We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Craic House is the place to be!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Craic House

The Craic House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: Bar, International, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The Craic House Irish Bar and Restaurant is the funkiest spot on Malapascua. It serves contemporary cuisine, ice cold drinks and plays the best music in The Philippines, right on the beach.
Hammerfest, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Craic House is the place to be!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

If you want to have fun the Craic house is the place to be! The staff are so warm and friendly it feels like they have been your friends forever instantly! You find yourself talking more with the staff than other guests sometimes! If you have a special drink you wanna mix, they will let you do it and learn it themself for the future. Good rooms with fan and aircon. And the food.. No standard menus in that house. It changes evey day. So far i havent found anything that i dident like! Its truly a paradise next to the beach! If you go to Malapascua you go to the craic house! And after a long day of diving you can find a masseur on the beach that will soften your muscles.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mekkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    49
    32
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ah! The Craic House, there really is no need to eat anywhere else on Malapascua.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

My original intention during my 8 weeks as a DiveMaster Trainee on Malapascua was to feed myself on a budget . This went completely out the window thanks to the fresh, varied, and perfected, rotating daily specials menu at The Craic House.

The daily specials reflect the local ingredients that are currently available but the owners have made an effort to specially order or grow some items that would otherwise unavailable on the island.

As a vegetarian I had assumed that my diet would be limited and involve smiling through eating shrimp paste and fish sauce. This wasn’t the case at all, and at no point in 8 weeks was the food uninspiring or repetitive.
On the rare occasion that there was not a vegetarian option on the board (lunch special can be eaten at dinner) then the chef had no trouble amending the dish or throwing together all the vegetable side dishes of the day into a vegetarian feast.
Creamy mixed vegetables or roasted balsamic aubergines are two particular favourites. Polite requests for favourite dishes or sides can even be made a day or two in advance!
The black-eyed bean vegy burger, jalapeño falafel and vegetable lumpia are two particular favourites and would satisfy any devout meat eater. Mmm, and the flat breads with baba ganoush, hummus and spicy tomato dip.

The chef was even kind enough to steam okra that I had bought in the village, and serve it for me with the local spicy dipping vinegar.

Having recently spent a holiday in Vietnam, the owners returned with recently discovered recipes and promptly added them to the board for some feedback. New recipes are often touted to the punters at the bar in little trial size portions so that guests can give their opinions on the dishes before they are tweaked to perfection and added to the menu.

For the carnivores, the chef can make a perfect British roast dinner and the remaining meat is used the following day to make chunky sandwiches… which can be ordered the night before and taken on the early morning dive trips with Evolution to Gato Island and Kimud Shoal.

On the Irish side.
The music is eclectic (sometimes Irish) and played at a reasonable volume so you are not required to shout across the table to make yourself heard. The dishes are varied, so don’t expect a menu like you would at O’Neils…
…this is a bar restaurant with an Irish feel, not an in your face cry of I AM IRISH!
Except for when it is Saint Patrick’s Day!
As the only Irish Bar in the Visayas it puts on a show; with dancing until the early hours to Flogging Molly, The Dropkick Murphys and the Dubliners… and for 2011, free Blarney shots.
The guys are kind enough to import Guinness, Jameson and Baileys for those who can’t live with out it… all year round of course, not just for Saint Paddy's.

And everyone should eat the mango cheesecake.

Nic

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic_Flynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fab food & People”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

The Craic House is a restaurant and bar at Evolution Dive Center. As the name suggest it has an irish connection but don't expect a "classic" irish pub. The food is GREAT the menu changes daily and lunch as well as dinner is both delicious. The menu is a mix of different cuisines and there is always a veg alternative. Although the menu doesn't have too many items on it - the one's that are on it (and it again, it changes daily) are superb and awesome value. I stayed for two weeks and did not once feel compelled to eat elsewhere!

The staff is great, very friendly and if you want anything special to eat (even if it isn't on the menu) they will make sure it happens.

If you like company, the bar is great (great music and people) and if you're more inclined to have a romantic tete-a-tete don't let the spacious open arcithecture scare you away and just enjoy the privacy of the sandy beach restaurant. Not out of the way by any means you still get the feeling that you are one of the few tourists on the island (as opposed to the brightly lit conventional restaurants near-by.

All in all I can't recommend the place enough and on my ext visit I probably won't eat (or drink my Tanduay) anywhere else.

Cheers,

/ F

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fredrik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best food on Malapascua!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2011

If you're going to Malapascua I defently recommend to have a dinner @ 'The Craic House. Food there is always fresh and easily islands best! And if they happen to have Mango cheese cake as a dessert, do not miss it!

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heini84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best food in Malapascua!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

We spent two weeks in Malapascua diving with Evolution diving and Craic House was our base. The food was really good (best I have had in Philippines), versatile, fresh and the staff was friendly. The atmosphere was really nice here, we ate here almost every day and twice a day and also had more than a few beers here :) Good music and wi-fi connection were icing on the cake. Great base if you are staying and/or diving in Malapascua!

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Villfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Craic House also viewed

Malapascua Island, Cebu Island
 
Malapascua Island, Cebu Island
 

Been to The Craic House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing