We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely a great place to getaway and relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Garden of Eden Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden of Eden Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Isla Solarte B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely a great place to getaway and relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2008

My wife and I spent a long weekend in July at the Garden of Eden to take a break from our businesses and to celebrate my birthday and we were so glad that we choose this resort. There isn't much to say that hasn't already been written in the previous reviews, which by the way was the reason I chose the place. The atmoshpere is definitel tropical and laid back. However, I found the attention to detail and service to be far better than most places that I have been to in Central america. I live in Costa Rica and have been to most of the all include resorts here, even a couple of the high end ones and Bob and Helena do it better. I never found myself wanting or waiting for anything. I also must say that I found the prices of the rooms, drinks and food very resonable. I only have one negative that I can think of and that is that too many people may discover this place and I won't be able to get a room the next time I need to go to an island paradise.

  • Liked — The laid back atmospere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Barefootchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    32
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
19
207
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2008

We spent the second week of our honeymoon in Panama at the Garden of Eden. After a week spent in the exciting bustle of Panama City arriving at the resort was a huge and welcome contrast. This idyllic island resort is peaceful, tranquil and stunning beautiful.
The owners Bob & Helena Myers gave us a very warm welcome and advised us that we were their only guests that week - we were delighted to have the place to ourselves - our own private honeymoon island!
Our room was the suite, seperate to the main buildings with its own terrace looking out through the lush gardens to sea.
We spent our days lazing by the pool. There are hammocks in the shade if you need a break from the sun.
We spent some great evenings eating Helena's delicious food and drinking Bob's powerful cocktails. Other nights we took a water taxi into town and found some good restaurants in the laid back town of Bocas del Toro.
My husband enjoyed himself one afternoon going out big game fishing with Bob. The fish weren't biting that day so the anticipated fresh fish for supper didn't materialise - but he had a great time all the same.
We would recommend the Garden of Eden without hesitation - if you are looking to relax on a stunning and laid back island in paradise - this is the place to head for!

  • Liked — Free & easy nature of the resorts owners
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Englishviajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2008

When my wife and I booked our recent trip to Bocas Del Toros, we wanted to stay somewhere secluded, romantic, and not over-run with tourists. With only three guest rooms, on their own private island, Garden of Eden was exactly what we were looking for.

Starting with the property itself, photos we found on the internet can not possibly portray just how perfect the property is. Everything from the perfectly manicured garden to the cozy guest rooms to the tropical lounge area was outstanding. Our guest room had an awesome balcony overlooking the bay. Lounging in its hammock every morning was a real treat! Most impressive of all is that there is no public water or electric on this tiny island, but you'd never know it. So much attention to detail has been taken by Bob that the self-generated electric and water supply is actually perfectly reliable. The same can not be said of the nearby mainland properties.

Unfortunately, I had to do a bit of work on my laptop computer while in Panama, but their free wi-fi made that a breeze (which complemented the breeze from the bay).

As other reviewers have mentioned, dinner was delicious. We sampled a few restaurants on the mainland, but reverted back to the Garden of Eden for a much more delicious dinner in better surroundings. Interacting with the one or two other guests at dinner, then playing a friendly round of cards afterward, was an added bonus

Finally, what makes an intimate property like this special is always the attitude of the owners. Bob and Helena were great. Both are laid back and very free spirited, just like myself. Even though it is an "adults only" resort, we never felt an ounce of pressure to take advantage of the "clothing optional" element.

Thanks, Bob and Helena, for making our stay in Bocas Del Toros the best it could have possibly been. My wife and I will certainly be back!

  • Liked — The serenity of it being a private island
  • Disliked — Nothing comes to mind
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DragenOwner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2008

My husband and I spent 3 days at the Garden of Eden and just loved it. The rooms are clean and private with a small back deck that looks out on the water. Helena was an awesome host (Bob was on vacation). She was always available and happy to help with any activity questions or with any other needs we had. She's also an amazing cook and my husband couldn't stop raving about her ribs and chicken wings :)
We took their kayak out one morning and rowed across the channel to red frog beach (45 minute paddle). It was quite exhausting but well worth it, the pool was a welcomed treat when we got back. the island is an easy 5 minute taxi ride to Bocas town where you can plan day trips from.
We wished we had spent more than 3 days there instead of spending the first 2 nights on another island.
Natalie

  • Liked — peaceful setting
  • Disliked — no ac
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neilnnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mocksville, NC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2008

We went there and spent four days and had a really, really great time. The level of warmth and service provided by the owners made us feel relaxed. We made some great friends and I definitely would spend the money to go back! This place as a "must see" for any adventuring soul.

  • Liked — The Service
  • Disliked — The one rainy day
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TonyandJanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
119 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2008

Nice place to stay, but be aware that this is a clothing optional resort. We felt some pressure from the owner (Bob), but still stayed clothed. The food was good and it is truly a lovely spot. Be aware that it is a fairly small island.
I wish I could say more, but this is a family friendly site.

  • Liked — Absolutely beautiful
  • Disliked — Clothing Optional
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank PaperTiger67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenofbocas, Owner Helena Myers at Garden of Eden Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2008
WOW ! Six months later you remember you where disapointed with your stay, I am not sure where this comes from, this is unbeleiveable. We have had the most fantastic customers and reviews.
As the owners of the Garden of Eden we offer an Adult only private, secure and peacful atmosphere for our guests. Sure some of our customers have shed a few tan lines at the pool. This is none of our business as long as they are not offending the other guests.
I hope everyone will let the other reviews speak for the Garden of Eden.
Thank you
Bob and Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco island
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2008

This Place is like no other, Great People, Beautiful garden and ocean views and Awesome food. I would highly recommend staying here. But be aware you will not want to come home, you will truly be Bocatized! Thank you both for your hospitality. We will be back. Krista and Charlie

  • Liked — Clean and Friendly
  • Disliked — I had to go home!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank tattooprinces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Solarte
4.8 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
2.7 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Bambuda Lodge
Bambuda Lodge
#1 of 2 in Isla Solarte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
7.8 mi away
Popa Paradise Beach Resort
2.3 mi away
Palmar Beach Lodge
Palmar Beach Lodge
#2 of 19 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden of Eden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden of Eden Inn

Property: Garden of Eden Inn
Address: Private island near Isla Solarte in Bocas del Toro Panama | Private Island, in Bahia Honda, Isla Solarte, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Solarte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Solarte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small private island Bed and Breakfast located in a tropical setting of Bocas Del Toro, Panama. The resort offers a swimming pool, kayaks, snorkeling, game room with pool table, restaurant and bar. Don't go to the Caribbean to just rent a room, come here where you can rent an island. We can accommodate up to 10 adults comfortably. Sorry no guests under 18 yrs of age. Close enough to Bocas to shop yet far enough to be as private as you want to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Garden of Eden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Of Eden Hotel Isla Solarte
Hotel Garden Of Eden
Garden Of Eden Inn Panama/Isla Solarte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing