We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful haven in a wonderful island!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malapascua Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
AABANA Beach & Watersport Resort Malapascua
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful haven in a wonderful island!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This review is long overdue but nonetheless, I had such an amazing time here when I was in Malapascua for my diving course. I found this from blogger site and true enough Mike is the friendliest owner in the island. I had a great time knowing him and his early life in the island and his passion to keeping Malapascua as serene and as peaceful as it is today. I hope (and crossing my fingers that it will not be too touristy as Boracay when I have the chance to get back). They have friendly and helpful staffs, nice and lovely cottages, and the best pancake breakfast!

I will definitely be back and stay here once again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank dinhsvenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    46
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
30
109
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed two weeks at a cottage. Just a room with and a drawer. Shared bathroom, free breakfast. Mike is so helpful. When he went over to mainland he always asked me if i wanted anything. Invited me to a dive shop opening and gave me tips on stuff to do. The staff is very helpful and where keen on adjusting my special needs on breakfast! Quiet, lovely everything. But if u dont like dogs maybe not a place for u :), Just at the end of the beach so very quiet and just u on the bEACH

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrjbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

You won't be disappointed by staying here. Mike keeps his place very nice and comfortable. has best beach and good location near dive shops. Stayed with my family in the casabonita lodge both floors w guest room. Mike and his staff work hard to make sure you enjoy your stay. HIs pricing is reasonable and offers a nice breakfast each morning. Be sure to say hi to Liesel his number one assistant, she is very sweet and responsive to your needs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jga37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stay in Mike & Diose's for 3 days and 4 nights the staff was nice and accommodating. If you need anything they will provide it for you. We feel relax because of the place and views and good thing it help a lot the little "tambayan" infront of their place.The price was very affordable for us, the room spacious and very clean. Their are many outlet to charge up our gears and gadgets, Comfortable in the sense that their bathroom is big. They also offer nice breakfast and hot water. It is safe in this place and we feel secure, we have dogs for security and Mike is ready to fight any intruders or sign of attacks. Before we go mike ask a police man from the city to accompanied us to have a safe travel at home. Excellent is the word for Mike & Diose's

Room Tip: If you can bring or buy a water to drink do so because the water here are a bit expensive than Cebu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micomedel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnison, Colorado
Level Contributor
190 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Aabana is a warm, somewhat funky resort on the beach. Like most other reviewers, we enjoyed the open air breakfasts on the beach and the proximity to the other resorts. While we were there, the entire island had lost its Internet for the week due to a storm. A reminder is to have patience if it takes the owner Mike a little time to reply to emails. We appreciated the staff, especially Lisa, who helped us find local hikes, places to eat, and snorkeling boats. Having to pay for your electricity after a KW was a good reminder to us of the price of luxury on the Philippine Islands. Mike was wonderful, taking personal interest in our happiness and welfare. We enjoyed the visit. The resort is a work in process, but we found the construction interesting, not bothersome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Y1964oung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Just checked out today after a 3-night stay. Mike & Doise and their staffs took very good care of me, I stayed at the room right next to Mike's room, felt very safe. He personally walked me to the restaurant I wished to visit and offered to pick me up after I finish my dinner because it's dark at night. They made me like that small island more :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scorpio25th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stay in Mike & Diose's for 4 days and everything was perfect. Mike and all the the staff make us fell home away from home.
We have been traveling around Asia for more than 3 months and It has been our best place with out any doubt.
The price was very affordable for us, the room spacious and very clean (they cleaned it one time more during our stay), all the facilities were working, the beach is the best in Malapascua and the atmosphere of the place is lovely. We only had breackfast there and was delicious.
We were checking almost all the places in Malapascua and we couldnt find better. If you are going to the island dont loose your time looking for overpriced resorts, go and stay with Mike and Diose you are gonna see and fell how excellent it is.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Santiago021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malapascua Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.5 mi away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#5 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Thresher Cove Dive Resort
Thresher Cove Dive Resort
#1 of 14 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Malapascua Budget Inn
Malapascua Budget Inn
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & ...
#4 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AABANA Beach & Watersport Resort Malapascua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AABANA Beach & Watersport Resort Malapascua

Property: AABANA Beach & Watersport Resort Malapascua
Address: 6013, Philippines (Formerly Mike & Diose's Beach Cottage)
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Malapascua Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful little beach resort (BIR name is AABANA Beach & Watersport Resort Malapascua) on the peaceful east side of the Bounty Beach, Malapascua. Fantastic priceworthy solid cottages with air con, Sat-TV, value safe, warm water shower, refrigerator, big terrace, WiFi internet connection. White sand clean, well-maintained beach. Still under construction but fully operating, friendly service and best price / value ratio. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mike And Diose`s Beach Cottage
Mike & Diose`s Beach Cottage Hotel Malapascua Island
AABANA Beach & Watersport Resort Malapascua Malapascua Island, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing