We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst stay ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tepanee Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Malapascua Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Only good thing are:nice view and nice food.
We arrived and had to pay extra for our bags to be taken to our room.
Be careful, no ATM in the island!
They advertise the wifi in the room but the is none. unacceptable. only wifi is in the bar which they switch off at 7 pm and transfer the the restaurant and after 11 no wifi. i say again that, that is a joke , even the women told us at the start maybe the wifi will work.no emergency phone in the room, if you have a problem you have to find the night porter, and its so dark, so good luck if you have a problem at night. Our lock to the room didn t work, told them , next day someone came, move something but in the end still the same, told to reception again but they didn t care. for 4 days we gave our pc and phone to reception as our lock was still not fixed. at this point we gave up.
Ask to the beach bar to hire snorkeling set, they say "yes somebody will bring to you", I was waiting for 45 minutes and then decided to ask again; the answer was "go to reception", so I walked to reception and they say "we dont have it". this place is a joke, the worst thing was after we paid the bill.
we left the resort paid our bills got on the boat to go back and the boat captain got a call from the resort asking to take 700 pesos from us to bring back because they made a mistake,ridiculous , how do they expect us just to hand over money when we haven t seen what we a paying for. and honestly there is quite a lot more things example, very poor breakfast, rock hard pillows and uncomfortable bed , staff attitude, the list can go on, seriously.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ninnetta25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tepanee, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Tepanee Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2015

Dear ninnetta2, I apologize for all the inconveniences occurred.
Last May the internet provider we work with (Smart) made some enhancements in their infrastructures so the connection was not always working. This is why we provided for other two wifi systems, that were working in the public areas and in the lobby everyday 24hours. Again, I apologize that sometimes you didn't have the wifi in the room, but we offer this service to our guests at no extra charge and in the common areas was always available.
Tepanee is a very simple andsmall hotel: we don't have TV in the room, we don't have phone landline connection (Malapascua has no cable connections with the main land). But we have always someone in the reception and in the private beach (24 hours everyday) and our manager lives inside the resort: there is always someone available in case of needs.
But you never came to us to complain or ask for anything (for example, we have different kind of pillows, as written in the booklet of the room, you could have asked for one less hard), so I'm sorry we could not imagine that you were so disappointed: actually I've been very surprised to read this review, as everytime any of our staff approached you, you were always smiling and saying that everything was fine.
Best regards,
Silvia Merli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

220 - 226 of 547 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed there recently and it was a lovely place EXCEPT we were asked to leave our lovely room overlooking the ocean after one day! We were told someone else had a reservation after I had asked for a three day stay. They offered us an interior room at a higher price. To say I was pissed is an understatement. The front desk staff lied and said they told me it was for only one day. The owner (a German lady) was rude and inconsiderate and didn't seem to care about taking care of us.

I began to realize she wanted our room for one of her more favored guests/friends. If your German then all will go well I'm sure. I'm American so I was treated with little respect. I had spent big bucks in the hotel restaurant the night before but no matter they wanted me out!

I will NEVER stay there again, the absolute rudest I've ever been treated at a hotel in my life. I can't remember ever being so mad during a stay anywhere!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tepanee, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Tepanee Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2015

Dear Mr. Jay H,
when you showed up looking for an accommodation for one night we explained you that we had available:
- one Fan Cottage, for one night
- one Aircon Cottage, for three nights.
You choosed the Fan Cottage and checked-in there.
The morning after, when you told us you wanted to extend, we had to explain that all the Fan Cottages were already reserved and the only accommodation available was an Aircon Cottage, which of course is more expensive.
We didn't want to push you out from the hotel, but we had to give the room to the guests that reserved and paid for that in advance.
I apologize if we had been not enough clear at the moment of your arrival about the availability of the rooms for the next days.
We don't have any preference about our guests and all the staff at Tepanee Beach Resort is Philippine or Italian.
Best regards,
Silvia Merli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

The private beach is fantastic, although “smallish”. However, it’s enough for the few people that use it.
My review applies to the fan cottages because that’s where I stayed. Along with the high-end rooms, they are the ONLY rooms completely facing the ocean. The hotel’s brochure advertises them as having an “amazing ocean view” and that’s not an understatement!
Fan cottages 1 or 4 should be the choice for their million-dollar-views! And they cost nothing: 1500PHP for 2 at the time of writing.
They have no hot water, but that shouldn’t be a problem. I was there in May and I never needed it.
The downside is that in very hot weather, sleeping with the ceiling fan is uncomfortable.
The interior of the cottage is as simple as it gets. Leave home any high expectation…
Both associated restaurants Chiringuito and Amihan are very good, serving large portions of creative dishes. The staff is very friendly.
Based on what I saw at Malapascua, Tepanee has no possible rival. It’s got character, good taste, a wonderful private beach and is “relatively” distant from the noisy night parties at the unattractive main beach.
Value for money wise, this was likely the best place I’ve ever stayed at!

Room Tip: Within the fan cottages, numbers 1 and 4 have the best ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ppr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

we stayed here for 3 nights. the air conditioned cottage was very comfortable and beautiful. on the third night, we had to stay in the non-air conditioned cottage due to room unavailability. the fresh-air cottage offered the best view but the humidity was awful... so if you have the budget, get the rooms with A/C.

the place is beautiful and well-maintained. breakfast was addicting.. i love the home made yogurt with honey, i put mango in it and its like magic! croissants and ciabatta breakfasts are worth ordering. staff are very friendly and would not even accept tips!

they have their own private beach so it is soooo clean and you have privacy. nice, nice, nice. would like to come back again and again!

Room Tip: stay in the air-conditioned rooms on summer season
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GingGing_Saging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Stayed at the Tepanee resort in an A/C equipped apartment with my son back in late March early April of this year. Used the resort as our base while diving most days with the very nearby TSD operation. All I can say to any would-be visitor is really study and trust the resorts own website description of itself, which in my view is to be considered honest and reliable. We both entirely enjoyed our stay and so have nothing but praise to relate. The owners, and their staff and infact everyone we met on Malapascua actually, were all really lovely. The resorts sister restaurant at the top of the nearby hill also proved a massive bonus, with a cool evening breeze, lovely views and a delightful and nicely varied menu. I would have no hesitation in recommending the Tepanee resort to any of my friends or family. My son is already planning a return trip there in early 2015.

Room Tip: Read the proprietors description of the resort and think about it carefully. I personally would have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubbletwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed here for 2 days. The island is still recovering from the super typhoon but rest assured Tepanee's accomodation will make you wow! Great value for money, the room we stayed in was so cozy, was able to sleep for hours and hours.

About the beach, don't compare to other beaches. Malapascua has it's own beauty. Clear, blue and calm. By the way Tepanee has it's own private beach front super plus plus plus!

I highly recommend this for couples who wants a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saveandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Fully recommendable place to stay while visiting Malapascua. V.good location on island, private beach(v.clean), with great sun seat view. We stayed in fan cottage with ocean view, at it was worth it!Bungalows are simple but v.clean, and well maintained.Cleaned every day. Breakfast on the beach(could be bit "bigger", after morning diving You need a propper food:))Two great Italian restaurants in vicinity. Wi-fi available for free in public areas. Logistically no issues, great communication with admin.,all arranged without any problems,private boat(if arranged, transport from Cebu city,or Cebu airport can be arranged as well) will bring You right in front of the resort. 3 min. walk from Thresher shark divers, recommendable dive shop.Owners and staff are working hard to maintainTepanee in good shape and keep real homely atmosphere.
Thank You for great time and hopefully see You again!

Room Tip: Fan cottages have amazing ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Maciej1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malapascua Island
105.2 mi away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 7 in Moalboal
446 reviews
71.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 91 in Cebu City
3,379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Malapascua Island
112 reviews
72.3 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 43 in Mactan Island
707 reviews
0.1 mi away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#4 of 13 in Malapascua Island
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tepanee Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tepanee Beach Resort

Address: Logon, 6013, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Malapascua Island
Price Range: $54 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tepanee Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malapascua is the beautiful small island of the Philippines hosting Tepanee: an intimate and friendly resort that will give you an unforgettable holiday. Tepanee stands on a small hill that rises up from Logon beach and our territory goes down to our own private sandy beach, an area isolated from the rest of the island from where it’s possible to admire breathtaking sunsets in an area secluded from the rest of the island and where we placed beach umbrellas, sunbeds, a gazebo for massages and our lovely Chiringuito beach bar. In addition, in the hill adjacent to the reception is our panoramic Amihan restaurant. The name TEPANEE comes from the name of the Polynesian frangipani plant, a tropical tree that graces our gardens with fragrant flowers of various colors. Historically, the concept for our resort followed a philosophy of low environment impact. Most of the building materials are natural and local: wood, bamboo and stones used for the main structures, roofs made of a typical straw named kogon. The buildings are almost invisible from the ocean, even if many are built right on the seaside. Opened on December 8, 2008, Tepanee in the beginning was consisted of 6 independent double cottages and one building of two storeyes with 4 triple rooms. We have grown, and can now offer you: Deluxe cottages: independent buildings with a superb ocean view, the best in Malapascua Island, facing the sundown. They feature: aircon, ceiling fan, en-suite bathroom, hot shower, minibar, safety box, balcony with sofa, queen size double bed with option for one or two extra single beds, bamboo and wooden furniture, wooden floor, entrance door and windows with mosquito screen and blackout curtains, free wifi, daily cleaning service. These cottages can accommodate up to four people. Superior cottages: independent buildings with aircon, ceiling fan, en-suite bathroom, hot shower, minibar, safety box, balcony with sofa, queen size double bed with option for one extra single bed, bamboo and wooden furniture, wood floor, windows with mosquito screen and blackout curtains, free wifi, daily cleaning service. Some cottages can accommodate an extra single bed for a fourth person. Some cottages have the ocean view, some have a partial ocean view, some have the garden view. Standard rooms: together in two different buildings of two storeys. All the rooms have a double queen sized bed and a single bed, a have private entrance, aircon, ceiling fan, en-suite bathroom, hot shower, minibar, safety box, balcony with sofa, bamboo and wooden furniture, wooden floor, windows with mosquito screen and blackout curtains, free wifi, daily cleaning service. Some rooms can accommodate an extra single bed for a fourth person. The Standard rooms have partial ocean view or garden view. We provide for the wifi in all the resort. Please, note that we are in a remote island and the service sometime may be slow or discontinuous. Since December 2012, you can eat and drink right next to our private beach, at the Chiringuito beach bar, where we serve breakfast and lunch, snacks, drinks and natural fruit juices, cocktails, with soft music in the background. In May 2013, we opened our new Amihan restaurant, in a panoramic position on the hill at the new entrance of Tepanee. We are serving the amazing Italian cuisine that Amihan had already become renowned for: pizza, vegetables, fish and grilled meats, pasta and pastries, tropical fruit, wine and much more. Tepanee Beach Resort is located in a non-flat area: from the reception to the rooms and the beach on the back there are stairs to go up and down. The steps are wide and low, but they do exist: please be aware of this when choosing our hotel for your stay. We do not provide hair-dryers and television. We provide beach towels upon request and with payment of the laundry service. We accept credit cards payments: Visa, Mastercard, American Express and JCB (bank transaction charges apply). We also accept cash payments in Pesos, Euros and US Dollars. Check-in is possible from 3:00 PM to 11:00 PM. Check-out must be completed by 12:00 noon. Reception is open from 6:00 AM to 11:00 PM. During your stay you will have direct assistance with everything concerning scuba dives and diving courses, which can be easily booked through us. Please contact our reception for all the informations and to book the dives. Tepanee organizes transfers from and to Cebu City/Airport/Pier at any time by private van and boat: our boats arrive and depart from our private beach, located inside the Tepanee Beach Resort area. Just contact our reception, please, for all the informations and to book the transfer. Our staff are delighted to respond to your requests, and we are certain that you will have all you need for relaxing and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tepanee Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tepanee Beach Hotel Malapascua Island
Tepanee Beach Resort Malapascua Island, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing