We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“U have to try their food!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Malapascua Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed here for 4 days and each day we only ate at their restaurant trying different dishes and surprisingly they were all delicious! We didn't get to try other restaurants on the island because my boyfriend wanted to try all their food and he wasn't disappointed may it be filipino, american or asian dishes. The price is not that bad, maybe a dish can cost from P200 to P700 if I remember it correctly. Typical resort food prices. The free breakfast was tasty too.

Room was pretty basic and clean with a big bed and lots of space. We didn't really get to swim that much because the weather wasn't great when we were there and when it was sunny enough to swim, the water was a little dirty with bottles and seaweeds so we probably just got to swim for 30 minutes. I can't really say much about the staff, we didn't really talk to them that much but they were pleasant enough when we ordered food and during check out.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kriselle21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 331 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014

To access the resort, one has to make a crossing from the main island to the shore of the resort. Prepare small change for porter's fee and toilet access at the main island jetty - don't expect any change ... Be ready to walk on coral stones on main island side and wet landing on the resort beach.
Room wise, all is clean and everything works. However, the soap and shampoo provided by the resort are very basic, so bring your own if you like luxurious shampoos. Blankets are thin and small, so bring something extra to cover oneself. Pillows need new stuffing when I was there - but this will not deprive one of sleep after the nice food and great diving.
Staff are responsive and very polite. Dive guides are good and knowledgeable. Personal pointers are not allowed for divers, so be ready to improvise underwater.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tants_bsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

The resort was POSH. So me! The room we had which we did not reserve by the way was amazing! Very spacious and clean with two balcony. The staff were very friendly and they were never tired cooking bacon for us for the unlimited breakfast!! I am definitely going back to this place!!!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Prettyreese11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

I was here and this place is great. No words can express how much beautiful this place is. The rooms are nice, clean and big. Good food too, delicious than we expected. The staffs are also friendly, respectful and funny. They entertain each and everyone of us.

I am 100% sure that you won't regret staying in this place. Best place to relax!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank HiddenParadisee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The title says it all -- it couldn't have been better.

We were a group of six, spread across three rooms and couldn't have had a better time.

Dive staff were fantastic, as were bar/restaurant/room staff.

You're not going to a 5* luxury resort, but you know that when you book here. The rooms are on the basic side, but you don't need much more than a clean bed and a decent shower.

The food in the restaurant is good, (there are plenty of options along the beach too) and the bar is open late.

Oh, and the thresher sharks are UNBELIEVABLE! We dived with them on three mornings out of four, and saw them each time.

No complaints here -- just recommendations!

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite and the one directly below it are easily the best in the resort, and at very little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Exotic Dive Resort for 8 days while on a Medical Mission to Malapascua with the organization Hospitals for Humanity. We arrived a week after the typhoon when the whole island was trying to recover from this devastating storm. Joa and his whole staff could not have been nicer to our team. They went out of their way to help in any way needed. The restaurant staff deserves special praise. The food they prepared and served was way above what we expected due to shortages caused by the storm. Everything I had during my stay was excellent. The menu is varied and there is surely something that will please anyone. The drinks were excellent and artfully prepared. The kindness and pleasant attitudes displayed by the staff will not be forgotten by me. They made our stay memorable even though we were on a Medical Mission working under grueling conditions. Our return to the Exotic at the end of our work day, going to the bar, having a drink, watching the sunset-priceless!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank ChuckL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Having just returned from exotic dive resort I can honestly say in 19 years of diving and travelling to most of the top dive spots around the world Malapascua and the exotic resort has to have been the best yet! The diving day starts early but is well worth it as every time on monad shoal we have up to 4 threshers around us, some very very close. After the early dive there's the option to do up to another 3 dives on the local sites which all have some of the best macro diving you'll ever see.

The rooms at the resort are good clean and comfortable and the menu in the restaurant had to be seen to be believed! The amount of choice. Even the most fussiest eater would be hard pushed not to find something.

During my stay we were hit by typhoon Haiyan and can only reiterate what others have said about the staff and locals of the island being fantastic.

For anyone thinking that after the typhoon they might change their plans to travel to Malapascua please don't. In the 3 days we were on the island exotic staff could not do enough during and after to make our stay as safe and comfortable as possible. The grounds of the hotel were being cleared as quick as they could and the staff were all busy getting the rooms and buildings looking back to their best, all with a big smile on their faces :) On my last morning a dive boat left for monad shoal and returned just before I left the island and the best news was that the thresher sharks were still there.

Thanks all at exotic dive resort I really can't wait to come back and see you all :)

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tecdivermark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malapascua Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
547 reviews
0.5 mi away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#4 of 13 in Malapascua Island
244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Malapascua Island
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hippocampus Beach Resort
Hippocampus Beach Resort
#6 of 13 in Malapascua Island
176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malapascua Legend
Malapascua Legend
#10 of 13 in Malapascua Island
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort

Address: 6013, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Malapascua Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Malapascua Island
Price Range: $46 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are thinking of diving or staying in Malapascua consider us your first choice. We have everything you need for a relaxing, exciting, enjoyable stay with first class facilities and service. Exotic is the pioneer dive resort on Malapascua. The first dive shop to open on the island in 1998, Exotic has grown over the years and is now the leading dive resort on the island, without compromising its original laid-back charm and outstanding service. Our continued expansion is a result of our customer’s loyalty and desire to revisit and share their Exotic experience with others. Why not come and see what brings people back to us year after year? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive And Beach Resort
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Hotel Malapascua Island
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort Malapascua Island, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing