We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“House in the rainforest all of our own”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Garden of Eden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden of Eden Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Isla Solarte B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
110 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“House in the rainforest all of our own”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We took the "Rainforest Experience", which meant that we had a fully-equipped two bedroom house completely surrounded by rainforest and utterly isolated from any other human beings entirely to ourselves! A fifty yard walk down to the little dock among the mangroves allowed us to hop into sea kayaks and paddle ourselves across the bay (say, 15 minutes) to the main Garden of Eden resort where we were welcome any time for breakfast, dinner or just to chill out.

Actual, hermits that we are, we only paddled over for one breakfast and for Christmas dinner, otherwise we self-catered the whole four days. When I say fully-equipped, I mean it. There's even a washing machine, no mean feat given that the whole house runs on solar panels and filtered rainwater!

If you like to get away from it all, you'll find it hard to get further away than this! But at the same time, Kipp (the owner) can organise any of the various excursions available in Bocas del Toro - you just need to head over to the "main" resort. I say "main" but Garden of Eden is tiny itself, there must be only 3 or 4 rooms. Don't expect slick service from manicured tourist industry staff with lil' name badges, this is just laid-back and friendly helpfulness from Kipp and his small crew.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    32
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
19
207
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Garden of Eden for 4 nights after Christmas and it was thoroughly enjoyable. Their boat driver, Chingo, waited for us for over an hour when our flight was delayed, is a very nice local guy, and speaks English which isn't all that common among the water taxi drivers it seems. Kipp, the owner, is very friendly and helpful. He kept on top of the weather forecast and helped us plan our days accordingly. He was also hugely helpful when the airline had lost my wife's bag on the way in, calling the airline & airport for us several times to track it down. We decided to eat dinner at Garden of Eden every night, and one lunch as well. We were very pleased with the food... Their Chef Miguel is great... It's probably once of the best dining options in the region, and it's so well priced. We loved the complimentary breakfast, which is a first for me since I usually want bacon and eggs for breakfast on vacation, but given the choice after trying their granola, yogurt, fresh bread and fruit I wouldn't have changed a thing. The location is ideal for exploring Red Frog and the Zapatillas, and it's great that they have two single and two double kayaks available to borrow... We kayaked to Red Frog twice and we loved being able to come and go as we pleased, while getting a workout too. The bugs are no worse here than other places outside of town, and between the non-toxic mosquito coils they provide and sleeping with your doors closed and ceiling fan on, we never got bit in our rooms. They also sell the best repellent, pickled parrot, for half what you pay in bocas town. The pool is great for days when it's a mix of rain & sun - you can work on your tan in or by the pool when the sun is out, and retreat to the covered areas or your room when it rains. If there was one thing I would change it would be the wifi coverage. It works fine by the dining area & hammocks (even for using skype) but not in the rooms, and since the rooms have such a nice view it would be great to be able to use the wifi from within the rooms. Just a minor complaint though, and helped us get more reading done instead.

This was our first time in Panama and we will definitely be back, and when we do, we will definitely stay at Garden of Eden again!

Room Tip: We loved our poolside room, the one furthest from the house, but it seems the poolside room closest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoMike86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Garden of Eden was a wonderful place to stay. My boyfriend and I were having a hard time deciding whether to stay on the main island (Isla Colon) or a more remote location. The second we pulled up to Garden of Eden, we were so glad we'd made the choice we did. The main island has a lot of garbage strewn on the streets, and Garden of Eden was clean, well kept and a beautiful little getaway.

The island is quiet, the food is wonderful, the staff (and volunteers) are all very friendly and helpful, and there is plenty to do around the island without much trouble. My one and only complaint was the linens in the rooms. The pillows and bedding need to be replaced badly...to the point where I had a hard time falling asleep in the room. It's not that it wasn't clean, it's just badly worn. The towels could use replacing, too, but the bedding, IMHO, needs to be replaced now. Kipp did mention he wanted to begin working on updating the rooms one at a time, which was good to know. But I think he should update all the bed linens at once. It would make the rooms seem SO MUCH nicer with very little effort. For $150 a night, I should be able to lay my head down on the pillow without any sense of unease.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elishema F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Well what can we say.... this place is amazing, a small very personal secluded retreat. Kipp, Dee, Zsizsu and Miguel made us feel so very welcome and Zues the dog was lovely. No need to lock or even shut your room door here , you can feel totally at home and just wonder round as you please. it takes all of 2 minutes to walk round the island but you can see frogs, birds and plenty of fish from the jetties either side. There are kayaks that you can take out if you want to and you can take them over to Red frog beach which is not far. At night Kipp took us down to the Jetty to watch the water glow as we jumped up and down, due to the plankton in the water, an amazing sight.

The food..... well it was wonderful, something different every day, and the cocktails were a real treat and had the personal touch from Dee and Zsizsu.

There are plenty of trips into Bocas Town/ Red frog Beach/ Fishing and plenty of other small islands to explore, Kipp will sort anything out for you that you want, he is the perfect host.

We would love to go back here, its a lovely place and has given us many happy memories. Thanks Kipp

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fish58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Location is great if you want to go to the most beautiful beaches of Bocas, stay in a quite place and enjoy the companion of a very amable and kind staff. They will help you to explore the best of the region (including arranging the taxi boat), provide delicious food and good chats at sunset. The rooms are confortable, and you can use their kayak to check around (there is no beach there, but you can take a taxi boat to Red Beach Frog for $3-$5).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgb_sp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Very beautiful secluded small resort. It is very secluded and you need to hire a private water taxi which can get expensive if you are moving around a lot. We spent 3 nights there and enjoyed it very much. We had the most beautiful view out on our little deck of the back dock , the water and the jungle. We saw dolphins jumping all the time. The food was really good, the staff were really great and the resident dog was awesome. I loved how when you jumped in the water no matter where he was on site he would come running and jump in with you. We were also very lucky when we went that the other two small groups were great and friendly and we had a great time hanging out with them. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bocas del Toro
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Garden of Eden is my new favorite spot in Bocas Del Toro. My mom and I recently spent 3 enchanting nights there. The location is private and pristine, quiet and secluded. The staff was very friendly and amenable to my very specific (vegan) dietary needs. We felt pampered the whole time we were there. Highlights are kayaking on clear, calm bay waters, being able to see the Milky Way at night, swimming in the pool, and simply feeling free to be yourself. Thank you to Kipp for your generous hospitality. Will return for sure in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetlaurakay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Solarte
4.8 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
2.7 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Bambuda Lodge
Bambuda Lodge
#1 of 2 in Isla Solarte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
7.8 mi away
Popa Paradise Beach Resort
2.3 mi away
Palmar Beach Lodge
Palmar Beach Lodge
#2 of 19 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden of Eden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden of Eden Inn

Property: Garden of Eden Inn
Address: Private island near Isla Solarte in Bocas del Toro Panama | Private Island, in Bahia Honda, Isla Solarte, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Solarte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Solarte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small private island Bed and Breakfast located in a tropical setting of Bocas Del Toro, Panama. The resort offers a swimming pool, kayaks, snorkeling, game room with pool table, restaurant and bar. Don't go to the Caribbean to just rent a room, come here where you can rent an island. We can accommodate up to 10 adults comfortably. Sorry no guests under 18 yrs of age. Close enough to Bocas to shop yet far enough to be as private as you want to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Garden of Eden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Of Eden Hotel Isla Solarte
Hotel Garden Of Eden
Garden Of Eden Inn Panama/Isla Solarte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing