We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay & dive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Malapascua Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed four nights at Exotic Island Dive and were supremely satisfied with our value for money. The resort is right on a pristine beach but the quiet end of it; our room was roomy and nicely appointed; the restaurant menu was versatile (Filipino, Thai, "Asian", Continental) and the food uniformly exceptional; and the diving and dive masters really good. And the prices were right. Exotic got our 2-week diving vacation in the Philippines off to the best possible start and has our unqualified recommendation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

154 - 160 of 336 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

Malapascua Island is certainly pretty with white sandy beaches and palm trees. There is nothing else on the island except dive resorts and the local village. The Exotic resort is located down one end of the beach which gives it a private secluded feel.

The dive operation is very well run, the boats are roomy and most have a toilet. The induction given to us by Rebekah the dive manager was certainly the best we have ever had. The setup, wash down and storage areas are well organised and layed out. The thresher shark dive was absolutely amazing! We are very travelled divers and the thresher dive certainly will rate up there in our 'most amazing dives' list. Was even better than we had expected. Despite a large number of divers being present on the dive It was well managed.

The Threshers are certainly what you come for - the other diving in the area is okay but the lack of fish life and the odd sound of dynamite being used to fish made us wonder if the location has suffered from over fishing!

The rooms in the resort have every thing you need and are very clean ( we stayed in a super deluxe). Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and when we reported air conditioner was broken a replacement was fitted within an hour!

The restaurant has a huge selection of food and vegetarians are well cared for - the selection was so good we didn't bother to eat else where.
The transfer to and from the resort was seamless. Takes about 4 hours in a nice new airconditioned car and our driver Norman found good spots to stop for food and 'comfort' stops. We transferred over by boat at night - tip here is keep your torch out if you have one as not much light on the boat.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJ-Scuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights here with my fiancé last week and spent a thousand dollar for divings and room rental. Foods are great but super expensive. I can recommend this place for European tourists who are looking for a place that suit their lifestyles and way if living. We had a peaceful sleep on our stay..the room was spacious and has its own balcony if u want some fresh air. Pillows and mattress were not really that soft but it was okay. Just dint expect for a fresh water on the showers. The safari tour to sembawan island was superb but some kinda expensive too. We enjoyed our visit in this island and
We would love to stay in this place again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billeah10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We started our holiday in Malapascua at this resort that was the most expensive. It was rated 3 and 4 star depending on different web sites. We arrived after 2 days on travel and the room was not ready despite the promised check in time. So we sat down in teh restaurnat to wait and use the wiifi, but it turned out that the Wifi only worked in close proximity to the bar area!
The staff is friendly, but the reception staff are not very helpful if you have any enquries.
Our holiday didnt really start off well, since I got foof poisoning after the first meal in the hotel! That spoiled the first days here. So I couldnt really trust the food in the restaurant and we ate out every night.

If yiu are going for diving its suposed to be a great diving shop here. The bathroom is not that great and there is little power in the shower, but I suppose that the situation is more or like teh same on the whole island.
The most positive about the resort is the friendly staff in the restaurant and that you have a quiet nice beach.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noreen_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights, the location is just amazing. Right on the famous diving spot area of Malapascua, you cannot get a better location. Rooms, especially the toilets need big time improvement. We stayed in a suite & the toilet was stinking & water getting clogged. Food has good variety. Overall excellent if u improve the room, it is no less than a 4 star

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank palamitwipro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I'd have to say that Exotic is the best in the island. We stayed in the newly built beachside rooms. It still had the slight smell of paint. The room is large and the bathroom is also spacious. It has a flat screen TV which didn't work and well, we never stayed much in the room to be watching TV anyway. The best part I liked about the room is the big balcony which overlooks the beach. What I found weird though was that the light switches, towel hanger, soap holder, shower handle etc were set up too high...were they expecting very tall guests? :))

There is no big hotel chain in the island yet so most hotels are owned and run by the locals and a few foreigners and much of the service/management can still be improved. The prices are still very much reasonable though.

One thing I loved about Exotic is its location being at the end part of the Bounty Beach. Hence, it is very private, quieter and it seemed like you have the beach all to yourself. They have hammocks and chairs under the trees by the beach so it is very relaxing and we practically just stayed there the whole day. We just ordered meals from the restaurant and they would bring the food out to us.

Exotic also serves very good food that's why we took all our meals there because we didn't fancy the menu of other restaurants (except that of The Craic House). The waiters are also very courteous, attentive and very friendly.

Am i coming back here? Definitely!

Room Tip: Get the honeyroom suite coz it's a corner room and you get two sides of the beach view. You get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tambalyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed at the exotic for 6 days in our round trip through the Pilipinas, and it was one of our favourite locations.
The island has a very layed back atmosphere to it with some nice bars and hangouts. Do go into the village behind the resorts also, it's worth it...

The room at exotic was perfect, next to the restaurant with beach view, no noise from the restaurant at all. The food is nice, but really over priced. That was the only down point.
The fresh fruit shakes are irresistable though!

Service is good, no complaints.

The dive shop attached is really really well organised by Joa and Rebecca, and even though it was busy everyone remembered your name after day one.
The guides recognize everyone's gear and make sure it ends up in your own box. This was really exeptional.
Ofcourse everywhere there are less good guides as well, but we had some very good ones.
The guides are allmost all local and really have fun doing there jobs as guides, which makes it a pleasure to dive with them instead of a 'must so'.
The personal approach and care were memorable. Divesites varied a lot, but the day trips are to some of the most beautifull places i've seen in the phillipines, like Kalanggaman and Gato Island.

Be aware that the day trips cost extra, so do night dives. We thought this was a bit too much, but the dives were surely worth it in retrospective.

It's definately a place I could return to, breakfast is nice, but for dinner and lunch look around on the island as well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malapascua Island
0.6 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
560 reviews
0.5 mi away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#4 of 13 in Malapascua Island
249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Malapascua Island
115 reviews
72.4 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 43 in Mactan Island
723 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hippocampus Beach Resort
Hippocampus Beach Resort
#6 of 13 in Malapascua Island
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort

Address: 6013, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Malapascua Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Malapascua Island
Price Range: $53 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are thinking of diving or staying in Malapascua consider us your first choice. We have everything you need for a relaxing, exciting, enjoyable stay with first class facilities and service. Exotic is the pioneer dive resort on Malapascua. The first dive shop to open on the island in 1998, Exotic has grown over the years and is now the leading dive resort on the island, without compromising its original laid-back charm and outstanding service. Our continued expansion is a result of our customer’s loyalty and desire to revisit and share their Exotic experience with others. Why not come and see what brings people back to us year after year? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Orbitz so you can book your Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Hotel Malapascua Island
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive And Beach Resort
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort Malapascua Island, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing