We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of heaven in Malapascua.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malapascua Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
AABANA Beach & Watersport Resort Malapascua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Ours was a very spontaneous trip to celebrate my loved one's birthday in the most relaxing way possible, away from the hustle and bustle of Manila. And we got exactly (and more) what we came for. We were able to get a very affordable yet very comfy and peaceful accommodation (breakfast included) at Mike and Diose's little cottage --- a double bed fan room that couldn't be any sweeter. We stayed for three days and two nights during a weekend. The location of the resort was perfect --- private, quiet and romantic, making it a little piece of heaven at the tip of Malapascua. The owner, Mike, was very friendly and hospitable (so were his staff and his very cute dogs!). He made sure that our stay was one that we'd never forget... or one that we'd come back for. We snorkeled and toured around the island on his boat. He prepared dinner for all his guests during our last night. And it was sumptuous.

There was no other resort we'd rather be in than in Mike and Diose's. And no other resort we'd be in when we come back next time. :)

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lifeisplastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
There are newer reviews for AABANA Beach & Watersport Resort Malapascua
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 249 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2011

We stayed there overnight and were happy that we were the only ones there. The resort had cottages near the beach and most of our meals were spent there. The cottage is HUGE, man. One queen bed on the first floor and there is a TINY flight of stairs to the attic. The attic is something else - two airbeds and two single beds. If you travel with family and a huge group, the room is just right. There is only ONE A/C though and it doesn't really get to turn the entire house cold. There are fans that will help circulate the air.

I kind of like it if we camp out near the beach and sleep there. Its colder! I heard you can have someone cook for you but we were only served breakfast once (not part of the room charges).

Try going around the beach strip - there are several restaurants that you can have dinner/lunch at. Most are expensive from 200-500 peso meals but hey, aren't you in vacation? :)

What I don't like about the resort are the ducks/geese running around the place. I hate birds and chicken and ducks and everything that resemble that species so I dont really welcome that sight.

Oh, the bathroom really has cool blue lights! Huge, too. Our cottage has a kitchenette and a huge ref so yes, you can store food and cook there, too.

Watersports are readily available at the resort.

You can actually read more here:
http://theglamarazzi.com/2010/08/27/dive-malapascua-underwater-camera/

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

One month together with my wife in Malapascua Island at Mike and Dioses Beach Resort will be forever in my heart and unforgettable!! Best service and price on the island.
Clean and lovely rooms, great breakfast for two persons included. Mike become a real friend of mine in one month living together door on door in the wooden cottage. Very helpful and friendly staff like Charitou in the kitchen. Mike booked my tickets for Cebu-Manila with Philippine Airlines for only 1300 Pesos/person. He was in Cebu , i only asked him if he could look about price and flight date, he came back with our tickets!! One day he take us to his friends of Blue Coral Hotel to the birthday party of the owner! A few times he takes us to Maya with his Boat for free! I could write a lot of things more, but i think everbody should make his own experiences. If you want real original Island Feeling there is only one place i can recommend: MIKE & DIOSE´S Beach Cottage and Watersport Resort!! THANK YOU MIKE FOR YOUR GREAT HOSPITALITY!!
We see us again OLD SEEBEAR!! Greetings from Austria TOM & Marilou

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thomas_travek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

My wife and I stayed for a week at Aabana Beach and Watersport Resort (Mike and Diose's Beachcottage) as we were diving next door at Evolution. We stayed in one of their two cottages and they had everything that you could want on an island paradise. Hot water, fan, comfy bed - further luxuries we didn't use included air con & satellite TV.

On arrival Mike greeted us with a big smile and as his wife was just over on holidays they both invited us for a lovely home made lunch. They and their staff could not have been nicer. Breakfast was included each day and you could ask for what you wanted, fresh fruit, omelettes made from their own hen eggs I am guessing cause they were fab or any other items. They even had the fridge stocked for us to use at our convenience with waters, cokes and beers. Real treat after a days diving.

I wouldn't dare stay anywhere else on the island, as the personal service and the quality accommodation was what you could only wish for on this magic island.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Downunder_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

I stayed in the wooden beach cottage. Basic but sufficient. Mike was sooooo nice! The first day I arrived he showed me around the island - where to eat, dive shops etc. He even gave me lunch - for free!

Awesome hospitality. There are a few new houses being built round the back. I went into a few. The furniture and decor is amazing. There's plenty of space and for the price (PHP2500 ++ for a group of 4), it's really the most value for money accommodation you can find on the island.

Plus, it's right on the beach. Eating breakfast on the patio you can see the ocean and feel the sea breeze. Then there are the beach chairs that you can use too.

And though I did not make use of the boat, Mike has one that he can rent for a low price to those who want to go snorkelling. Equipment included in price.

No where else will have the kind of personal customer service than at Mike's.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theniece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2010

Aabana Beach and Watersport Resort (Mike and Diose's Beachcottage) is the best place to stay in Malapascua. After doing some research before our trip, we found that Aabana Beach Resort looks really nice at an affordable price. We booked our stay by sending an email to Mike, the owner. Now, after our stay we can say that it is the best place to go on Malapascua. The cottages are clean, spacious, with aircon. The backyard has palmtrees, flowers and is nicely set up. The hospitality at this resort is one of the reasons we definitely want to go back there.
The beach is nice, and Mike has a boat that can be rented for snorkeling trips for 800 pesos. We spend great evenings sitting on the beach talking to Mike. It was a perfect vancation.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eva- Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

Our experience at Mike & Diose's (aka Aabana) was very nice. The owner's were very hospitable, the cottage was clean and the overall construction/care of the dwelling was superb. Diners were sumptuous in a local fashion, and served in a nipa cabana right on the beach with the evening breezes. Overall, our stay was great and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fchristensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malapascua Island hotels
0.5 mi away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#5 of 13 in Malapascua Island
241 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
541 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Malapascua Island
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & ...
#4 of 13 in Malapascua Island
328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Evolution Diving Resort
Evolution Diving Resort
#2 of 14 in Malapascua Island
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AABANA Beach & Watersport Resort Malapascua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AABANA Beach & Watersport Resort Malapascua

Address: 6013, Philippines (Formerly Mike & Diose's Beach Cottage)
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Malapascua Island
Price Range: $9 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful little beach resort (BIR name is AABANA Beach & Watersport Resort Malapascua) on the peaceful east side of the Bounty Beach, Malapascua. Fantastic priceworthy solid cottages with air con, Sat-TV, value safe, warm water shower, refrigerator, big terrace, WiFi internet connection. White sand clean, well-maintained beach. Still under construction but fully operating, friendly service and best price / value ratio. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mike & Diose`s Beach Cottage Hotel Malapascua Island
Mike And Diose`s Beach Cottage
AABANA Beach & Watersport Resort Malapascua Malapascua Island, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing