We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely worth a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Manor House
Ranked #1 of 2 Halford B&B and Inns
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is a beautiful Tudor country home. We had a very comfortable stay in the double bedroom and the private use of the large bathroom next door. There are tea making facilities in the bedroom and if you see Jane, she'll probably offer you some fresh milk for your tea. We were free to use the lounge area if we wanted to and sit outside on the patio or walk the lovely gardens. Plenty of parking in the gated courtyard. There were a few niggles, which brought it down a point for us, but none worth mentioning. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here and would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenladybourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    9
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
39
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Having just returned from this delightful thatched cottage in the grounds of The Old Manor House I thought I would highly recommend it. The cottage itself is well equipped, very clean and welcoming. The shared garden with the Old Manor House is very picturesque and well kept. Although situated in a quiet village there are many local villages and towns easily accessible nearby. Stratford upon Avon is about 15 minutes drive and we also visited Broadway, Moreton in the Marsh, Bourton on the Water and Stow on the Wold which are not very far away. Halford, where the cottage is situated, is only a small village. However there is a very good Inn with restaurant within 5 minutes walk from the cottage and we ate there a few nights. The nearby Howard Arms in Ilmington which takes about 10 minutes maximum by car offers a very good menu with friendly service. You wouldn't have to drive very far to find other good eateries other than the ones we tried. We thought this part of the Cotswolds was lovely and well worth a visit. The Old Manor Cottage was a delightful place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

The house was the most charming I could expect. Everything I dreamed about the British countryside! Our room was very prety, with low ceiling and wood beams. The bathroom was charmingly decorated in tones of blue, and had all the ammenities, and had both a tub and a shower. The house had lots of antique furniture. Breakfast was very good with home made jams, yoghurt and fruits.
Jane, our hostess, was very nice, charming and helpful with lots of tips on what to visit in the Costwolds.
The house had a lovely garden, with flowers and a small river in the back, which made everything even more beautiful. We loved the threee nights we spent there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catasalaverry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

My father and I visited Great Britain in Oct. 2011, and even though we only stayed in the Cotswolds for four days, it was the highlight of our trip. We found ourselves not even wanting to leave the house in the morning to do our site seeing. We felt we were treated so specially. The owners Jane and William Pusey were so attentive and accommodating, so concerned about our every comfort. We were, I say, fortunate to be able to stay in two of the room accommodations due to other visitors prior reservations, and it was not bother at all. We had an entire wing of the 500 year old manor house to ourselves the first night. And as my review title says, quaint and charming just doesn't do it any justice. You just wanted to sink and disappear into the comfortable chairs and couches in the parlor. The view from the parlor our onto the gardens, was so lovely, with all the roses and fruit trees. The bathrooms were spacious, clean and so well appointed. And the bedrooms were also spacious and comfortable. The second and third nights we stayed in the oldest part of the house, where the ceilings and door lentils were low and even the floors sloped a little. You could really get a feel for what it must have been like to stay in such a beautiful place 500 years ago. Breakfast was served in a historical old dining room with low beamed ceilings and lovely furniture and decor. And the meal itself was hearty and delicious. The owners were so helpful in giving us advice about what to see and how to get there, and even gave us wonderful suggestions about where to go for supper in the evening. Three or four marvelous restaurants and pubs are very close by. We can't say enough about how wonderful our time at Old Manor house was, truly a place to return to time and time again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

We were warmly greeted in the stunning Old Manor House by Jane and William with tea in the Sitting room. The bedrooms were perfect, clean and comfortable, our two teenage children loved their room also.
We had two fantastic evening meals out on William's recommendation at the Howard Arms and the Bell Inn both within 3 miles.
The Breakfast was perfect, and the atmosphere ideal. Would recommend The Old Manor completely. With its lovely decor and stunning grounds, and the company of Martha the black Labrador who we wanted to take home with us! Two nights was not enough.


Clare & Alex Talbot, Suffolk

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADTSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

Very nice stay on a business trip. Lovely old house and beautiful room. Lots to look at in the house as well.
I did however get lost on the way back from the pub, as the night was so dark and the lanes are confusing.

Room Tip: Excellent pub on the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

The building with its exposed beams and uneven floor was very pretty, comfortable and warm. No problem with the heating at all. Our hosts, William and Jane, were most welcoming and helpful. The huge lounge with the sun streaming in was a lovely place to relax and the acre of gardens a great place to wander in the company of the family dogs. Our hosts booked dinner for us at The Howard Arms in Ilmington as the local pub didn't do dinner on Sundays. By far the most luxurious b&b we stayed in during our 3 weeks in the UK.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mareeread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halford
9.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
7.9 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Old Kiln House Bed and Breakfast
The Old Kiln House Bed and Break...
#1 of 11 in Shipston on Stour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
3.2 mi away
The George Townhouse
The George Townhouse
#1 of 2 in Shipston on Stour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Manor House

Property: The Old Manor House
Address: Old Manor House Queen Street, Halford, Shipston on Stour CV36 5BT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Shipston on Stour > Halford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Halford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Manor House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Old Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Manor House Halford, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing