We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice little resort”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malapascua Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
AABANA Beach & Watersport Resort Malapascua
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“very nice little resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

You won't be disappointed by staying here. Mike keeps his place very nice and comfortable. has best beach and good location near dive shops. Stayed with my family in the casabonita lodge both floors w guest room. Mike and his staff work hard to make sure you enjoy your stay. HIs pricing is reasonable and offers a nice breakfast each morning. Be sure to say hi to Liesel his number one assistant, she is very sweet and responsive to your needs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jga37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    46
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
30
108
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stay in Mike & Diose's for 3 days and 4 nights the staff was nice and accommodating. If you need anything they will provide it for you. We feel relax because of the place and views and good thing it help a lot the little "tambayan" infront of their place.The price was very affordable for us, the room spacious and very clean. Their are many outlet to charge up our gears and gadgets, Comfortable in the sense that their bathroom is big. They also offer nice breakfast and hot water. It is safe in this place and we feel secure, we have dogs for security and Mike is ready to fight any intruders or sign of attacks. Before we go mike ask a police man from the city to accompanied us to have a safe travel at home. Excellent is the word for Mike & Diose's

Room Tip: If you can bring or buy a water to drink do so because the water here are a bit expensive than Cebu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micomedel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnison, Colorado
Level Contributor
191 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Aabana is a warm, somewhat funky resort on the beach. Like most other reviewers, we enjoyed the open air breakfasts on the beach and the proximity to the other resorts. While we were there, the entire island had lost its Internet for the week due to a storm. A reminder is to have patience if it takes the owner Mike a little time to reply to emails. We appreciated the staff, especially Lisa, who helped us find local hikes, places to eat, and snorkeling boats. Having to pay for your electricity after a KW was a good reminder to us of the price of luxury on the Philippine Islands. Mike was wonderful, taking personal interest in our happiness and welfare. We enjoyed the visit. The resort is a work in process, but we found the construction interesting, not bothersome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Y1964oung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Just checked out today after a 3-night stay. Mike & Doise and their staffs took very good care of me, I stayed at the room right next to Mike's room, felt very safe. He personally walked me to the restaurant I wished to visit and offered to pick me up after I finish my dinner because it's dark at night. They made me like that small island more :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scorpio25th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stay in Mike & Diose's for 4 days and everything was perfect. Mike and all the the staff make us fell home away from home.
We have been traveling around Asia for more than 3 months and It has been our best place with out any doubt.
The price was very affordable for us, the room spacious and very clean (they cleaned it one time more during our stay), all the facilities were working, the beach is the best in Malapascua and the atmosphere of the place is lovely. We only had breackfast there and was delicious.
We were checking almost all the places in Malapascua and we couldnt find better. If you are going to the island dont loose your time looking for overpriced resorts, go and stay with Mike and Diose you are gonna see and fell how excellent it is.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Santiago021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartagena, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Me and my boyfriend we've stayed at Mike and Diose's for 5 nights only regreting we had to catch our next flight and couldn't stay much longer.
Mike is a wonderful host, very friendly with amazing sense of humour,) All the resort crew is very friendly and helpful as well.
Mike's place can't have better location, it has one of the most beautiful beaches we've seen in Malapascua, enough trees directly on the beach to offer pleasant shelter from the strong sun, beautiful dining area with enough sheltered tables right on the beach makes your breakfast even more unique.
Don't miss this place once you are in Malapascua and looking for very friendly atmosphere, pristine beach and privacy which many of big and pricey Malapascua's resorts can't offer at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asarielka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Mike and the Aabana staff take great care of their guests, and it's obvious.

The rooms are very modern, clean, and mosquito-proofed (which is both important and difficult to find!); they would be lovely, comfortable rooms in any European resort - so on this tiny island they're outstanding.

There's no other business between you and the beach, which is a luxury, but there's enough distance between you and the party-late-into-the-night resorts that you can find some peace and quiet.

On the west side of the island, a straight shot from the ferry dock (but you won't realize this until later - it's a bit of a maze on that island), and just to the north of Exotic and Evolution resorts. Mike was incredibly welcoming, and gave me a deal on my deluxe cabin (the Casablanca - big enough for four!). Breakfasts were simple, tasty, and quickly prepared.

No swimming pool (unless you count the clear, warm waters at the beach), and no fitness center (unless you count all the diving, paddling, and swimming).

Room Tip: Bring a flashlight, no street lights at night. Make reservations - only a few cabins and they fill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malapascua Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.5 mi away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#5 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Thresher Cove Dive Resort
Thresher Cove Dive Resort
#1 of 14 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Malapascua Budget Inn
Malapascua Budget Inn
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & ...
#4 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AABANA Beach & Watersport Resort Malapascua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AABANA Beach & Watersport Resort Malapascua

Property: AABANA Beach & Watersport Resort Malapascua
Address: 6013, Philippines (Formerly Mike & Diose's Beach Cottage)
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Malapascua Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful little beach resort (BIR name is AABANA Beach & Watersport Resort Malapascua) on the peaceful east side of the Bounty Beach, Malapascua. Fantastic priceworthy solid cottages with air con, Sat-TV, value safe, warm water shower, refrigerator, big terrace, WiFi internet connection. White sand clean, well-maintained beach. Still under construction but fully operating, friendly service and best price / value ratio. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mike & Diose`s Beach Cottage Hotel Malapascua Island
Mike And Diose`s Beach Cottage
AABANA Beach & Watersport Resort Malapascua Malapascua Island, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing