We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top Restorant, nice hotel, abysmal dive service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Malapascua Island
Certificate of Excellence
Davao
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“top Restorant, nice hotel, abysmal dive service”
Reviewed June 30, 2011

if I strongly will recommended the huge and delicious food Menu, if I also appreciated the comfort of the room and of the little private beach (esp. because of the hammac were in the shadow)..I have to admit that the 200%profit oriented atmosphere and the arrogance if not stupidity of the dive shop workers (esp.foreign dive master - but certainly not guide!) makes the stay not funny at all.
it is not a surprise to notice that this place get the PADI award for retain custumers while they charge everybody on extra fee to dive under 18m! ok that's Open Water rule but regarding the sharks spot where you just have to let you down on a rope and stabilize yourself at 23m and wait...it is ridiculus the way PADI makes money with its advenced courses and this robbery can happen because of shop like Exotic.
but more than that, you had to suffer the arrogance of the instructor, i went down with 170bar only and was already up with 60bar left and 15 min before decompression time!! and with so poor weather condition that they shld hv cancel the dive that morning..o ia becuase we were supposed to leave at 5am but were still in the beach at 6.15am...with so many people moving around and that pretention of being a 5stars diving service it just a joke.
Once said that, you could decided to enjoy the incredible sealife on Malapascua with others guys that's are pleasure oriented...and this is exactly what I did for the rest of my stay...once the sea become calm again, we were down with a philipino guys and he shows us many things on the same spot those haughtiness exotic buble makers were acting like bad clown and were sailing their PADI product rather than show you sealife and local specialities:eventually I hd the chance to observe many sharks, couples of manta (even during decompression), mushroom coral pipefish...

so for the fish in your plate yeah go at Exotic restaurant but for the living species RUN AWAY FROM EXOTIC DIVE SHOP

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Sowa29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    117
    30
    15
    10
See reviews for
37
128
46
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Stayed there for 4 nights in early June 2011. Enjoyed myself and didn't want to leave! Service was great; staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the restaurant staff. Dive staff were also very accommodating and acquiesced to my requests to visit certain dive sites even though I was a lone diver (no large dive group to make it more worth it to travel further out for dives). On the way there, I had requested for an evening boat transfer. I was the only passenger but found out when I got onto the boat that there was going to be one of their staff joining us. We waited for her for only about 15 minutes and she was very apologetic when she got onto the boat. When I reached the island, I was very pleasantly surprised to be informed that they would divide the boat transfer fees by half as I had to wait for their staff to board. It was unexpected and I think it's a very kind gesture and certainly good customer service.
Like I mentioned, I was a lone female traveller, and yet, I felt safe the entire time I was staying there. The best part is, the staff there were friendly and helpful, and at the same time they respected my privacy and pretty much left me alone, which was much appreciated. I would definitely stay there again if I visit Malapascua again! Great experience! :)

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlustp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

We had a nightmare!!
Came here in April for Easter with my friends. OMG all of us had diarrhea the following day. We thought we had a good deal because their prices looked reasonable. Also, our sheets had stains and smelled like feet!
DONT GET FOOLED WITH THE PICTURES & POSITIVE REVIEWS!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank Bizelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUTCHPHIL, Owner at Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Unbelievable but true, same group of six people visiting us on 8 November 2010 keep on posting negative reviews to harm our company (see also their similar reviews on April 2 and November 2). What can we say more we are sure the readers will note something is wrong here? We will try to inform TripAdvisor and keep on reacting these untrue accusations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Exotic Dive Resort Malapascua, Philippines.

Our arrival onto the idylic island of Malapascua was only what one can dream of, white beaches glistening waters and so friendly people,
first stop drop dive bags at Exotic Dive resort and immediately we were welcomed by the highly professional Team..Angel and Jo and of course baby Marc they made us feel like we were part of the dive centre, there was never any awkward moments thinking we were strangers.. The DM's did a fantastic job and on every dive were so excited to show us Threshers/Mantas and so much more, we cant explain this until you see the enthusiasm in there eyes..
The resort has a restaurant which at all hours serves food and drink to a very high standard and very reasonably priced, again the staff were amazing and at all times were immaculate.
If you want a dive holiday with hotels and large resorts and lots of supermarkets this island is not for you ...but if you want a dream dive holiday with fond memories and fantastic diving where no one welcomes you onto the island like the locals and you are made to feel special instantly Go to Exotic.....
its the ONLY holiday we didnt want to come home from , counting the weeks till we return in October..

Thank you Angel and Team for making this possible :)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank divechick69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

WONDERFUL staff - so friendly. Everyone knows you by name.
Really enjoyed the time here - even though it's a challenge to get here (3 hours drive from Cebu then 1/2 hr ferry) it's well worth it.
Food was delicious every day - though the fullboard menu does have a lot of "heavy" options if you're watching your weight.
There is a dive menu every day so there are lots of options for divers on where to go.
Beachfront is beautiful, pristine.
Rooms are spacious and clean - the showerheads could use some updating.
Free wifi but only in the restaurant area, and the connection was slow. But I guess staying here, one should not want to connect to the outside world!

Room Tip: Get a room near the dive shop
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelTheWorldGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Our group of 7 divers picked Exotic by recommendation of our local (diving) travel agent. As usual he was right about this place. A very nice diving resort with a more than excellent kitchen.

I can hardly believe the stories below about the bills and bad food.
The facts:
- it is NOT a cheap stay. If you are a backpacker with little money to spend I can see that Exotic is probably not for you.
- it is a luxury resort, big clean rooms, with fan/aircon, good beds, 24x7 power and hot/cold showers. The resort offers a great restaurant, a spa and last but not least a fully equipped dive shop with 5 boats, nitrox and equipment rental.

The matter of the bill is a mystery to me, as we (and most other customers) were asked to pay the bill the night before leaving as the cashier is only there in the evening. It seems to me that if you stay somewhere you see to it that your bill is settled before you leave...

The matter of the food poisoning below is either a freak accident or a snack on the way back, cause the restaurant is one of the best in the neighborhood... they have an asian and a western style cook. They serve a menu for everyone's taste. Hot & spicy, or mild, meats, fish, vegetarian, it's all there. In our group of 7 are some very picky eaters, with easily upset stomachs. None of us had problems.

The matter of staff not paying attention is another mystery to us. The staff is eager to please (and eager to sell, which is logical). They are friendly and helpful.

In short: it was a great resort to stay. We had 25+ beautiful dives, we enjoyed the rooms, the food, the island, the views, the beach, the people and the staff in hotel, restaurant and dive shop. It's not cheap, but it has quality.

Oh, and about the wifi: it's there, but it is the Philippines: don't expect 24x7 or glass fibre speed. Sometimes the internet on the entire Island is offline for a couple of days... being an online-addict myself: being forced offline has advantages too... e-mail me when you have found them...

Room Tip: Ask for rooms 1-12. Nice views, close to beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

Exotic

As Malapascua is a small island we didn't want to turn up without a reservation, so we'd booked ourselves into Blue Coral at the opposite end of the beach. When we approached Exotic they were able to offer us a good rate on both diving and accommodation, so we changed hotels.

Getting to Malapasua is a bit of a mission from Cebu. I know Exotic offer a transfer service but it was pricey. We got a local Cerrus bus from the North bus terminal in Cebu. It had no aircon and took about 3 hrs, but only cost 140PP each. When you reach Maya Bay you then have to wait for a boat to fill up for the 30-40min journey over to Malapascua. The boat cost 80PP each, and to be honest the whole journey was pretty comfortable. I'd go early to beat the heat though. Exotic is then a 10-15min walk down the beach from where the boat drops you.

We stayed in the newly built fan rooms at the back of the resort, and found them to be great value for money. They have a large shared bathroom, and the price included fresh towels every day and you got your bed made! Can't moan at that! The accommodation block is next to the village so there are a lot of cockerels around. We weren't disturbed by them particularly, but then again we did have earplugs! Ask about the backpacker rate when staying here. I'm not sure exactly what the criteria is, but if you stayed in the cheapest rooms you were able to get a better price on diving than the one advertised. We paid 1000PP per night for the fan room which excluded food, but we ate mostly in their restaurant anyway as the food was lovely and fresh.

The dive shop attached is very professionally run, and Exotic has a five large boats so they're able to cater for numerous people. The more dives you do, the more of a discount you get. Equipment hire is calculated per dive not per day, which worked out more cost effective for us. There is also a discount for having your own gear. All extra costs such as government tax and sanctuary fees are clearly displayed so you know where you stand. 

When we were here Exotic had a few big Asian groups staying, so some of the dive sites were a bit congested and some divers weren't very considerate of others. We did a trip to Gato Island one day with only four of us on the boat, and it was probably our best dive in Malapascua. We also did two early morning starts at Monad Shoal and Kemod and saw one thresher shark. You can't predict nature, it's just a matter of being in the right place at the right time as some people saw four or five on one dive.

To summarise, we found the diving and accommodation prices really reasonable, and the staff were genuinely friendly and helpful. The resort attracts a more experienced, mature cliental with lots of expensive cameras and gear. If you're looking for a younger vibe you might prefer one of the other dive shops along the beach. Either way we really enjoyed our stay, it's just a shame it was so short.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grassy_Lemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malapascua Island
0.6 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
529 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
410 reviews
0.5 mi away
Slam's Garden Resort
Slam's Garden Resort
#5 of 13 in Malapascua Island
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
Buena Vida Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Malapascua Island
113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cocobana Beach Resort
Cocobana Beach Resort
#7 of 13 in Malapascua Island
102 reviews
105.5 mi away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 6 in Moalboal
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort

Property: Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort
Address: 6013, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Malapascua Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Malapascua Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are thinking of diving or staying in Malapascua consider us your first choice. We have everything you need for a relaxing, exciting, enjoyable stay with first class facilities and service. Exotic is the pioneer dive resort on Malapascua. The first dive shop to open on the island in 1998, Exotic has grown over the years and is now the leading dive resort on the island, without compromising its original laid-back charm and outstanding service. Our continued expansion is a result of our customer’s loyalty and desire to revisit and share their Exotic experience with others. Why not come and see what brings people back to us year after year? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Hotel Malapascua Island
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive And Beach Resort
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort Malapascua Island, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing