We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent beach, Nice restaurant, helpful staff....only...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Malapascua Island
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
749 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 659 helpful votes
“Excellent beach, Nice restaurant, helpful staff....only...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

We enjoyed hopping from one place/restaurant/beach to another within the small island of Malapascua last December. We came to have a stop for a swim and was staying up to the afternoon after the lunch in this resort. The beach was very clean and inviting and the day was very nice, sunny and just enough breeze to make the water still. We almost stayed the whole day in there because we liked the ambiance, helpful staff clean area and the restaurant..

Food were nice.. the only part of it was their "tomato juice" which was just being squeezed from one or two fresh tomatoes with ice cold water then djaraaaaan.. served! Not a bit of sweetness and bland, more water with little pale pinkish color. I said what is that? answer.. your order Maam, Tomato juice! (for 80 pesos) of course i was expecting a thick red juice. with a small pack of salt with it. I hope the management can check this out because this is placed in there menu. I am sorry, maybe i am not aware of the new presentation but.... i am not sure that was it.

I still wish to come back to Malapascua and be there in that restaurant again. Hope i can not taste a tomato juice like that again in this very nice beach resort.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MijnlieverdFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    109
    27
    14
    10
See reviews for
32
120
43
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

We booked a stay at exotic island dive resort from dec 31 to jan 10th.

We also booked a transfer from and to the airport, which is extremely overpriced but really your only way to get there. The taxi came to pick us up from the airport, no problem.
We even made a stop at mcdonalds to grab a bite. So we were happily on our way to the hotel. When we got to maya it was already quite late so there were no more boats going. We had already booked, so no problem there. For some reason the boat could not reach the shore, i think due to the current and heavy waves.

There are small boats at the shore which can take you to the island, but the little mafioso wanted us to pay them 50 peso each to take us to the boat. We have already paid a huge amount of money to be brought to the hotel. We paid for the full trip, not to bring us halfway only to have to pay again to make it to the end.

It's really only 1 euro, but it's the aggressiveness how they wanted us to pay that made us decide not to pay. We then called lani from reception that we felt mistreated. She said we would not have to pay, but they still wanted the money. At this point we were there for 10 minutes and decided to pay them. They then said they would not take us because of the high waves.

The boat captain of the hotel boat then swam to the island to talk to us. He said it was no problem and we should wait for 20 minutes so the boat could come closer. He kept on saying this untill we were waiting there for 2 full hours!! They brought a smaller boat from the island to come pick us up. Our luggage was loaded onto the boat, but i wanted to hang on to my laptop. However, to get on the boat i had to put my laptop there first. By the time i got on the boat, the crew had already moved my laptop. We then sailed to the bigger boat which would take us to the island. At this point it became clear why the locals did not want to take us, the waves were huge.

Getting from one boat to the other was quite a feat because the waves kept rocking the boats to a difference of 1 or 2 meters. The big boat actually crashed into the small boat with a huge cracking sound, it was chaos all over. We got to the bigger boat and had to watch the smaller boat fighting the waves which seemed a loosing battle. The boats kept hitting the waves, and the waves were raining over our luggage, a painfull thing to watch for two hours. However there were also two small children on the boat, it must have been a terrifying trip for them. When we eventually reached malapascua, both our luggage and outselves were completely soaked. The welcoming commite was quite surprised we were not in a good mood and had no idea to handle it. The laptop bag was thrashed, and the laptop was really salty, but thankfully it survived.

We were quite hungry at that time and because it was newyears eve, there was a buffet dinner. We only arrived at 22:30 so the buffet was cold and only a few things remained. We only had a little food before we went to bed. We later discovered we would be fully charged for the trip (including night time fee) and the buffet dinner (2250 peso). We complained about this, but staff did not know how to respond, other than 'ok'.

The stay at the hotel itself was reasonable. The room (deluxe aircon room) was spacious and nicely decorated. The bed was quite hard, the shower only let drips fall, there was no hair dryer or water boiler present and our air conditioner was leaking on the outside.

The food at the restaurant is ok and the staff is really friendly. They will not actively ask you if you want dinner or refills but that's ok. It does take forever for the food to get to the table. Also the quality of the food does not match the high charges.

The diving itself is very good. The crew is really professional and highly trained. We had a great time diving and would recommend it to anyone.

We were actually overall reasonably sattisfied with our stay untill we had to check out.

We wanted to pay by credit card, but it was quite a hassle, going wrong about 5 times and much to our surprise a 3% fee was added to our total amount, but its not mentioned anywhere on the bill.

We made a reservation to leave at twelve, but changed it to eleven the day before. When we were ready to leave, they said we could leave whenever we wanted. So when we packed the bags and we went to reception to leave. They said the boat was ready, but not the taxi because we made arrangments for twelve oclock. The list she was holding clearly shows eleven, but she said we could not leave untill eleven thirty. So we had to wait for a few hours but were offered nothing during our wait. It turned out there were other guests coming to the island and they did not want to get us a different taxi, even though we paid for private transfer.

It feels very much like they want to squize every peso out of you and do nothing if the service they offer is very poor. We should never have made that boat trip but leave the following day, not pay fully for a cold buffet etc.

The island itself is really beatifull and the resort is reasonable. The prices just don't match the service you get which makes you feel cheated.

Overall im dissatisfied with the hotel but happy with the diving. The island itself is

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kees83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2011

A delightful place to stay on this small island, with great service and friendly staff. I particularly like the layout of the resort which keeps in mind the avid scuba divers while also catering to the beach bums like myself. The owners are usually there to mingle with the guests, and make you feel at home.
The rooms are just nice for a good night's sleep but it's not meant for you to stay in all day long. The day's best spent outdoors. The small fishing village just behind this resort is filled with friendly islanders and a feast for photographers, especially those specializing in street photography. From this resort, it's pretty easy to get around the island either on foot or by motorcycle taxis. Do explore the island for it's rustic feel of a simpler life.
The restaurant serves good meals and there's wi-fi access around the restaurant only. The boat from Cebu island comes right up to the resort. It's a great place to leave your worries behind, enjoy the easy going island lifestyle and have a lot of idyllic fun in the sun. Definitely worth many more repeat visits.

Room Tip: They have just a small number of rooms and dormitories, which are usually taken up by aspiring dive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikonwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

We were in Malapascua a week ago and we stayed at the Exotic Island & Beach Resort. The place is very nice: our room had a view on the beach, awesome ! The staff is also very nice and it is a great place for diving (I got my PADI open water there and the team is very serous and careful).
The restaurant of the resort is also very good with a very large choice of meals.
We loved the place and we recommend it !

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey_Stef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

international standard on customer service... courteous staff, very clean rooms and surroundings, relaxing beach front view, wide array on food menu... we had a wonderful stay


for those who want to go to malapascua...beware of boatman named BENJAMIN, his boat is named JINJEBEN (not connected with EXOTIC), we were overcharged for an island tour and at first he'll tell you there are 4 dive sites to visit, but during the tour you'll be discouraged yto visit the other sites due to big waves (not true), also we left my mom at his souvenir stall shop (few steps to the left of exotic dive resort) to choose shirts for everyone (she went back to her room after), when we arrived from the island tour, it was already packed and ready for payment, so we did... at home here in cebu city, while unpacking we found out he added two shirts, we're suppose to buy 6 only but he added 2 so we paid for 8...mama also left her cellphone at the store, though he knows where we stay, he didn't bother to return at d front desk, when my mom noticed it was missing, she returned to the store accompanied by Exotic's Supervisor (Thank You) when they asked for it, it came from his pocket (Benjamin)...sad but true...just thought of sharing this, hoping no one else will be fooled... again Exotic is not reliable for this incident!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MS_Rubi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Malapascua is a small island where native islanders still live in temporary housing whose roof can be blown away in a monsoon. And so for a hotel room to be fully air-conditioned, complete with king size bed with satellite television and heated shower, you're talking about the kind of luxury that most native islanders probably won't ever ever see. But then of course that's another story.

The room I stayed in has no sea view, but was big and well kept enough it was very comfortable to stay in. There's a balcony with table and chairs, and so it was possible to buy your own food from the village (won't recommend meandering in it at night as it is almost like a maze if you're not familiar with the place. Torch won't help). The dive shop is very well kept and equipment are good as well. The resort has their own private beach, which is exactly half a minute away from my room. White sandy shallow beach, beautiful.

The restaurant food and drinks are slightly overpriced by island or philippines standard, but not a complete rip off compare to city prices.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scoobagoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

We looked into a few places before choosing Exotic for 3 main reasons: i) prices were decent, ii) the vibe around the restaurant was good and iii) it came recommended by a friend who had visited previously.

We stayed almost a week and dived 7 times during that time. Overall we would highly recommend as a place to dive, stay and eat

It should be noted that we stayed in the middle of low season and therefore rates for the room and diving were adjusted downwards – so was actually good value.

Pros:
* Well run and organised dive shop
* Great dive sites – highlights were glimpses of Thresher sharks, Mandarin fish on the sunset dive, very good macro life at Gato Island and a nice wreck (Dona Marilyn)
* Excellent accommodation – air con / decent sized en-suite rooms
* Restaurant was far the busiest we saw on the island and food was generally to a very good standard
* Friendly bar and hotel staff – went above and beyond to make us feel welcome
* Good value (but see note on low season)

Cons (only a few to be fair!):
* Dives sites could be quite far and generally took a while on the slow, stable Banca boats (1 hr to Gato / 2 hours to Dona Marilyn)
* Dive shop is run very well but has a sales heavy feel – it’s defo a big part of the dive industry but more so here.

If you dive the wreck (Dona Marilyn) and only have 1 dive on the site then I would recommend not penetrating, even if suitably qualified. This is because the outside of the wreck is very pretty and the DMs wont go inside (the instructor that came with us ended up adding confusion during the dive). Exotic may add a perm line to facilitate penetrating but even so I would probably only recommend going in if you have time to do more than 1 dive on the wreck.

Also – if they are on whilst you are on Malapascua, try a trip to the local disco – prepare to shake those moves under some serious disco balls !!

Overall, we had a great stay and would highly recommend Malapascua and Exotic resort.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdeEccles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malapascua Island
0.6 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#5 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
105.5 mi away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 6 in Moalboal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thresher Cove Dive Resort
Thresher Cove Dive Resort
#1 of 15 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort

Property: Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort
Address: 6013, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Malapascua Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Malapascua Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are thinking of diving or staying in Malapascua consider us your first choice. We have everything you need for a relaxing, exciting, enjoyable stay with first class facilities and service. Exotic is the pioneer dive resort on Malapascua. The first dive shop to open on the island in 1998, Exotic has grown over the years and is now the leading dive resort on the island, without compromising its original laid-back charm and outstanding service. Our continued expansion is a result of our customer’s loyalty and desire to revisit and share their Exotic experience with others. Why not come and see what brings people back to us year after year? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive And Beach Resort
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Hotel Malapascua Island
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort Malapascua Island, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing