We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst for service but they do have a great view... if you are lucky and get a good room... and don't need A/C.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tepanee Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Malapascua Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2012

It was hard to get a reservation at this location but was finally able to reach them by phone.

It is situated between the two main beaches on the Island. If you tell the boat person the hotel, they will drop you right at beach. (see later part about getting to and from the island).

Pros:
1. The views from the beach front rooms are amazing.
2. More quiet than hotels located on the main beach. Less people traffic.
3. They have a nice isolated beach with nice lounge chairs.
4. There is a guard who watches the beach entrance.
5. You can get a great massage next to the beach for 300p/hr
6. It is located between the main beach (where all the dive shops and thus most rests) and other beach where the village is located so you get good access to both.
7. There is a decent (yet more expensive) resto next door. Angelina. Italian fare. Great Chocolate Panna Cotto).
8. For decent local food at 1/3 the costs of the beach restos go to Ging Ging. Ask anyone.
9. Very close is the Mabuhay rest. Owned by a really friendly guy named Noli. They have a daily all-you-can eat buffet of Cebu Roasted Pig (Lechon), fresh fish and other things grilled to order, and many other local favorites from 6-9pm. Costs is only 299p. We ate there two nights in a row and probably gained a few kilos. The whole staff (family owned) is great. Get there at 6 for best selection.
Cons:
1. Except the guard (which we didn't even notice until 2nd night), there is nobody on duty after 10pm.
2. I will use my friend's description to explain the front desk staff: "useless". I have stayed a MANY places in my 4 months of travel. The front desk here rates DEAD last.
We only needed the front desk for a few things. a. wi-fi b. what time and where do you get the boat back to the main island c. what's the bus schedule back to Cebu. d. Where to eat. Although the wi-fi wouldn't work. She simply said, "sorry, it should"... no other help. "there is nothing I can do". Times of the boat? " I don't know." Where do you catch the boat? "not sure...Somewhere down the beach." Times of the bus? "I don't know." Even the next day after we asked her to check. "Sorry, I don't know." Front desk can tell you one thing. If they have a room and to collect your money.
3. If you have issues with stairs, take caution. There are more steps than most other hotels in the area but more importantly, they used very sharp volcanic rocks for their construction. So always where good shoes and be very careful, if you trip (which is easy since there are many trip points, you will get all cut up. I hiked through the mountains many times this trip so it was ok for me but I saw one lady almost lose it trying to lug up here luggage.
4. The a/c room didn't have wi-fi although it was suppose to. it did work if you sit on the back steps outside but not all the time (which is unacceptable). Also the room was VERY musty and moldy smell. They actually had scent sticks with extra packs on the table for us to use. So they knew this but don't tell you when you book nor have been able to get ride of the smell.
5. There were a few cockroaches in the rooms. There were some tiny ants in the non a/c room.

General comments: (long , but good info)

Do you need a/c? We came in late March. So it depends. The first night, I think we would have been really hot with a/c until it rained. Second night, after that cold front came in... no need.

Getting to the island. From the airport, you can take a yellow taxi (about 200p) to the northern bus terminal. Bring change, although you'd think a taxi should have change, our taxi guy was one of most lazy drivers. He only had 1000's on him. He said it was his first fare of the day. I think he makes too much money. I say lazy because most "businessmen" I have met in Philippines would have jumped out of the cab and found some change. He just sat there in his a/c and made us get out to find it. Then he was insulted we wouldn't give him a tip.
There are two companies that go north. You are going to the port of Maya. Just ask. We took the yellow buses. They have many non a/c for under 100p. We opted for the a/c bus for 170p. They don't go as often but was worth the wait and money. The trip is suppose to take 4 to 4 1/2 hours, ours took 5 1/2 hours. Once you finally get there. You will take a banca (boat) to the island for 80p. They are suppose to leave every 1/2 hour. But seem to skip if there aren't enough people. Be warned!!!!! You will likely be greeted by one or two "helpful" guys that seem nice at first but are really out to swindle you. They tried to charge us 150p each. We met some French people at our hotel that were charged 1000!!!! These guys will also try to tell you there isn't a boat or it is full or there won't be for a while. Then offer a private boat for 1000p or 2000p. This is a real option if there really isn't a boat. But many cases it's not true. In fact, our French friends were first told this and said for 1000p, you can get a private boat. But when they finally left, there were 10 people aboard. Once you get to the island, you will most likely met by smaller boats if low tide. They shouldn't charge you more but some will try. I just gave him 20p since he actually took us to our hotel and was happy. Getting back. Again, people will tell you they leave every half hour. We came and left from the other beach near the main beach (can't remember the name), we got boat area at 11:20, but they told us no boat until 12:00. It's 80p. Once again, when you get to Maya. Watch out for the same couple guys trying to tell you there is no a/c bus for a while and you should take a cab for 1000p. Find the bus dispatcher and ask him the real times. We were told before the a/c bus left at 1pm. But when we got to Maya, that was not the case. Dispatcher said 1:30 maybe 2pm. So we were hounded by the taxi people. But in the end, after very good negotiating, we found a taxi for 600p! Took us 3 hours. In the end, it was worth it. It took us to our hotel on Macatan Island (near the airport). Bus and taxi from bus terminal would have costs 640p. So if you have at least two people, work a deal for a taxi. Note, we found out that Maya "taxi/bus/boat" swindler makes 100p for every taxi that leaves that port. Our driver told us.

Room Tip: a/c plus fan room (2500p): claim they have wi-fi in the room. Didn't work for us. Did work on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank FECTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (575)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

342 - 348 of 575 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2012

We booked Tepanee because was considered the best hotel in Malapascua, but we were not expecting this! The hotel is built respecting the environment, all the rooms are nested in a lush, clean garden just in front of a fantastic beach. The staff is always cleaning the beach, the garden or the rooms: you don't see them often, but they are around, very kind and nice. The rooms are cosy and well equipped, with all the things you need in this tropical island. You will not find anywere else in Malapascua a place so quiet, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liita E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I stayed here for 10 days and new what to expected and small hut with a breathtaking view of the sea through the trees.

A fan , a bathroom and a plug socket for my gadgets was all I needed and maybe the mosquito net.

Brillant place to stay if you want to live away from the modern world!


Loved it!

Room Tip: wifi is available in the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blusty2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed in the logon beach portion of resort. Beautiful location. Private beach. Staff were friendly. We never ate at the restaurant.Prices were very high compared to other places nearby. And we felt like if you didn't know Italian you were odd man out . Of course we have seen that a few other times on our travels.? Whats with that . After about night 4 we discovered bites on our hands and arms. that were Not mosquito inflicted. We noticed the sheets in the bungalow were ill fitted. and at night slid off. exposing old foam. We are pretty sure we were getting Bed Bug bites. We left a day early as i did not want to get bit anymore.I think the management has to devote a little more effort to the Logon beach bungalows

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

View from balcony of standard double room (it seems like these rooms originally belong to Logon beach resort, next to Tepanee) is really fantastic! Room is basic but comfortable. Private beach area is very nice and tranquil especially in the morning. It's on the other side of main beach lined with several resorts and restaurants, but still just 5-10 minutes walk away from it and local shops. This place was far above my expectation.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buutan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Remember to switch off all electric appliance before you leave your room, Mrs. Andrea (Owner's wife) will put you extra charge otherwise.
Dont ask for changing your bed sheet if you find it dirty, since they dont believe, unless she take a look and check-up.

Room Tip: facing to beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank johndiver-china
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

i was there for 2 weeks and i really had good holiday...very nice place..the business is runned by a friendly couple of italian people and they really made a good work.the resort has been recently builded with taste andthe place is lovelly.Private beach and all srvices.really difficult to find a place like this in Philipppines and the price are competitive.I advise everybody to try this resort

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark298573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malapascua Island
105.2 mi away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 7 in Moalboal
480 reviews
0.4 mi away
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Malapascua Island
127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
71.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 92 in Cebu City
3,592 reviews
72.3 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#8 of 43 in Mactan Island
744 reviews
0.1 mi away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#4 of 13 in Malapascua Island
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tepanee Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tepanee Beach Resort

Address: Logon | Daanbantayan, Cebu, 6013, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Malapascua Island
Price Range: $67 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tepanee Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malapascua is the beautiful small island of the Philippines hosting Tepanee: an intimate and friendly resort that will give you an unforgettable holiday. Tepanee stands on a small hill that rises up from Logon beach and our territory goes down to our own private sandy beach, an area isolated from the rest of the island from where it’s possible to admire breathtaking sunsets in an area secluded from the rest of the island and where we placed beach umbrellas, sunbeds, a gazebo for massages and our lovely Chiringuito beach bar. In addition, in the hill adjacent to the reception is our panoramic Amihan restaurant. The name TEPANEE comes from the name of the Polynesian frangipani plant, a tropical tree that graces our gardens with fragrant flowers of various colors. Historically, the concept for our resort followed a philosophy of low environment impact. Most of the building materials are natural and local: wood, bamboo and stones used for the main structures, roofs made of a typical straw named kogon. The buildings are almost invisible from the ocean, even if many are built right on the seaside. Opened on December 8, 2008, Tepanee in the beginning was consisted of 6 independent double cottages and one building of two storeyes with 4 triple rooms. We have grown, and can now offer you: Deluxe cottages: independent buildings with a superb ocean view, the best in Malapascua Island, facing the sundown. They feature: aircon, ceiling fan, en-suite bathroom, hot shower, minibar, safety box, balcony with sofa, queen size double bed with option for one or two extra single beds, bamboo and wooden furniture, wooden floor, entrance door and windows with mosquito screen and blackout curtains, free wifi, daily cleaning service. These cottages can accommodate up to four people. Superior cottages: independent buildings with aircon, ceiling fan, en-suite bathroom, hot shower, minibar, safety box, balcony with sofa, queen size double bed with option for one extra single bed, bamboo and wooden furniture, wood floor, windows with mosquito screen and blackout curtains, free wifi, daily cleaning service. Some cottages can accommodate an extra single bed for a fourth person. Some cottages have the ocean view, some have a partial ocean view, some have the garden view. Standard rooms: together in two different buildings of two storeys. All the rooms have a double queen sized bed and a single bed, a have private entrance, aircon, ceiling fan, en-suite bathroom, hot shower, minibar, safety box, balcony with sofa, bamboo and wooden furniture, wooden floor, windows with mosquito screen and blackout curtains, free wifi, daily cleaning service. Some rooms can accommodate an extra single bed for a fourth person. The Standard rooms have partial ocean view or garden view. We provide for the wifi in all the resort. Please, note that we are in a remote island and the service sometime may be slow or discontinuous. Since December 2012, you can eat and drink right next to our private beach, at the Chiringuito beach bar, where we serve breakfast and lunch, snacks, drinks and natural fruit juices, cocktails, with soft music in the background. In May 2013, we opened our new Amihan restaurant, in a panoramic position on the hill at the new entrance of Tepanee. We are serving the amazing Italian cuisine that Amihan had already become renowned for: pizza, vegetables, fish and grilled meats, pasta and pastries, tropical fruit, wine and much more. Tepanee Beach Resort is located in a non-flat area: from the reception to the rooms and the beach on the back there are stairs to go up and down. The steps are wide and low, but they do exist: please be aware of this when choosing our hotel for your stay. We do not provide hair-dryers and television. We provide beach towels upon request and with payment of the laundry service. We accept credit cards payments: Visa, Mastercard, American Express and JCB (bank transaction charges apply). We also accept cash payments in Pesos, Euros and US Dollars. Check-in is possible from 3:00 PM to 11:00 PM. Check-out must be completed by 12:00 noon. Reception is open from 6:00 AM to 11:00 PM. During your stay you will have direct assistance with everything concerning scuba dives and diving courses, which can be easily booked through us. Please contact our reception for all the informations and to book the dives. Tepanee organizes transfers from and to Cebu City/Airport/Pier at any time by private van and boat: our boats arrive and depart from our private beach, located inside the Tepanee Beach Resort area. Just contact our reception, please, for all the informations and to book the transfer. Our staff are delighted to respond to your requests, and we are certain that you will have all you need for relaxing and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Tepanee Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tepanee Beach Hotel Malapascua Island
Tepanee Beach Resort Malapascua Island, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing