We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far above my expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tepanee Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Malapascua Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2012

View from balcony of standard double room (it seems like these rooms originally belong to Logon beach resort, next to Tepanee) is really fantastic! Room is basic but comfortable. Private beach area is very nice and tranquil especially in the morning. It's on the other side of main beach lined with several resorts and restaurants, but still just 5-10 minutes walk away from it and local shops. This place was far above my expectation.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buutan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

341 - 347 of 565 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2012

Remember to switch off all electric appliance before you leave your room, Mrs. Andrea (Owner's wife) will put you extra charge otherwise.
Dont ask for changing your bed sheet if you find it dirty, since they dont believe, unless she take a look and check-up.

Room Tip: facing to beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank johndiver-china
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

i was there for 2 weeks and i really had good holiday...very nice place..the business is runned by a friendly couple of italian people and they really made a good work.the resort has been recently builded with taste andthe place is lovelly.Private beach and all srvices.really difficult to find a place like this in Philipppines and the price are competitive.I advise everybody to try this resort

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark298573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Malapascua is an amazing island with beautiful beaches and a lovely village, and a lot of snorkelling and diving to do...but also long walks along the sandy streets which are connecting the different 2 sides of the island passing beach by beach trough amazing flowers and vegetation. The Hotel is part of this little island showing itself with comfort and a very nice, well prepared and efficient staff. The room was very nice and with comfortable space, a terrace with a sofa, and a very nice bathroom. The staff is always nice and available to give any kind of information about boat trips, spots to visit, arranging car pick up and transfers to the airport which make the journey to the Island really easier. Time at the beach is amazing: comfortable beach beds, beach umbrellas, amazing water to snorkel, massage service and nobody who's coming to bother to sell things. In the bathroom only hand soap was available, so the only tip is to bring your own shampoo, conditioner, body wash!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eugenia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Tepanee was very nice and quiet resort. The bungalows are build on a steep ridge "behind" the end of main beach, and have access to a smaller beach. There is a couple of minutes walk from the main beach, and the island is quite dark at night, so remember to bring a torch. The housekeeping was ok, and we had no hassle with payments, as we booked and paid through TSD, one of the very few facilities on island that actually accepts credit cards, and has international payment systems in place. We also had a set of laundry done, at that service was good. There seemed to be a lot of mosquitos around the area, but the repellent system in room kept them at bay. Electricity was constant, and decent quality. The restaurant at the lower end of the stairs was nice, and very Italian.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mleivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

If you're looking a resort with a value for money, this resort is highly recommended.

Travelled with my family and friends. I booked 3 aircon rooms and the place was awesome. Each room its own fridge and heater which work fine during our stay. Credits also to Julie and Marilyn their reception staff who are very helpful when we reached the resort and during our stay. Never got the chance to meet the owner and their asst manager the time of our stay but not an issue anyway. Place is secluded and very private and just nice for our needs. Booked the resort and made payment deposit through bank transfer as they do not have online booking and so far so good. To avoid any delays, I also include the transportation in which the resort was able to arrange for us. We had our safe trip with Edwin the van driver and Andy the boatman which made our journey a smooth sailing until we reach back to the mainland.

The resort does not have their own restaurant but there is Angelinas Italian restaurant next door. We had our Pizza for dinner on our first night and bread on one of our breakfast. If you want food with reasonable price, you can go to Ging-Ging's restaurant 10 mins walk from the resort, we spend our lunch and dinner their and it is the only restaurant offering good food with reasonable price. There are also restos along the main beach but quite pricy, we only eat their once and never go back for the rest of our stay.

I have tried their outdoor massage at the gazebo just outside at the back of the resort. I find it good and relaxing as well.

For our overall stay, I could say its awesome and definitely go back if got the chance again to visit malapascua.

I definitely stay again in this resort if got the chance to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yragstanyadz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Stayed at this lovely resort during my stay in Malapascua. The room is clean and the price is very reasonable! It took around half hour from the mainland to reach here depending on the waves as well. All the furniture were made from bamboo so it gives me a very relaxed and getaway feeling.

The downside of this resort is that the tap water was always running slow, I believe its the same for all resort as the whole resort is running on generator. It is a very short walking distance to the main beach where they have all the nightlife with drinks and dancing.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexKhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malapascua Island
105.2 mi away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 7 in Moalboal
468 reviews
0.4 mi away
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Malapascua Island
123 reviews
71.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 92 in Cebu City
3,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
425 reviews
72.3 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 43 in Mactan Island
730 reviews
0.1 mi away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#4 of 13 in Malapascua Island
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tepanee Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tepanee Beach Resort

Address: Logon, 6013, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Malapascua Island
Price Range: $68 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tepanee Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malapascua is the beautiful small island of the Philippines hosting Tepanee: an intimate and friendly resort that will give you an unforgettable holiday. Tepanee stands on a small hill that rises up from Logon beach and our territory goes down to our own private sandy beach, an area isolated from the rest of the island from where it’s possible to admire breathtaking sunsets in an area secluded from the rest of the island and where we placed beach umbrellas, sunbeds, a gazebo for massages and our lovely Chiringuito beach bar. In addition, in the hill adjacent to the reception is our panoramic Amihan restaurant. The name TEPANEE comes from the name of the Polynesian frangipani plant, a tropical tree that graces our gardens with fragrant flowers of various colors. Historically, the concept for our resort followed a philosophy of low environment impact. Most of the building materials are natural and local: wood, bamboo and stones used for the main structures, roofs made of a typical straw named kogon. The buildings are almost invisible from the ocean, even if many are built right on the seaside. Opened on December 8, 2008, Tepanee in the beginning was consisted of 6 independent double cottages and one building of two storeyes with 4 triple rooms. We have grown, and can now offer you: Deluxe cottages: independent buildings with a superb ocean view, the best in Malapascua Island, facing the sundown. They feature: aircon, ceiling fan, en-suite bathroom, hot shower, minibar, safety box, balcony with sofa, queen size double bed with option for one or two extra single beds, bamboo and wooden furniture, wooden floor, entrance door and windows with mosquito screen and blackout curtains, free wifi, daily cleaning service. These cottages can accommodate up to four people. Superior cottages: independent buildings with aircon, ceiling fan, en-suite bathroom, hot shower, minibar, safety box, balcony with sofa, queen size double bed with option for one extra single bed, bamboo and wooden furniture, wood floor, windows with mosquito screen and blackout curtains, free wifi, daily cleaning service. Some cottages can accommodate an extra single bed for a fourth person. Some cottages have the ocean view, some have a partial ocean view, some have the garden view. Standard rooms: together in two different buildings of two storeys. All the rooms have a double queen sized bed and a single bed, a have private entrance, aircon, ceiling fan, en-suite bathroom, hot shower, minibar, safety box, balcony with sofa, bamboo and wooden furniture, wooden floor, windows with mosquito screen and blackout curtains, free wifi, daily cleaning service. Some rooms can accommodate an extra single bed for a fourth person. The Standard rooms have partial ocean view or garden view. We provide for the wifi in all the resort. Please, note that we are in a remote island and the service sometime may be slow or discontinuous. Since December 2012, you can eat and drink right next to our private beach, at the Chiringuito beach bar, where we serve breakfast and lunch, snacks, drinks and natural fruit juices, cocktails, with soft music in the background. In May 2013, we opened our new Amihan restaurant, in a panoramic position on the hill at the new entrance of Tepanee. We are serving the amazing Italian cuisine that Amihan had already become renowned for: pizza, vegetables, fish and grilled meats, pasta and pastries, tropical fruit, wine and much more. Tepanee Beach Resort is located in a non-flat area: from the reception to the rooms and the beach on the back there are stairs to go up and down. The steps are wide and low, but they do exist: please be aware of this when choosing our hotel for your stay. We do not provide hair-dryers and television. We provide beach towels upon request and with payment of the laundry service. We accept credit cards payments: Visa, Mastercard, American Express and JCB (bank transaction charges apply). We also accept cash payments in Pesos, Euros and US Dollars. Check-in is possible from 3:00 PM to 11:00 PM. Check-out must be completed by 12:00 noon. Reception is open from 6:00 AM to 11:00 PM. During your stay you will have direct assistance with everything concerning scuba dives and diving courses, which can be easily booked through us. Please contact our reception for all the informations and to book the dives. Tepanee organizes transfers from and to Cebu City/Airport/Pier at any time by private van and boat: our boats arrive and depart from our private beach, located inside the Tepanee Beach Resort area. Just contact our reception, please, for all the informations and to book the transfer. Our staff are delighted to respond to your requests, and we are certain that you will have all you need for relaxing and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com and Orbitz so you can book your Tepanee Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tepanee Beach Hotel Malapascua Island
Tepanee Beach Resort Malapascua Island, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing