We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We could not leave! Wonderful. Thank you Vittorio” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tepanee Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tepanee Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Malapascua Island
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“We could not leave! Wonderful. Thank you Vittorio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We made email arrangements to stay next door at the White Sand Bungalows but had specifically asked for a bungalow facing the beach. It was important to us that we had a view of the ocean since it was my husband's birthday and our honeymoon. Unfortunately we arrived to a pretty average and basic accommodation (which we were okay with) but our unit was facing another hut's wall and we were not okay with that. We stayed one night there and then moved on to Tepanee.

If I could give 6 stars to Tepanee, I would! The only room available at Tepanee was called Jully. It is one of their nicest rooms directly facing their private beach. You walk into the room and look at the view, absolute relaxation hits from every angle. The room has a large wood sliding door facing the patio and the ocean. The beach bar area is quiet and directly next to the private beach. Vittorio, one of the owners, ensures the quality and the vibe of the beach bar maintains a certain quality that is refreshing. While we were there for the week, Vittorio was training his staff, teaching them to make mixed drinks and ensuring that their service is up to par. The beach bar music is tasteful and relaxing too. We had a hard time leaving the resort. We stayed three nights in Jully before moving to a different room (Jully was booked). The second room we stayed in was similar to Jully but without the view. Even without the view, we loved enjoying the resort and the Italian hospitality.

People have commented about the stairs at this resort. Yes, there are stairs. So what. Yes, you may have to carry your luggage up some stairs. There are some locals who are willing to help if you need it. The stairs are constructed out of local rocks. The rocks are jagged. I wore flip flops every day and never tripped or stumbled over the rocks. The stairs are safe and fine.

About the food and drink - they have good coffee here. For those that care, you know that after traveling around Asia for a while, it's nice to get a good cup of coffee. We ordered ice coffee or Americano daily. Wonderful. The signature drink at the resort is made with ginger and vodka. I'm not usually a vodka fan but wow - this was good. Even if you are not staying at the resort, go to the beach bar and order a drink, enjoy the private beach view. A nice change of pace from the rest of the island. The food was good too. We really enjoyed the pesto pasta and the tuna carpaccio . They even delivered breakfast to our room on my husband's birthday!

I have only one suggestion for the resort. The local ladies who work at the front desk should provide more information about the public ferry ride. We did not know that there might be a ticketing booth on logan beach and we did not know that you might have to pay a little extra to the small boats during low tide. Small boats take you to the big boats. We wish we knew exactly what was supposed to happen on our ferry ride home because the local captains are notorious for scamming tourists.

Lastly, I am trying to figure out if I can ever get back to this resort. It was a wonderful way to end a honeymoon. I was so sad to go. Sad to leave Vittorio and his Italian hospitality. Sad to leave the view.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BetsyOakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    149
    28
    12
    5
See reviews for
58
265
43
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Very confortable bungalows buit on the both hill sides. Mine got a direct and perfect view on the beach and front of the sea. Very professionnel and friendly staff. Quality Italian management. In March 2013 they were going to built the future place for the restaurant with a gorgeous view on the harbour and the village on the top of the small hill. Just THE perfect place to be in this wonderfull island !!

Reservation few months in advance because the place is really very well rated (excellent reputation) .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philgbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

This was the second time I stayed at the Tepanee beach resort. This time my family and myself stayed 6 nights in their beautiful beach cottages with sea view. The AC cottages are spacious, clean and beautifully located on the coast with a private beach area. Swimming and Snorkeling from the beach are good and there is easy access. One of our cottages had a somewhat strange smell to it, but it didn’t bother us much. On the beach there is a small café serving excellent drinks and lunches and real Italian Espresso and Capuccino. We also made use of the massage service on the beach and really felt newborn afterwards. The Staff at the beach café and massage were extremely friendly and nice, as well as the laundry service. The reception was a bit slow and not always on top of things. Overall this is a lovely resort in easy reach to the dive shops on the island and I will certainly use it again.

Room Tip: We had their DeLuxe aircon cottages, but the simpler cottages with fan are also very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HAJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

My friend and I stayed in the aircon ensuite room. The room was well-decorated and the facilities were in good working condition. The wifi was slow and unstable.

The private beach was a quiet and pleasant place to chill out. However, there were only 3 or 4 beach chairs. At night, the place was an excellent to relax and admire the sky full of stars too!

We were quite unlucky to stay during the period that they were renovating. However, the staff were nice to accommodate us by starting their renovations later in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yining23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I very much liked this small but exotic place. The resort has its own small private beach. Don't expect good snorkeling on the resort but is is very nice for a swim and relax. Small things can be improved but your are on an island and you are probably there to treater shark hunting and that is great.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank pim_de_wit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Hello travelers, My own group was rushed and consisted of a combination of children and adults that made it difficult to please. Tepanee was completely fair in problem solving and assisting us during our 3 room nights purchase. the view is wonderful, room very nice, staff completely helpful and professional. well past the point of simply being polite, these staff member are entirely capable of and deserving of top ratings.

Room Tip: private beach with immediate customer service access
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zzoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

If you are lucky and get a front cottage, the view is absolutely fabulous. We opted for a fan cottage, I must say a bit worn with a desperate need for renovation in their bathroom. The water dripped continuously for a week on the floor. We told them but no repair....Each unit have a big balcony , it was so nice..The better unit are more expensive and fairly new, with A/C. They look very nice..The staff was great, very friendly. Good food and super espresso. A treat! They have a private beach, small but nice. You can also get a massage at the beach, very cheap . We ate many times at Angelina's restaurant, just at the entrance of the hotel. Excellent Italian food. For breakfast, try the big mango pancakes at the little Filipino restaurant ''Mabuhay'' on the main beach, it's near the hotel again. We loved the island. Excellent for a week of rest.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank madyMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malapascua Island
0.3 mi away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
105.2 mi away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 6 in Moalboal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
71.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#5 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
72.2 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 41 in Mactan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tepanee Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tepanee Beach Resort

Property: Tepanee Beach Resort
Address: | Logon, 6013, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Malapascua Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tepanee Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malapascua is the beautiful small island of the Philippines hosting Tepanee: an intimate and friendly resort that will give you an unforgettable holiday. Tepanee stands on a small hill that rises up from Logon beach and our territory goes down to our own private sandy beach, an area isolated from the rest of the island from where it’s possible to admire breathtaking sunsets in an area secluded from the rest of the island and where we placed beach umbrellas, sunbeds, a gazebo for massages and our lovely Chiringuito beach bar. In addition, in the hill adjacent to the reception is our panoramic Amihan restaurant. The name TEPANEE comes from the name of the Polynesian frangipani plant, a tropical tree that graces our gardens with fragrant flowers of various colors. Historically, the concept for our resort followed a philosophy of low environment impact. Most of the building materials are natural and local: wood, bamboo and stones used for the main structures, roofs made of a typical straw named kogon. The buildings are almost invisible from the ocean, even if many are built right on the seaside. Opened on December 8, 2008, Tepanee in the beginning was consisted of 6 independent double cottages and one building of two storeyes with 4 triple rooms. We have grown, and can now offer you: Deluxe cottages: independent buildings with a superb ocean view, the best in Malapascua Island, facing the sundown. They feature: aircon, ceiling fan, en-suite bathroom, hot shower, minibar, safety box, balcony with sofa, queen size double bed with option for one or two extra single beds, bamboo and wooden furniture, wooden floor, entrance door and windows with mosquito screen and blackout curtains, free wifi, daily cleaning service. These cottages can accommodate up to four people. Superior cottages: independent buildings with aircon, ceiling fan, en-suite bathroom, hot shower, minibar, safety box, balcony with sofa, queen size double bed with option for one extra single bed, bamboo and wooden furniture, wood floor, windows with mosquito screen and blackout curtains, free wifi, daily cleaning service. Some cottages can accommodate an extra single bed for a fourth person. Some cottages have the ocean view, some have a partial ocean view, some have the garden view. Standard rooms: together in two different buildings of two storeys. All the rooms have a double queen sized bed and a single bed, a have private entrance, aircon, ceiling fan, en-suite bathroom, hot shower, minibar, safety box, balcony with sofa, bamboo and wooden furniture, wooden floor, windows with mosquito screen and blackout curtains, free wifi, daily cleaning service. Some rooms can accommodate an extra single bed for a fourth person. The Standard rooms have partial ocean view or garden view. We provide for the wifi in all the resort. Please, note that we are in a remote island and the service sometime may be slow or discontinuous. Since December 2012, you can eat and drink right next to our private beach, at the Chiringuito beach bar, where we serve breakfast and lunch, snacks, drinks and natural fruit juices, cocktails, with soft music in the background. In May 2013, we opened our new Amihan restaurant, in a panoramic position on the hill at the new entrance of Tepanee. We are serving the amazing Italian cuisine that Amihan had already become renowned for: pizza, vegetables, fish and grilled meats, pasta and pastries, tropical fruit, wine and much more. Tepanee Beach Resort is located in a non-flat area: from the reception to the rooms and the beach on the back there are stairs to go up and down. The steps are wide and low, but they do exist: please be aware of this when choosing our hotel for your stay. We do not provide hair-dryers and television. We provide beach towels upon request and with payment of the laundry service. We accept credit cards payments: Visa, Mastercard, American Express and JCB (bank transaction charges apply). We also accept cash payments in Pesos, Euros and US Dollars. Check-in is possible from 3:00 PM to 11:00 PM. Check-out must be completed by 12:00 noon. Reception is open from 6:00 AM to 11:00 PM. During your stay you will have direct assistance with everything concerning scuba dives and diving courses, which can be easily booked through us. Please contact our reception for all the informations and to book the dives. Tepanee organizes transfers from and to Cebu City/Airport/Pier at any time by private van and boat: our boats arrive and depart from our private beach, located inside the Tepanee Beach Resort area. Just contact our reception, please, for all the informations and to book the transfer. Our staff are delighted to respond to your requests, and we are certain that you will have all you need for relaxing and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Tepanee Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tepanee Beach Hotel Malapascua Island
Tepanee Beach Resort Malapascua Island, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing