea or take a walk around the island or simply lie in the sun an read. It is recommendable to take diving courses or do some dives as lying around can quickly get monotonous.
The local inhabitants are all very friendly and out-going. It is a nice opportunity to meet them, get an insight into their way of life (which is mainly enjoy the day). The athmosphere among the staff is very familiar and convivial. It contributes a great deal to relax, have a good mood and simply enjoy your holidays.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlleracine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This was the second time we visited Malapascua and Ocean Vida. This is absolute the best resort on, maybe the most beautifull island of the Filippines, Malapascua. The rooms, the view, the friendly staff, the restaurant (many choices of food and freshley made) and breakfast is all very good. Also the attached Sea Explorers are great and very friendly. Definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: If you have the budget, go for a beachfront room. View is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I did not stay in this hotel but I got a chance to dine here twice in my 3-day stay in Malapascua. They have a variety of food choices from European dishes to Filipino Native food. They have bean bags and coffee tables lit up with a candle light by the beach. Amazing place to grab a drink as you enjoy the sea breeze and sound of the waves crashing on the shore.

Room Tip: Get the sea view rooms. These are the newest rooms of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thatborgaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Thanks to Fabienne and the rest of team, our trip to the Philippines was truly amazing. We were lucky to get an ocean view room, so getting up in the morning with the beach right at our doorstep was just the start that we needed. I would very much recommend this resort - not only because of the lovely beach, the excellent diving opportunities or the fantastic restaurant, but simply for the experience of being in a small resort which is embedded in the local community!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Malapascua is one of the best islands we've visited. Its a scuba diving haven with lots of great dive spots famous for Thresher Sharks and Manta Rays. We stayed at Ocean Vida, which is a perfect place to relax and enjoy the cool blue waters of the Philippine sea. We stayed here for a week in April and the staff were extremely courteous and helpful, clean rooms, great food (Western and local - bohol express is a must try!). The resort owner, Sven is very friendly and courteous. One of the key hangouts on the island is the resorts beach bar with perfect time slots for happy hours, bean bags thrown around coffee tables for a casual and cozy setting, the cool breeze of the ocean.. all so relaxing.. we wish we did not have to leave. The resort is tastefully decorated... The nights are extremely peaceful with the sound of the waves against the beach...sun chairs and hammocks to relax on during the day.. massages by the beach for the tired divers and non divers... Loved it all!! It left us wanting for more.. U bet we'll be back sooner than later..

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are better with clearer view of the beach from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshwinGBenjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malapascua Island
0.3 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
534 reviews
105.3 mi away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 6 in Moalboal
434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Malapascua Island
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#5 of 13 in Malapascua Island
235 reviews
71.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 90 in Cebu City
3,278 reviews
72.2 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 42 in Mactan Island
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort

Property: Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Address: Bounty Beach, 6013, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Malapascua Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Vida Beach and Dive Resort is situated on Malapasua Islands beautiful Bounty Beach offering 12 Sea view and 8 garden view rooms. The rooms include air-conditioning, mini bar, safe, beach towels and balcony. The resort also features a restaurant, beach side bar and a fully equipped PADI 5* IDC dive center, Sea Explorers. Free high-speed WiFi internet is available throughout the resort. Guests can also join one free Yoga lesson every day and use the Gym in Buena Vida free of charge. We hope we can welcome you here in Malapascua one day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Vida Beach And Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Hotel Malapascua Island
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort Malapascua Island, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing