We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So welcoming, so beautiful, so fun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garden of Eden Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden of Eden Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Isla Solarte B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So welcoming, so beautiful, so fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

My husband David and I spent 4 nights at Garden of Eden last week. Kip was on vacation but judging by his friends Sue and Dave who took over, he's an awesome guy. They were funny, interesting, attentive and great dinner partners. We ate there every night because Miguel's food was so damn good. Maria's cocktail of the day was a great complement. But let's be honest - it was a great standalone, too, as one day we went nowhere and just lazed by the pool. Garden of Eden is the only place on an island otherwise full of mangroves. To get anywhere else you travel by boat, which is typically done with their driver Chingo, or kayak. We kayaked to Red Frog Beach one day (about 40 minutes each way). We also went with Chingo on 2 day trips. One took us to various stops including Dolphin Bay (they were fairly scarce the day we were there but we did see a few fins and tails), sloth island (to play a game of spot the sloth), Coral Cay (great snorkeling), and Red Frog. The other day trip was mean to be to Zapatillas, but the weather wasn't right when we got there, so we detoured to Starfish Beach instead. Starfish has beautiful, calm water, lots of little huts with food and drink that people were enjoying, and not much of an area to lay your towel down because the jungle is right there. We also ziplined and hiked while we were there. Be careful with the zipliners as the guides are SO comfortable with heights and they act like you are, too!! We loved having our balcony door open every single minute of the day and night, enjoying the breeze and watching the hummingbirds. Oh, and playing with Zeus and Mavis!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stillrad33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    32
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
19
203
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granby, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at the Garden of Eden and would have happily stayed longer if we hadn't been on a tight schedule. We were met at the dock by the beautiful Zeus and the enthusiastic employees, Melissa and Khia. They showed us directly to our room, offered us a drink, and told us where to find the kayaks and snorkelling gear. We then were able to explore to our intimate surroundings. We loved the peace and tranquility. There are only three rooms, so we knew that we would not be bothered by noisy neighbours. The chef, Miguel, put together delicious and healthful meals that we savoured with every bite. Thank you so much to Kipp and his staff for making us feel welcome. If you love to have quiet surroundings, access to water sports and excursions, this is the place for you. We will definitely find time to go back.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms, and they all have a great view on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Spent wonderful days in the Garden of Eden, what an amazing location and great hide away. Could not have asked for more: the most romantic place you can imagine, beautiful view from the room, well maintained property, excellent service and delicious food. Thank you so much to Kipp, Miguel,Zeus and the rest of staff for having made this stay so absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sonia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

In the middle of nowhere you will find an oasis with very comfortable accommodations, excelent food and a great example of sustainability.
The staff provided everything we needed so that we could take the best of this wonderful experience, from dive tours to shuttles to costa rica!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We are a young couple from Europe (Italy / Germany) and we stayed 4 nights at the Garden of Eden. Actually, we had planned 3 nights but we changed our whole trip to Boquete to stay at least one night longer. This says all about how much we liked the island, the owner and staff, our room, the food and nature. The Garden of Eden is set in a small separate island sorrounded by mangroves and attached to Isla Solarte. The resort lies tranquil and alone on this attached island so that you are in complete peace in comparison to Isla Colon. The Bastimentos Island with its red.frog beach can be reached easily by kayak. Actually, all the frogs we saw (red, orange and black) were in the Garden of Eden and we had dolphins with us while kayaking in front of the resort. All the meals prepared by the cook Miguel were delicious, we experienced some new tastes. The prices for food, drinks and cocktais were extremely fair. Our room was spacious and always clean, with a beautiful balcony with amaca on the sea and a door on the pool. We also booked a trip snorkeling and to the islas zapatillas with. The thing we liked most was the atmosphere at the resort especially in the evening with Kipp and his awesome dog and the two volunteering girls Marie and Ann-Kathrin (AK ;). The last night we were really sad to leave but glad that we choose the Garden of Eden instead of the places in busy Bocas Town or expensive Bastimentos. We wish the best to Kipp and all the staff!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank umbimuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

My boyfriend and I spent 8 glorious day at Garden of Eden. It was, to say the least, EXTRAORDINARY. I cannot emphasize how amazing the meals Miguel made for us where. A true culinary adventure! Kipp is simply the best and he's a gracious, funny and charismatic host.

Zeus, the dog, is also cool to chill with by the pool. ;)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lauraigomez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

When arranging our Panama trip, we wanted someplace to stay with a pool but right on the ocean, so after reading the rave reviews of Garden of Eden, I booked it for 12 days. My concern was that there might not be enough to do for that long. Well, after 12 days, we did not want to leave. The owner, Kipp, was so accommodating, arranging day trips to nearby beaches, snorkelling and dolphin tours, and trips to town and cocoa plantations. Some days we just lazed by the pool, ate amazing lunches, snorkelled off the back deck, or kayaked around the resort. Evenings were spent eating more of Miguel's great cooking, and sharing cocktails and laughter with Kipp, the very witty Samantha, and fellow guests. The reviews are spot on: everything is top notch. I will return and stay even longer.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Solarte
4.8 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#3 of 12 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
7.8 mi away
Popa Paradise Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bambuda Lodge
Bambuda Lodge
#1 of 2 in Isla Solarte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
6.6 mi away
Azul Paradise
Azul Paradise
#5 of 15 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden of Eden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden of Eden Inn

Property: Garden of Eden Inn
Address: Private island near Isla Solarte in Bocas del Toro Panama | Private Island, in Bahia Honda, Isla Solarte, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Solarte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Solarte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small private island Bed and Breakfast located in a tropical setting of Bocas Del Toro, Panama. The resort offers a swimming pool, kayaks, snorkeling, game room with pool table, restaurant and bar. Don't go to the Caribbean to just rent a room, come here where you can rent an island. We can accommodate up to 10 adults comfortably. Sorry no guests under 18 yrs of age. Close enough to Bocas to shop yet far enough to be as private as you want to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Garden of Eden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Of Eden Hotel Isla Solarte
Hotel Garden Of Eden
Garden Of Eden Inn Panama/Isla Solarte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing