We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kai Iwi Family Swimming”
Review of Kai Iwi Sand Lake

Kai Iwi Sand Lake
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Dargaville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Kai Iwi Family Swimming”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We all enjoyed the cool clear water with white sand beach. Safe for small children and deeper waters for older children and adults. No shelter from the sun so bring you own tarp between two cars or gazebo. Tarp between two cars better when windy. Camping area but good day tripping from Dargaville base. 20 minutes by car.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Josie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    32
    10
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orewa, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

We love camping and when friends invited us to accompany them to Kai Iwi Lakes, we jumped at the chance. What a great place to stay, fresh water lakes to swim in all day, great walks to all sorts of places to go and see. This is a must for anyone keen on self sufficient camping.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yendor64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
150 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Don't make a special trip”
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

We took a short detour to see the lakes but really it wasn't worth it, if you are in the area for a while and want a day 'chilling' then it makes a reasonable alternative to the beach, but as an attraction it has little to offer an certainly doesn't warrant going out of your way

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alfie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guri, South Korea
Level Contributor
1,690 reviews
523 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 376 helpful votes
“Good camping place”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

C1 ( 2014.01.08 )
There was a very calm place. Many people camped near lake, and enjoy viewing and swimming in the lake with child. Lake, wind, sun, wind make harmony to camp for people. Good place.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank HanJuyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad Weather”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We arrived at about 7AM and the weather was pretty bad. We were advised it tends to start like that every morning but usually clears up. We unfortunately didn't have the time to find out, however the place was really nice even in the bad weather, and we still braved a dip in the water.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jaminben22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kai Iwi Sand Lake also viewed

Dargaville, Northland Region
Dargaville, Northland Region
 
Dargaville, Northland Region
Dargaville, Northland Region
 

Been to Kai Iwi Sand Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing